McGavin Roofing

A 139 Reviews

Founded 1995 • Angie's List since July 2011

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • #924155 13vh02762100
  • Trade License Locale
  • New york city and New Jersey
  • Trade License Authority
  • Department of Consumer Affairs
  • Trade License Expiration
  • 20130601
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Company Contact

7 Elk St.

New York, NY 10007

Description

McGavin Roofing is a third-generation, family-owned and operated contractor specializing in all aspects of roofing. Our team of skilled and experienced professionals always take extra care to ensure your satisfaction upon completion of your roofing project. We deliver dependability, accountability, and over 50 years of experience. Additional Service Area: Bronx, Brooklyn, Flushing, Jamaica, Lower Manhattan, Midtown Manhattan, Staten Island & Upper Manhattan....

Verified Reviews

139 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
96
B Rated
14
C Rated
9
D Rated
4
F Rated
16
Read reviews by category
roofing (138)gutter installation (20)gutter cleaning (13)chimney repair (8)skylight installation (4)house painting (3)siding (2)window replacement (2)masonry (1)pressure washing (1)concrete repair (1)ice and roof snow removal (1)
Showing 1-10 of 139 reviews
A

RATED

11/15/2019

Great! I called him on Monday for a quote. He was punctual, polite and professional. The work was done on Wednesday. When I came home in the afternoon, the work was already in progress. It was completed within the time frame promised and it looks beautiful. The project was explained in full detail, so that I could understand. Mr. McGavin and his workers were honest, trust-worthy. The job was done ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
replace the hatch on the roof, shingles replaced, roof repair

CATEGORY gutter repair, roofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/13/2019

A

RATED

10/22/2019

Was told they would be there between eight and nine at 8:30 they begin their work three persons

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Gutter replacement and patch roof and chimney

CATEGORY gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/22/2019

A

RATED

10/02/2018

We noticed recently that our roof was leaking where water started dripping down the inside of the walls. We called to get an estimate & were scheduled quickly. On the day of the estimate, they said they could start working on the roof that day which we appreciated. They not only fixed the hole in the one area that was the result of the leak, but they also sealed the entire roof to prolong its life...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Roofing (Repairs and Sealing), Gutter Repair

CATEGORY gutter repair, roofing

COST $3,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/02/2018

Images

Photo for McGavin Roofing - 7 Elk St., New York, NY - 37449246

+3 More

A

RATED

10/02/2018

As expected and as described. I have used McGavin Roofing for roof and roof related maintenance and repair since 2007 with excellent results.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Flat roof maintenance, repair and coating; replacement of old skylight, replacement of old roofing and underlying material on bay window, resealing roof line flashing, resealing downspout/gutter joint.

CATEGORY gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing, skylights

COST $2,950

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/29/2018

A

RATED

04/03/2018

J. McGavin is professional and nice to work with. He showed up on time with his crew, and did a neat and clean job. He guaranteed his work, and was confident about the work that was done.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Roof repair and waterpoofing

CATEGORY gutter repair, roofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/31/2018

A

RATED

11/10/2017

Perfect - very professional, prompt and a beautiful job done. We will be all set for winter now. Thank you for all your help!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Roof repaired - chimney fixed, skylight sealed

CATEGORY gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair, skylights

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/10/2017

A

RATED

09/22/2017

The workers came by 8:30. They were basically done by 2:30 and did a decent clean up. I did ask the workers to take pictures and send them to my phone which they did.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
I needed a new flat roof. I reached out to McGavin roofing because he did some work on a nearby neighbor's house. They had did a good job. John McGavin came by to give me an estimate and did answer my questions. He wrote up a contract and told me payment was due when work was completed. I was impressed that John stated he would do yearly inspections. John did give me his personal number and I was able to ask more questions before actually hiring his company. The only reason I gave a B for responsiveness because it took 3 calls before we connected.

CATEGORY roofing

COST $5

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/22/2017

A

RATED

09/15/2017

The day they came to do tha appraisal-they were able to put a new roof on. Mr McGavin was very professional, knowledgeable and pleasant. He explained everything in terms I could understand. His price and warranty were extremely reasonable. I would highly recommend him. His workers were pleasant and after they completed the job, everything was clean.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace existing roof

CATEGORY roofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/26/2017

A

RATED

08/24/2017

Excellent workmanship and professional

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Waterproofing and roof repair.

CATEGORY roofing, chimney repair

COST $3

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/24/2017

A

RATED

08/12/2017

Couldn't have been better. Examined and understood work scope, executed professionally, and within time estimate.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
New roof, hatch access, gutters, leaders, decorative trim, misc improvements.

CATEGORY gutter repair, roofing, house painters

COST $5,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/11/2017

Images

Photo for McGavin Roofing - 7 Elk St., New York, NY - 36021827

+2 More

Services Offered

Residential & commercial roofing repair & maintenance - flat roofs, shingles, slates, tear offs, waterproofing, snow & ice removal, aluminum & energy efficient roof coatings. Gutters. Brick work

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes