Bottini Fuel

Founded 1951 • Angie's List since June 2008

B Rated | 42 Reviews

Description

Retail and commercial fuel supplier...

Other local Pros in your area

A
C2G Environmental Consultants LLC

C2G Environmental Consultants, LLC specializes in underground storage tank removals and abandonments, above ground storage tank removals and installations, remediation of contaminated soil, groundwater investigations, and emergency spill response. By choosing C2G Environmental, you can be assured that your environmental project will be handled with the utmost care and professionalism. C2G Environmental is a full service environmental company. What sets us apart from other companies is our highly trained staff of professional geologists and hydrologists, as well as technicians. We do not use sub-contractors or rental equipment. We are authorized by New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey to remove and haul contaminated material. Our Services: • Tank Removals, Abandonments & Installations • 24 Hour Emergency Spill Response • Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) • Geoprobe & Vac Truck Services • Water, Soil, Air Testing/Monitoring • Liquid/Soil Transportation & Disposal • Petroleum Facility Compliance Audits (Class A/B Operator) • Phase I & II Environmental Site Assessment

Angie's List certified badge

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro…

B

RATED

09/16/2017

They're fine. Quality is quite good.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They fill up our oil periodically, and our propane.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

A

RATED

05/25/2017

We?ve used them for many years. They clean it in the warm weather months, so it?s okay for when it gets cold. I don?t know how to grade the rating for price, as long as it?s heating and it keeps working, that?s what?s important. I have no idea what the other guys charge. They do good work. When there?s a problem they send someone over. They come when they say they will come. We've used them for a ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
It’s for your annual, they clean the unit. They come in, they clean it, they make sure it’s okay.

CATEGORY heating oil companies

D

RATED

04/28/2017

They lack communication. They did not communicate when they were going to show up.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
I was hiring them to deliver fuel and fix an issue I was having.

CATEGORY heating oil companies

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Ms. [Member Name Removed], I'm very sorry you are unhappy with us. Our Credit Manager called you yesterday afternoon to review your account in detail and see if we can work out a way to work with you in the future. Please give us a call back at your convenience (845) 297-5580 and ask for Rosa, our Credit Manager. -Kara
B

RATED

10/11/2016

They are right up there as far as I'm concerned. I don't think we've ever had any problems with them. They come when they are supposed to and do what they're supposed to do. They don't appear to be gouging anything.  We would certainly recommend them.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They change the filters and service our heating and ac

