Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Johns Island Lighting Companies

There are 39 top-rated lighting companies in your area.

Let Angie's List find your match

We'll instantly find qualified pros for your specific project

Share some details about your project

We'll ask a few simple questions to learn more about your particular project. This helps us narrow the results to professionals that are right for the job.

View your matched pros

Using our vast network, we'll identify up to 4 local pros that provide the service you need. Don't worry... only pre-screened, approved service providers* will be suggested.

Get quotes and get started

As with any home improvement or repair project, it's wise to get multiple bids. Connect with your recommended pros and request quotes for your project.

* See Section 8 of the Terms & Conditions for details about the screening and approval of pros.

Join Angie's List Now To see all 39 highly rated companies in Johns Island

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Lighting Specialist Articles

Go to the article: 

Learn How to Use Accent, Task, Ambient Lighting

.
ambient lighting
Go to the article: 

Guard Yard with Outdoor Lighting, Privacy Fence

.
tall wooden fence
Go to the article: 

Ideas to Update Light Fixtures On Any Budget

.
kitchen island lighting

Lighting Installation reviews in Johns Island

  • A
    New Power Electrical Services
    "Jeff" arrived on time and immediately went to work installing new ballester and bulbs in bathroom and then went to replace kitchen light switch with a new dimmer.  He was extremely friendly and efficient, worked quickly and explained his work to us while he was working.  We highly recommend him, and in the future if we need more electrical repair work to be done, would not hesitate to call him.  We highly recommend him.
    - Brian D.
  • A
    Greatest Scapes Landscaping
    We wanted tree and driveway lighting.  Bruce (the owner) was responsive to our call and promptly scheduled an appointment to meet with us at dusk so he could show us what each of the lighting options would look like at night.  He brought samples of different types of lighting and we were able to really see what the different options looked like in action.  On the day of installation, the team arrived on schedule. They were friendly, efficient and cleaned up after themselves.   We had a small problem with the "dusk to dawn" timer and when we called Bruce he arranged to come out and replaced it.  We are extremely pleased with the products and the services of Greatest Scapes Landscaping and highly recommend the company.
    - Doris R.
  • A
    Charleston Electric
    They were prompt and confirmed the appointment beforehand. It was expensive but electricians usually are. The person that came was very professional and efficient. I would use them again and highly recommend them.
    - Bernadette B.
  • A
    Charleston Electric
    Steve arrived on schedule and quickly discovered that the wires coming into the breaker box were worn and were shorting on part of the box. He disassembled the breaker, rewired it and installed a plastic part to prevent future problems. The box is in a inconvenient location but he was able to reinstall the box so that it was more stable than when he arrived. He looked at the dimmer problem and determined that it was just a loose wire so he tightened the connection and we had lights again. Through the entire process, Steve was very professional and didn't let any little problems distract him.
    - Albert K.
  • A
    Greatest Scapes Landscaping
    Everything was explained at dusk  and Bruce did an outlay, the same week the work was completed and minor adjustments made on a follow up visit.the work and lights are guaranteed and we were assured service for anything not working to our satisfaction
    would be dealt with immediately.

    - HEIDI L.
  • A
    First John llc Remodeling/Repairs
    Let me say from the outset that John Altenburg is the best contractor on the planet and I couldn?t be happier about my beautiful new home.  John and his talented crew did an exceptional job!  The most remarkable part of this story is that he did a total house renovation and I never stepped foot in the house until it was completed.   In 2012 my husband and I bought a house on Kiawah that we
    loved but that was very outdated.  We got bids from 3 contractors and then added a fourth down the road.  The bids were all over the map.  John was the only contactor who said if you want to spend some time going ove details (at an hourly charge) we can get more to the core of what you want.  John has a very laid back and calm personality but he is very sharp, insightful, intelligent and really understands the remodeling process. I am a very creative person but I don?t always understand how to implement what I want.  I am also a very visual person and require that someone be able to effectively communicate what is taking place with visuals.  If I didn?t get it he would draw me a picture and email it to me.  He painted mock ups and sent me samples of
    trim, granite, vanities, floor etc.  He would take photos of grout samples with the corresponding tile, he took me on video tours of the progress.  He did tape mock ups of various projects so I could decide where towel bars should go, to gauge the size of certain areas etc.  When problems arose (very few), he would let me know so that we could figure out a solution and solve the problem.  For example, the shower tile was the same as the floor tile but a different size.  When he opened the floor tile it was a different dye lot.  He went to the tile company and sat down with the representative and they came up with a phenomenal choice of a completely different tile.  A couple of sinks and faucets were wrong and he took them to the plumbing supplier to remedy the problem and kept me calm about the problem. The best part about how John works and my personality and the remodeling process is the fact that he allowed me to be so hands on.  I ordered most of the products, such as the light fixtures, tile, hardware, specialty grout, appliances, plumbing supplies and etc.  We had an agreement that I would order things in a timely manner so as not to cause problems for his timetable.  I loved that!

    The projects:  full gut kitchen, full gut guest bathroom, powder room and master bath.  Built new closets, a custom seashell fireplace, installed new flooring and painted rooms and trim.  Awesome! 
    I had a vision of having LED lights for the master bath vanity mirrors, custom tile mirror frames, and LED lights for the vessel sinks, all of which he executed flawlessly. I wanted a sea shell fireplace with a new mantel.  I ordered the shells, laid them out and photographed them and he built the fireplace with the design.  I am including before and after photographs.  I cannot tell you how many have been amazed by this remodel.  It?s not just about John?s capabilities as a contractor but it is about his personality, his work ethic, his enthusiasm, his commitment, his choice of subcontractors and his ability to listen and implement a client?s dream for their project.  I have never been as happy with a service provider as I have been with John and I have employed many!  Let the before and after photographs speak for themselves.  You would be lucky if John
    is available to work on your project.
    - Marzy B.
  • A
    Charleston Electric
    Very punctual, showed up on time and got right to work. Was up front about time limit that tracing the problem could take, but was able to find the issue and resolve it in the time frame allotted. Was even very nice about encountering a snake in our attic, which had to be a very unpleasant shock! Very pleased with his professionalism and the job done. Would definitely recommend him and use his services again!
    - Debra S.
  • A
    MISCELLANEOUS ELECTRICAL SERVICES, LLC.
    Miscellaneous Electrical Services installed a new light fixture over the sink in the laundry room. They also replaced the spot light fixture on the garage. They were very professional and courteous. They arrived on time and completed the work in a timely manner. They explained the cost upfront and recommended which light fixture would be brightest in the laundry room.
    - Jacqueline G.
  • C
    L & M Electric
    Land M operates as two distinct companies - an electrical division and a structured wiring division. When I called them for a quote, I had to deal a phone call from each group and had to schedule two different visits to obtain the quotes.
    David, who manages the structured wiring division, came first. He went over what I wanted done and took lots of notes. I was able to explain to him exactly what I wanted and he understood the technology involved. He left and promised me an e-mailed quote. the next day.

    The electrical division sent one of their electricians out to see what I wanted done. While he was nice enough, he didn't seem to have any interest in doing any work that involved crawling in the attic or under the house. Specifically, he didn't want to inspect the existing wiring in the bathroom - I had some concerns about work I had paid someone else to do. But he agreed to do what I asked and promised that I would get a quote in a few days.

    David's quote arrived as promised and I signed up for the work immediately. I had to call and ask when I would be seeing the electrical quote, Bill who runs the electrical division promised I would see it the next day - it came as promised via e-mail. I agreed to the price and scheduled this work too.

    The electricians came first, the same guy who did the quote and a partner. They took care of most of the work quickly, except the bathroom wiring was not looked at, some of the outlets that were to be installed were not, and they refused to install the remote power system saying the structured wiring guys would do that. They left and left some tools behind.

    The structured wiring guys came next and they had some of the notes I had taken with David, but some of the listed items were missing. They agreed to do the missing items and got started. Two guys worked all day and part of a second, but they got the work done. They did make some drywall holes that were expected, but the holes were not as easily repairable as they could have been if the cuts had been made with more care or forethought. There was also a large mess of old wire left outside my home that I did not find until the next day. But the work they did was fine. They also refused to install the remote power system, pointing out that it had to be installed by a licensed electrician (the system is essentially a code compliant extension cord you can run in the wall so you can power things from a remote battery backup/power conditioner).

    The alarm guys came next and they were as friendly as they could be. Explained what they were doing, installed their equipment quickly and efficiently, and cleaned up inside and out. After they left, I discovered that the outlet installed specifically for the alarm was wired incorrectly - it was wired into a switch allowing it to be turned off.

    Meanwhile I called Land M a few times, Bill specifically, about getting the electricians back out here to finish the job and fix the problems. Same guy came out solo this time and did the missing items, although I can't say 100% if he ever really looked at the bathroom wiring. He went up into the attic but wasn't there very long. When I asked about the remote power system, he said he'd have to come back with a helper. He took the tools he forgot and left.

    A week goes by with no word. I call Bill to ask when they would send someone back out, and he had no idea the work was not complete. He apologized and said he'd get someone on it asap.

    The same electrician came back yet again with a different helper. They quickly installed the remote power system and went on their way. After they left, I tested both circuits, since they didn't, and found no problems. However, I found that the outlets in one bedroom no longer worked. Finding a tripped breaker, I discovered that one of the TV outlets installed was done incorrectly - the circuit was shorting out. Also, the wiring was done incorrectly at the existing outlet where they pulled power from - wire was run outside the box, through the front instead of through a tab knockout or through a hole in the side of the box. The drywall was rubbing on exposed wires - potentially very dangerous.

    Rather than deal with setting up yet another appointment, I fixed it myself. I also had to call several times to get the final bill from the electrical division of Land M. For some reason they sent my bill to the wrong address - even though the structured wiring group had it correct on their bill.

    Since I have to grade the company as a whole, I have to give it a bad grade, purely based on the experience with the electrical division. I think the structured wiring guys could do a little better at being more professional, cleaning up, and having a better method for documenting the plan. But I have no huge complaints with their work. The alarm installers were excellent - they were a sub contractor so I saved their card for future work.

    But the electrical division leaves a lot to be desired. Having to chase down the company to pay them, the multiple visits required, the lack of communication between the workers and the the company, and between the two divisions - it was all frustrating. And the multiple mistakes and the attitude about the work - the guy was nice and friendly, but he made it clear he'd rather be doing commercial work.

    From the vendor's response and quot; It is unfortunate people find it easier to write a complaint than to pay a compliment.and quot; It is also unfortunate that you find it easier to insinuate that I'm somehow at fault for your company's shortcomings instead of accepting the criticism or even offering an apology for the incorrect and potentially wiring that was done that I had to correct. Shortly after this review was posted and the vendor response sent, I got an additional invoice demanding payment. I had called previously and clearly asked for the total amount owed (and paid that amount prior to posting this review) specifically asking if that invoice included the extra work required to finish the missing items. And this additional invoice arrived purely by luck - the mail carrier delivered it to me despite the fact that it still had an incorrect address (I gave the office personnel the correct address when I paid the last invoice). I've paid this invoice too, but clearly nothing has changed as part of this and quot;learning experienceand quot;.
    - Craig H.
  • A
    Commonwealth Contracting LLC
    Overall it went great. Mike Eipert took our initial plans and made suggestions that improved the remodel and saved us money. He suggested a way of raising the ceiling that was an aesthetic improvement and, when our plan to renovate the existing cabinetry was not working, he built new cabinets that we really like and was able to incorporate some of the wood from the old cabinets that had sentimental value. Mike, his employees, and the subcontractors he used were professional and easy to work with. He established good relations with the representative who provided our lighting and plumbing fixtures resulting in an end product we really like. Mike worked with us on changes we requested after the project was started and he communicated with us throughout the project.
    - Ray G.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Lighting Companies in Johns Island

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!