Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Elgin Home Improvement Services

There are 9 top-rated home improvement services in your area and 170 to avoid.

After 20 years, it's now free to join.

  • More than 10 Million Verified Reviews
  • Nationwide Coverage
  • Trusted Ratings
Join Angie's List Now To see all 9 highly rated companies in Elgin

Home Improvement reviews in Elgin

Real People ~ Real Reviews ~ Real Results

  • Arrived when he said he would (I live in Elgin). Did a great job. Cleaned the machine out and ran 2 clean cycles and kept pulling stuff out of machine (at least 3 cups). Warned me that a few carpet fibers and backing would keep flushing thru for a while. He showed me how to get to and clean the filter if it clogged again and offered to come back if I needed. While waiting for one clean cycle he climbed under and measured my cooktop so I would know what size I needed to replace it with. When he fixed my fridge he came out a few days later and installed the parts he ordered for no extra charge.
    - sandra c.
  • Great! The home alarm system was a self-install system, which made me a little nervous. That being said, the customer service rep was very patient and helpful, and explained to me how to set everything up, plus where to best place my sensors. Additionally, when I asked about other devices that would have added to my bill, the customer service rep informed me that, given my current purchase, those extra devices would simply be redundant. He arranged for a test period for me to become familiar with how to use the system before switching it on for the first responders. Great service and care all the way around.
    - Eric D.
  • Here are some before and after shots of my yard after Palm Green was in charge of my lawn maintenance. I am an absent owner and got a call from Travis telling me I had some dead grass in my yard. My wife showed up 2 days later and this is what she found. This is not just "SOME dead grass." YES, I was a week late on my payment because I was in the hospital, but this is not a weeks worth of dying. I was never late on a payment before, so I do not know why he was worried. As soon as he texted me, I sent him a payment. Part of his job was to take care of the weeds and as you can see, he did not. My new neighbors told me they thought the house was foreclosed/abandoned because of how high the grass had been. No worries, $850 later, it looks almost new. Thanks for taking my money and not trimming, mowing, weed eating and fertilizing my yard.
    - Stacey W.
  • I have a quarterly contract with A+ to spray the inside and outside of my home. I have been with this company goin on 6 years and have always been very happy with the service. My Tech Shane (Lawton Office) is great. He always makes sure to check if I am having any "new" bug problem around the house before spraying. Always has a smile and is very polite/professional when he is here. Thanks Shane for the great work!!!
    - Kerri M.
  • After suffering a flood on May 23 I received estimates from several contractors. Out of all the contractors to provide an estimate John Brooks Construction was the most detailed and professional. I built my home with my father more than forty years ago. John was the only contractor who took this into consideration and the only one who said he could custom build the lower damaged cabinets to match the upper cabinetry that I built with my father. After speaking with a few of his references I hired him to remove the mold damage, restore all of the flood damage and moving out and packing in all my contents. The night I hired them I slept better than I had since the flood knowing they were going to take care of everything. He hired an outside company to perform the pre and post mold test. They passed the mold post testing on time and started rebuilding my home. Their staff walked me through each step of their restoration process and time line. As the photos show they did an excellent job matching the cabinetry and stain. They completed way before I expected. There aren?t any lines that can be seen where the drywall was replaced in every room of my 2500 square foot home. It was like a flood had never occurred. I would recommend their services to anyone.

    - Gerald L.
  • The technician was on time and very nice. After the installation he explained to the whole family how to arm and disarm and answered all our questions patiently. We also received two keyrings to arm and disarm the system which can be used as panic alarm contacting emergency responders right away.
    - Cornelia F.
  • Awful. Nothing was done right. The wrong windows got installed. No screews or brackets, just caulking inside and out. Patio door was to high, floor was not levelt but they tiled it anyways. After tiles were uneven they started pulling them out on some places. Do you the movie HOLES? That's how our living room looked like. Paint job was not better. The carvings on the frames they painted shut, paint was running down the frsmes, doors and walls. Doors were painted white and are now white and yellow(We don't smoke). The handrail by the stairs is on each end at least one foot to short and since they didn't drill the holes for the rail brackets on the right place we have now extra holes in the wall and need to repaint the stairwell too. And so one. We have to find a different company now in order to get the tiles out again and start by zero. We kontakted BBB and reported the incident. Our Credit Card pulled the advance pay back and putt it back into our account. We gave the company the opportunity to fix it but they never contacted us again. They know what they did.

    - Cornelia F.
  • New patio door was to 2-3 in. taller than the old one and got dents in it already. Bricks where ripped out above the door to make it fit without our knowledge. Exterior siding beside the new door is not sealed correctly and is open towards the concrete slap. New storm door is not installed correctly and is missing the purpose of a storm door. New installed windows are aluminum instead of vinyl, hard to operate and are not energy efficient. Exterior caulking looks like chewing gum. Ceramic tiles were installed without leveling the floor first and tiles had to be reinstalled in several places several times. The floor is still uneven and some tiles are hollow. Because of that the contractor used wedges underneath our living room shrunk so it would stand straight. Paint is running down the door frames, interior doors are now white and yellow instead of white. New installed handrail in the stairway is on the top and the bottom to short and we have holes in the wall from the brackets since they drilled first on the wrong spot. Waste material was dumped inside our yard. We sent the company a letter and ask them to return with different workers to fix their work but we never received a response from Mr. Dutil. Work started in Januar 2014 and is still not finished.
    - Cornelia F.
  • I responded to an add for TruGreen to service my lawn that offered a special for $29.95 for the first application. After talking to a service representative I was informed that the special wouldn't apply to my yard because of the size. I asked why the flier was left on my door then if my property wouldn't qualify and he changed the subject to how he could save me money by classifying my yard at less than the full size.  I was a little put off by the bait & switch so I asked quite a few questions to figure out if I wanted to use their services.  After grilling they guy with every question I could think of, including pricing I figured their service was going to be about 50% less than Boots (the other choice in my area).  I finally agreed to a deal that would get me up to 16 applications over the growing season for about $450, which would start immediately before the grass and weeds started growing out of control. That was over 3 weeks ago and I have not been contacted since or seen a service tech since. My yard is out of control with weeds now and the grass has also come out of dormancy. This is one of the worst first impressions I have ever had with a new service provider.  I have called every week to find out why there is a delay and now I only get the voice mail.  If they don't show this week I am taking them to small claims court.
    - Richard R.
  • We had a leak that was coming from the wall in our son's room. I had thought it was coming from hose bib on the outside of his room. The plumbers that came were very polite and thought that the leak was the window. They arrived at our home about 2:00 and were here for about 20 minutes. I went that evening to the hardware store and sealed the window again. Next day it was still leaking. So I called another company. The second company came out and fixed the leak on the hose bib, where I had thought it was. My home was built in 2010 and when the hose bib was installed it was put on too tight and had a very small crack. The second company replaced a part and was here for about an hour. I was charged $50 for the repair. About a week later I received a bill from Andy's for $140! I was excepting a service call charge of $75 or so, but not $140. I just wrote the check as they did provide me a service, but I would not recommend or use them again.
    - William R.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Home Improvement Services in Elgin

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!