N Chasen & Son Inc

A 119 Reviews

Founded 1914 • Angie's List since August 2006

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Company Contact

2924 W Marshall St

Richmond, VA 23230

Description

N. Chasen and Son has been protecting and beautifying homes in the Richmond and the surrounding counties for 100 years. We employ the finest craftsman--experienced and dedicated painters and carpenters. Our workers undergo a criminal background check and periodic drug screening. All workers are employees, and we do not use subcontractors. We are fully licensed (Class A contractor, 2701 005889A) and insured. We are an EPA certified lead-safe contractor (NAT-21637-0) All estimates are written, provided for free and without obligation; all work is warrantied for one year. Jeff Chasen is the third generation owner of N. Chasen and Son....

Verified Reviews

119 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
94
B Rated
13
C Rated
2
D Rated
5
F Rated
6
Read reviews by category
woodworking (70)interior painting (48)house painting (42)drywall repair (13)door installation (12)plaster (10)general contracting (9)pressure washing (8)window replacement (7)siding (5)deck building (5)wallpapering (3)
Showing 1-10 of 119 reviews
F

RATED

07/03/2020

I didn’t contact them. Last year, I sent a picture twice, at their request, and they never responded.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair step riser

CATEGORY cabinet refacing

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/03/2020

A

RATED

04/10/2020

We have utilized N. Chasen and Son in the past and were very pleased with their work. They are professional, friendly and experts at what they do. Every encounter with employees from beginning to end was positive and accommodating, and we intend to recommend them to others including family and friends. Thank you!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
painting in multiple areas, carpentry work

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/10/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for the feedback, we appreciate it and your business!
A

RATED

03/13/2020

Exceptionally good work. Ceilings are tricky, and both the patching and painting were done on time and with little "dust" spread. Follow up work (as I said, ceilings are tricky, and sometimes minor flaws are only seen in specific daylighting) was punctual and very well done. Not the least expensive contractor; but the best we've found in 30 years in the Richmond area.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
significant hole in ceiling from plumbing repair, and several drywall cracks from moisture; interior painting

CATEGORY drywall,interior painters

COST $1,560

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/10/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review on our behalf. We truly appreciate you and your business.
A

RATED

03/04/2020

Well. Experienced carpenters, friendly and professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior doors replaced with a cased opening.

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you, we appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future!
A

RATED

03/04/2020

Well. Experienced carpenters, friendly and professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior doors replaced with a cased opening.

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you, we appreciate it and hope to work with you again in the future!
A

RATED

02/25/2020

Outstanding! We’ve been using N. Chasen’s for about 15 years. They never disappoint. Professional, excellent service.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior painting and carpentry.

CATEGORY woodworking,interior painters

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/25/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review and business, we truly appreciate your loyalty!
A

RATED

01/02/2020

Very well- polite and professional crews, work well done. A few miscommunications quickly taken care of. Highly recommended and would hire again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Painting, carpentry, drywall

CATEGORY drywall,woodworking,house painters,interior painters

COST $3,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/30/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on our behalf, we truly appreciate it and your business. Please let us know if we can help again in the future.
A

RATED

12/18/2019

I was very impressed by the all members of the N. Chasen team that I and my sister interacted with during the full process of assessing, repairing, and painting my house in Henrico. Everyone from the staff in the office to those in the field were courteous, professional, friendly, and skillful. The that included photos of areas that would be repaired was particularly helpful. The carpenters who we...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Painting and Exterior Painting

CATEGORY replacement windows,woodworking,house painters

COST $6,200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/17/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to post on our behalf. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
A

RATED

12/10/2019

These guys do excellent work. You'd never know there was damage throughout our walls and ceilings. The interior paint job was flawless & matched perfectly. They honored fair pricing with our contracted and handled some unforeseen issues professionally and promptly. They were great to work with and would use them again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Dry wall and ceiling repair, interior painting

CATEGORY drywall,interior painters

COST $950

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/18/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review, we appreciate you and your business and look forward to working with you again in the future.
A

RATED

10/11/2019

I had painting and staining done on exterior areas of my home. I cannot say enough good things about my experience. First of all, the work was well done, in fact outstanding high quality workmanship The employees were very professional. The showed up early and worked all day. The foreman made sure that he communicated with me about everything. This was a well managed project that did not leave me ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Painting and Staining Front Porch, Deck and Fence

CATEGORY woodworking,house painters

COST $2,525

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/24/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future!

Services Offered

Interior & Exterior Painting, Wall Covering, Plastering, Wallpaper Removal. Carpentry, Wood Rot Repair. Appliance Refinishing, Faux Finishes, Cabinet Door Refacing & Restoration. Pressure Washing

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
MasterCard, Check, Visa
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes