Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Charleston Car Dealerships

There are 28 top-rated car dealerships in your area and 47 to avoid.

After 20 years, it's now free to join.

  • More than 10 Million Verified Reviews
  • Nationwide Coverage
  • Trusted Ratings
Join Angie's List Now To see all 28 highly rated companies in Charleston

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Car Dealership Articles

Go to the article: 

The Best SUV, Vans and Trucks for Long Commutes

2015 Ford F-150 pickup truck
Go to the article: 

The Best Luxury Cars for Long Commutes

Car tire on pavement
Go to the article: 

What Are the Benefits of Buying an Electric Car?


Car Dealership reviews in Charleston

  • A
    The sales people didn't pressure anything.  They just presented the facts & offered me a deal I couldn't refuse.  They told me I could walk out and drive the car away that day, and I did.
    - Christine S.
  • A
    Jones Ford Inc
    Their call was accurate. Their work was fast. The place where customers hang around while they do the work is very nice. The people were very nice. The workers were great. This was my first time using them.
    - Joe L.
  • F
    Stokes Honda North
    When we arrived at the dealership, we sat down with the salesman (Samuel) and discussed the remaining balances on our vehicles. As they were appraising my car, my husband and I test drove a 2016 Honda HRV and were very pleased with the vehicle. We were prepared to purchase the car if the financial numbers worked out in our favor. We let Samuel know that we wanted to move forward with looking at numbers, but my husband needed to get back to work (He is a mobile employee, so he went outside to his work vehicle in the parking lot to make some phone calls), so I would be the one going over the numbers with the dealership. Another employee came over to discuss the financial information and asked me where my husband was.  I let him know that my husband stepped out and that I would be discussing the trade in values and cost of the new car with him and he seemed very hesitant to go over the information with me without my husband present. When he presented me the trade in values for our vehicles, the numbers he gave me were well below even 100% of the Kelly Blue Book value on each of our vehicles. They insisted that they "stretched the numbers" as much as they could for our trade in, but clearly they were not honoring the special trade in incentives that were discussed with my husband on the phone or advertised through radio and online. After he finished going over the information, I let him know that I wanted to go out to the parking lot and go over the information with my husband so we could make a decision. The employee then said, "why don't you just bring your husband in here so we can discuss it?." I felt very inadequate at that point, and it was clear to me that the employee didn't feel that I was able to make decisions on my own. Even though it was not directly said, it was implied that my husband needed to be the one to make financial decisions for us. I felt discriminated against for being a female and it left a very poor taste in my mouth. When I told my husband what happened, he went inside the dealership, asked for my car keys, and we left.

    My husband emailed the dealership yesterday to let them know about our experience and he received a response from Travis Westbury today. He attempted to justify their behavior by stating that both parties needed to be available when discussing credit situations (we were not talking about credit- just pricing), and that appraisals can differ from one person to another. He chalked the experience up to a "misunderstanding" and did not show any remorse or empathy for the situation. Needless to say we will never purchase a vehicle from this dealership due to the unprofessional and downright sexist actions of its employee.
    - Judillia A.
  • F
    If Zero was an option on this rating that would have been my
    choice. This would not be a business to spend your money for customer service,
    quality repairs or professionalism.
    I had to take my car to MEETING STREET AUTO for an emergency
    (but I am told simple) repair in the beginning of February. At the mend of
    October the same replacement of part and service had to be performed. When
    speaking to the owner he stated his warranty was not longer than 30 days. I
    decided to place multiple phone calls to 3 REPUTABLE dealerships and 3
    REPUTABLE mechanics regarding the cost and warranty of the repair. Every single
    response was the service and repair would have been guaranteed for a minimum of
    one year. One FINE establishment said that type of repair would be guaranteed
    for the life of the vehicle.
    When the owner was presented with these facts he said he did
    not feel the need to explain his policy and "it was not his mechanic who
    did a poor repair or broke the part." I asked why he did not feel the need
    to stand behind his work as others did. He had no answer.
    When my husband was notified of the repair being completed,
    my husband was told that he needed to bring CASH to pay for the repair. What
    auto repair or auto sales establishment requires CASH payment for  business transactions? He told my husband he
    did not have the ability to process credit or debit card payments. We know that
    is incorrect because the receipt and cleared bank transaction from February was
    done by debit/credit card payment?????
    My husband was prepared to take a cashier check in the
    unlikely event that something happened to be malfunctioning with the previously
    fine debit/credit payment system. The owner stated I would not get my car back
    without the "GREEN STUFF" and if I did not bring it soon
    "THINGS" would start happening to my car. I wonder what sort of
    things??? I let him know that when my husband arrived to pick up my vehicle it
    would be with the authorities in case any "THINGS" happened to me or
    my car. I explained that it felt quite shady and strange to have an
    establishment demand CASH. His statement was"he never trusted my husband
    or me and that was why he needed CASH." 
    Sadly he has not even seen us since February and that was quite brief.
    Along with the authorities who will accompany my husband at
    the time of pick up,  this review will be
    followed by a call to the Better Business Bureau, and also a letter to the
    editor at the post and courier. Perhaps a call to a local news station to dig a
    little deeper.
    After pick up I will follow up this post with the customer
    service and quality of care received at this business.
    - Sherry C.
  • F
    After the oil change I drove to Costco. When getting out of the car I noticed the hood looked as if it was not closed all the way. When I opened it up I noticed the oil cap had not been replaced??? I then looked around the engine compartment and discoverd that it was sitting near the srut area and this is what had prevented the hood from closing all the way. I took it back to complain...they said they were sorry and offered me a free car wash. Just probably best check behind them after having work done.
    - MARTIN P.
  • F
    I went in after working my second job, cleaning homes, to apply for a vehicle.  I was given the up and down look and spoken to very shortly.  I filled out the loan application and he held my licence, which he then lost.  I had to call to find the status of my application that he ran through one company.  If you have ever bought a car you know they run you through multiple companies to get you the best deal.  He told me they needed $5,000 down on a $15,000 car.  Well I did not buy the car nor never got my drivers licence back or an apology for loosing it.  The next day I went to another dealership and bought a $13,000 car and warranty with $0 down.
    - Shannon J.
  • A
    McDaniels does excellent servicing on my 2006 Acura TL and has kept it running well for years.  I might could get it done cheaper somewhere else but as a widow living alone I prefer to have dependable professional servicing.    This last time gave them a perfect opportunity to rip me off, because I asked to have 4 new tires put on the car after hearing one needed replacing.  After a few minutes Jody came back and told me the shop recommended replacing only the two rear tires, as the other two were too new and did not need replacing.  I agreed, and thanked him for saving me over $300.
    - Mary S N.
  • A
    Crews Chervolet
    The prices were reasonable especially considering the condition of the cars. They took care of a few small issues that came up with no hassle or charges whatsoever. The trade in amounts they offered us were for our cars were good. In particular, Josh, our sales rep. and the business manager who took care of the paperwork, were outstanding. No pressure or hassles, just friendly,helpful, professional business practices in order to get the job done in an efficient and respectful manner. I would recommend this dealership to anyone looking for a new subaru or a used car.
    - nick p.
  • A
    On one occasion my steering went and on another the solenoid died. In both cases they came to my house and picked up the cart. In both instances the repairs were made in 2-3 days and they brought the cart back to my house in fine working order. They were punctual, courteous and the prices charged were reasonable.
    - MARTIN P.
  • A
    Hendrick Honda Of Charleston
    they say you don't need an appointment, but my suggestion is you better get one. Stopped by on a Saturday morning, thinking I could get in within a reasonable time, NO, they told me it would be 1 - 1.5 hour wait. NO WAY. I do know that at the Jeep store you can do that, I figured all the Hendrick stores would be similar. I did buy a car from them and it was a great experience. So I will give them another chance.
    - Kathie K.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Car Dealerships in Charleston

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!