Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Chesapeake Garage Builders

There are 49 top-rated garage builders in your area.

Let Angie's List find your match

We'll instantly find qualified pros for your specific project

Share some details about your project

We'll ask a few simple questions to learn more about your particular project. This helps us narrow the results to professionals that are right for the job.

View your matched pros

Using our vast network, we'll identify up to 4 local pros that provide the service you need. Don't worry... only pre-screened, approved service providers* will be suggested.

Get quotes and get started

As with any home improvement or repair project, it's wise to get multiple bids. Connect with your recommended pros and request quotes for your project.

* See Section 8 of the Terms & Conditions for details about the screening and approval of pros.

Join Angie's List Now To see all 49 highly rated companies in Chesapeake

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Garage Builder Articles

Go to the article: 

How Much Does It Cost to Build a Garage?

home with attached one car garage
Go to the article: 

How to Build a Garage

Go to the article: 

How Much Do Storage Sheds Cost?

Cost to install a shed

Garage Building reviews in Chesapeake

  • F
    MC Builders
    Demo went ok, new garage looks great, mostly. A leak was discovered a few months after completion. Contractor made three "attempts" to correct the issue, but the leak is still there and only getting worse. Contractor has stopped responding to my emails.
    - Donald S.
  • A
    MC Builders
    MC Builders did an outstanding job on my detached garage. The entire crew was respectful and easy to talk to. Mike was always available to answer any questions and never tried to sell me on anything that I didn't want. I highly recommend MC Builders!
    - James R.
  • F
    South shore builders
    TERRIBLE!! He did not finish the job and now he will not repair the floors even though he guaranteed them for 2 years!!! He was always late, didn't show up for days at a time, he said it would be 10 business days to complete and it took over 3 months for the bathroom remodel and kitchen/den floors.
    - Kim H.
  • C
    Wyatt Homes Inc.
    To list a play by play of this job would require a novel since this took about 2 months or longer, but I will write down the highlights and the things I believe to be important to others who are searching for a company to do this type of work. When I first met Mr. Wyatt, I was very much impressed and was eager to hire him. He seemed like a really nice guy, which I believe he is. He, and the other two guys who did the work are terrific people. They are the type of guys I wouldn't mind having a beer with, but of course, this was not about that, but instead it was about work done on the house, so let me discuss that part of the story. First of all, the job took forever. The first bathroom was supposed to take 10 days. It took more than a month. It's like they never showed up to do work. They would do something and they would not return until days later. Honestly, this messed up our entire summer. I felt constantly like I was the foreman of this operation. I had to go behind every little thing that was done because nothing seemed to ever be right. Here are some of the flaws committed by the workers: 1. The Pipe coming out of the wall in the shower was crooked. 2. The light in the bathroom was rickety. 3. The electric socket plate was not fastened. 4. The towel rack was put in the wrong place. 5. To put the towel rack in the wrong place, they put PEN marks on the wallpaper, lol. Who does that??? I have tried to get those marks off, can't be done, I have tried everything. 6. No hot water would come out of the spigot in the shower. 7. The new vinyl flooring that was put into both bathroom was damaged by them, it's not a huge deal, but there are small cuts and some impressions that will not come out. 8. This is a biggie !!! The wallpaper in bathroom 2 was damaged badly by them when they put up the towel rack. If I did that to someone else's house I would be ashamed. I pointed this out to them, there was hardly any concern on their part, I felt. If I had been a real business man about the whole situation, I would have subtracted the amount of money it took to have that redone. Anyway, I am sure there were more things, but this is what comes to mind. I do want to mention one other thing, though. The last we met with Mr. Wyatt, we paid him the balance of the work that was completed. We paid him all but a little more than $100. He was going to get that money after he returned to finish some little things in both bathrooms. He was going to so some caulking, paint the baseboards, paint a little section of the ceiling that someone he hired had messed up after it was painted by a painter we had hired, and he was going to put some plumber's putty in bathroom 2 since the sink there could not hold water, another thing they neglected do. I never heard from him again. I called him and left messages, nothing. That was the most disappointing aspect of this job. They had always at least tried to fix whatever needed to be fixed, so most problems were taken care of, but I guess he did not think it was worth the $100 to come back and finish. I was surprised at that since I did not think he was coming back for the money but because his word meant something. He touts himself as very religious and I guess I thought that meant something. Unfortunately, that turned out to be a miscalculation on my part. Bottom line is, these are nice guys to go to the races with, but it is not a good idea to hire them to do work around the house, at least that was my experience. I hope this helps the next person. Thanks for listening.
    - Bjorn S.
  • A
    MC Builders
    Mike did a great job on my garage!! He's a great contractor to work with. I was in the process of buying a new home that I could build a decent size garage at. Mike came to the house I had in mind to help brainstorm if it was a good enough layout for what I wanted. After I purchased the house he came over a few more times with different drawings of the style garage I wanted. Every time we met he never made it seem like he had somewhere more important to to be. The work started and was finished in a Timly manner. I had a 26'x36' garage built. The workmanship is well done. They matched the siding to my hose and the whole structure is pleasing to look at. I would choose MC Builders again if I ever need anything else built! The only thing I was a unpleased with is the ruts in the yard from the heavy equipment from the concrete, but I guess that's to be expected. :)
    - Brian B.
  • A
    Outdoor Home Specialist / Sheds by Ken
    Everything went extremely well. One man crew "demo"ed the old shed and hauled away debris neatly and efficiently. A day later[ two man crew} carpenter/framer and his assistant began three day build out of new shed. Both the demo man and the builders were professional, considerate of property, and courteous. They made the work look easy....well oiled and focused. All areas were cleaned afterwards. Quick walk through once carpenter finished. Ken stopped by for one visit on second day of building and called later job was finished to check on satisfaction with job or if there ere any problems. Would recommend to others and would use again.
    - Martin W.
  • B
    RMG Construction Inc
    Roy and his crew added a 24? X 30? addition to a detached garage. Therefore he needed to tie the new roof perpendicularly into the old roof. The extra charge for that was reasonable as was the extra charge for a three-window dormer (12 foot) on the 12-12 pitch roof. Roy was generally prompt and the process moved along well, even though rain affected his ability to work. Additional cost was added because the footers had to be dug deeper due to Chesapeake City not approving the initial dig--again, probably because of all the rain. Deeper footers may not have been an issue had the season not been so rainy. This is in no way a negative toward Roy?s work, just a heads up that footer costs can change. One thing I don?t care for with Roy?s garages is that no aprons are included with garage or personnel doors. He is very clear about this though so any extra will require working a deal with his concrete sub or hiring someone else. In our case, the apron across the garage door ended up quite expensive because of drainage that had to be built to accommodate the grade. Again, this is not a negative, just a something to think about. We hired a different contractor to hardship the side door. The reason I do not give Roy a higher score is, simply, followup. I did not use the new garage much expect for storage and over the winter noticed that the personnel door was not set correctly; a quarter inch gap exists at the top and down the opening side to about the door knob, and the lockset and deadbolt do not line up (I have to unlatch the knob to set the deadbolt. I texted Roy 3 or 4 times in March and April to which he promptly responded, saying he would take a look. He did not. I also left a couple phone messages that were not returned, so my conclusion is that once the job is done, there will be no followup on any problems. I was in no hurry and said so, but now it is September and he never followed up. His website doesn?t say anything about a warranty and I did not discuss a warranty with him so my conclusion is there is none. So in the end, I?m satisfied overall with the work, his subs are very easy to work with as is Roy and the process went fine. I?m disappointed that he blew off a basic door realignment so I?d say to just be careful and ask more questions, and hold some cash back until completely satisfied. My mistake was that I thought I was completely satisfied and then the minor problem became evident, Roy said he would take a look a couple times and then ignored it. I would consider hiring him again, but be a bit wiser this time to make sure I don't feel compelled to ding him for responsiveness and professionalism, both of which are based solely on that lack of followup. Roy responded to this review on Angie's List and returned to adjust the door pretty quickly after returning his call so no problem upping my grade from C to B.
    - Rick O.
  • F
    Grace Exterior Services

    I Signed a contract for a two story garage on March 10 2016, and per contract wrote a check for half of the total price for the work or $11,000. Total job price is $22,000 plus an architectural fee which I was told later was $2000. That fee by the way is seriously inflated. The average architectural fee for this area is $2 a square foot, the building is 640sq feet, or $1,280. They showed up near the end of April with architectural drawings. They couldn't have come sooner because the ���architect was on vacation.��� they all showed up and I explained to them again that I need it built as soon as possible because I can't move the items from my old house to the new one until the building is constructed, and it costs me about $1,100 dollars a month each month it isn't built. They left and according to the permit department they submitted the plans in the middle of May, Which is when they came back over and dug a 16'x20' trench in my backyard. It is at this time they submitted the plans to the permit department and they returned the drawings with ���revision required��� so they stopped what little work they were doing because they couldn't get a permit. Nothing else done until mid June, then they delivered some construction supplies (block and concrete) which are now in my backyard, sitting in front of a trench. Still no action on the permit according to the permit office, and no further attempts from them to contact me. So as it currently stands, trench in the backyard, some concrete blocks next to my house and I am still losing $1,100 a month, AND they still have $11,000 of my money. The sales person was a vet too so I trusted them, I am also on disability and rarely leave my bed let alone my house. The company really doesn't seem to care.

    You can select them if you choose but I couldn't even pay them to work.

    - John P.
  • F
    Grace Exterior Services
    I signed my contract with "Clear Choice Windows Company" doing business as (DBA) Grace Exteriors and per the contract gave them 1/2 the job cost       $.11,000.       I needed a garage/workroom built in back of my house so I contracted with Grace Exteriors on March 10 2016. I wanted a 16x20 foot building. they didn't show architectural drawings until about a month later because "The architect was on vacation." The drawings are also highly inflated charging $2000 for the plans for a 16x20' two story. The average price architects in the area charge about $2 per sq foot or $1280 for the project. They submitted the drawings to the city and they rejected it so they couldn't get the build permit. While they submitted the drawings they started digging a 16'x20' trench around the perimeter of the expected building, when they received the word they didn't have a permit, they of course stopped. NOTHING has been done since that mid may fiasco until June 17 when some concrete block and some cement was delivered to my house and then shortly after they moved it to the backyard. It is now July and no calls, no visits, no communications at all.

    The urgency of the job is that every month they don't complete the space it costs me $1,100 because I can't move the items from my old house into the new space.

    You can choose to hire them if you like, but I gave them $11,000 (ELEVEN THOUSAND DOLLARS) I couldn't even pay them to do a good job. 
    - John P.
  • A
    Precision Garage Door

    The company did what they set out to do, therefore it was fine.  My rationale for not using them again was that the pricing options that were given to me all included a door, a new garage door.  There was not anything wrong with the door.  A short while after the service was done, my garage door completely stopped working.  I do not blame the service for this.  As I said it was constructed with the original condo and was 28 years old.

    My complaint is that it was not until I spoke with other companies that I learned I did not need a new door and that is when I did not follow up with Precision to replace the mechanism  for the opener.  It never came up in conversation that this would be an option. I felt at that point the company was trying to take advantage of my lack of understanding and knowledge. 

    - Laura A B.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Garage Builders in Chesapeake

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!