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

F

RATED

01/23/2016

Since my original post, I have had to spend nearly $2000 of my own money to make corrections to the installation of the chimney lining and clean my entire air duct system of suet. I am still waiting for Bottini to provide me with a reasonable offer to completely resolve this matter. Instead, their insurance has done nothing but put up roadblocks to resolving the situation and Bottini has never eve...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
UPDATE TO PREVIOUS COMPLAINT AND DAMAGE TO MY HOME AND FAMILY's HEALTH CAUSED BY IMPROPER WORKMANSHIP BY BOTTINI IPDATED REVIEW DATE January 22,2016 Company Name: Bottini Fuel Categories: Heating & A/C Heating Oil Water Heaters Services Performed: Yes * More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed. Work Completed Date: April 20, 2015 Hire Again: NO Approximate Cost: $6,000.00 Description Of Work: IMPROPER INSTALLATION OF FURNACE AND FURNACE CHIMNEY LINER AND RELATED EQUIPMENT, RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE SOOT DAMAGE AND HIGH LEVELS OF CO2 EXPOSURE BY MY FAMILY, FRIENDS, AND DOGS. Failed to resolve complaint. Failed to provide insurance information to customer for clean-up. Failed to respond to requests for corrective action on a timely basis. Failure to properly install CO2 detector. Placed my family and visitors at great health risk. Completely insensitive despite nearly 7 months of requests. Member Comments: Please know that I file this report after nearly six months of pleading with BOTTINI to correct mistakes made A YEAR AGO that caused significant damage to my home and placed my family and friends at tremendous safety risk. And I have offered Bottini management and leadership months to take corrective action. I HAVE DOZENS OF SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH MONTHS OF senseless paperwork, phone calls, etc, Although I am writing this on my day off at 4 am, it is important for BOTTINI to take responsibility, so I will relate the jest of what happened here. I have documentation by experts, so I am not being frivolous. Bottini installed a new oil furnace and furnace chimney liner in my home the end of April, 2014. The job was never completed properly, because they were missing the part that holds the furnace filter in place. They said they would return to complete the job and never did. I have been required to travel a lot since July and the installation was started in warm weather, so we were not really using the furnace much. As heating season began, and the furnace kicked in, my smoke alarms sounded and my children complained of smokey conditions in the family room where they spent time to relax. Sometimes, the family room got a hazy cloud, so I called to advise Bottini who dispatched a tech. That tech told me that the filter was not installed correctly, but that he did not have the part. He would advise the office and they would return to correct the problem. That was November. Each time I called the salesman who sold me the unit, I received no return call. Weeks would go by, til I finally escalated the call to the service manager, Charlie. Bottini never fixed that issue. Instead, the "smoke/haze" problem only got worse as heating season came to a peak. By January, the CO2 detector that Bottini installed along with the new furnace was going off more regularly. Around Jan 2-4, my daughter had a slumber party for her birthday and began complaining of dark smoke in the family room where her friends had been spending the night before. She complained of headaches and had black around her nose, so we evacuated the lower level where there was a grey cloud throughout the entire basement. There was no heat and no apparent fire, so I opened the windows and evacuated the room and called Bottini. Even though there was no fire, the entire lower level was full of smoke. The smell permiated the upstairs also. It was really frightening for all of us. We could not understand where the smoke was coming from. When the technician arrived, he confirmed that we had a "puff back" . SOOT WAS EVERYWHERE. By the time he finished cleaning the Water Heater, he was covered in soot. He attempted to clean the pipes from the water heater and told me that they would need to take a closer look. Another tech eventually was dispatched on another date. He REROUTED the pipes from the new furnace and water heater. (Pipes that had been incorrecty installed months earlier when the furnace and Chimney job was first done by Bottini.) Fearing for my family’s health, I brought in an expert to assess the damage and risks. His inspection uncovered soot in all of my air ducts which explained why my family had been feeling unwell for months. He confirmed that the installation was not to code, and remarked that the CO2 detectors were not installed at the proper height, and told me that the Co2 levels had been very high. When I called Bottini to let them know about the extent of the damage and the seriousness of the issue, they dispatched their “senior tech” to double check my claims that the installation was not done correctly. Bottini had another chance to do the right thing, yet when I complained, Bottini set out to disprove the real experts by sending out yet another technicians who I thought was going to fix the issue, instead, he was sent to cover BOTTINI’s A__S. But that backfired when the senior tech admitted that he would not have installed the pipes the way they were done and he seemed shocked to learn that BOTTINI installed the Chimney liner. He insisted (correctly) that Bottini does not install Oil-furnace chimney liners, only gas ones. He was not told that BOTTINI installed the one in my home. I have since made dozens of phone calls to BOTTINI pleading to help me correct their mistake which caused me so much illness, stress, time and money. BOTTINI SHAME ON YOU!!! Eventually,we learned from the real experts that the Furnace and Chimney liner was installed improperly resulting in High levels of Co2 and the eventual puff back and soot damage. We were so lucky that my daughter and her friends did not die of CO2 poisoning. Rosa was wonderful-She was pleasant and apologetic and immediately tried to resolve my complaints. I actually felt with her that they (Bottini) was going to do the right thing and approve the clean up and repairs. I feel bad for her, because the owners made her do their dirty work and did not have the decency to get on the phone themselves. Still, I held out hope that they would see the evidence and recognize there was a mistake made on their part that caused so many problems. I thought they would fix the mistakes. HE WAS SORELY MISTAKEN. Not only did they not approve the clean up, but they refused to provide me with their insurance information. They wanted me to claim it with my insurance even though it was THEIR FAULT. I tried so hard to get them to respond to my calls and email, instead they did not return my calls. Botini REFUSED to provide me with their insurance information so that I might file a claim. They refused to send out the workers on a Saturday even though it was my only day off. Worse still it is over a year post "puff back", and I have spent nearly $2000 correcting Bottini's work and fixing the Chimney replacing some pricey personal items, and thoroughly and professionally getting the air ducts cleaned, but experts have told me that and less we conduct a thorough and professional cleaning of my entire home we will never get all of the damage out., so we are still living in those compromised conditions. They have YET to correct the issues. I had another inspection by a chimney expert who reported back to me his discovery that the Chimney had been installed improperly resulting in gasses coming back into my home. We had all been exposed to CO2 levels that were dangerously high due to improper air ducts were filled with soot which reached every room in my home for months, yet instead of Bottini fixing the mess, they continue to direct me to my own insurance company. When I explained that I had been a victim of Hurricane Irene and filing a claim for their mistake might result in my losing my insurance BOTTINI REFUSED TO PRIVIDE ME OR AN STTORNEY WITH THEIRE INDURANCE INFORMATION. And I later sound out through my town clerk that Bottini never even pulled proper permits for the installation job. I have been so patient but there is a limit so I consulted with an attorney who wrote to Mr Bottini requesting their insurance information be provided to me. Unbelievably, neither Bottini brother, nor their attorney had the decency or professional courtesy to respond to them either. I am a single parent with few resources, yet I had to pay to have the chimney repaired properly. I will now need to pay to have the air duct system cleaned to be safe.And the rest of the dirty damage-soot-stained carpets,drapes, paint, still remains a mess. And to add insult to injury, a few days ago, I received a BILL for my SERVICE CONTRACT on the improperly-installed furnace that STILL does not have a FILTER, since they never completed the original work. And they kidding? Billing a customer for their mistakes, failing to compensate me, failing to reimburse me for my out of pocket to CORRECT their mistakes. They should be ashamed of themselves. I would NEVER recommend hiring BOTTINI to install a furnace. And since they have chosen to leave me with the cleanup of their mess! I am now forced to take the matter up through the legal system. decide...Would you do business with them? I shared this with the band of neighbors last year and was told somebody would reach out to me. I am still waiting. 3eShare on Band of Neighbors: Yes Company Response: We are currently looking into this complex situation and how it was handled. When we have completed out internal review, we will reach out to you to discuss. Update Return Review Status: Active Overall D Price C Quality F Responsiveness F Punctuality C Professionalism F

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac,heating oil companies

Services Offered

Retail and commercial fuel supplier, heating and air conditioning contracts, capped pricing & budget plans.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes