Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Binghamton Veterinarians

There are 5 top-rated veterinarians in your area and 13 to avoid.

After 20 years, it's now free to join.

  • More than 10 Million Verified Reviews
  • Nationwide Coverage
  • Trusted Ratings
Join Angie's List Now To see all 5 highly rated companies in Binghamton

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Veterinarian Articles

Go to the article: 

Finding a Veterinarian That's Right for Your Pet

.
Go to the article: 

The Different Types of Veterinary Clinics

.
A veterinarian examines a long haired dachshund.
Go to the article: 

How do I choose the right veterinarian for my pet?

.

Veterinarian reviews in Binghamton

  • F
    Chenango Animal Hospital
    1st visit: Dr said she didn't know + gave us antibiotics and something for the itching. Told us to come back in 2 weeks 2 week follow up: pet lost 1/6 of her weight. Dr said again she didn't know + said we should euthanize her. I said there's still a chance (she didn't even look sick yet + it was possible she had lost the weight bc of the antibiotics) + I want to know what's wrong with her - she could be saved. She said I wish more pet owners were like that. She advised to go to a specialist + said she would make the appointment. A couple days later she said specialist had no appointments + that she would continue to see her while consulting with specialist. 3rd appointment, 4 days later: pet had lost the same amount of weight in the last 4 days as the prior 2 weeks. She tried to take blood, didn't work bc too dehydrated by this point. She took a urine sample, only bc my pet peed on the table, + said she had diabetes. Dr said she would call back with specialists recommendation the next day - called back 2 days later (I had called the day bf + that day) + said either I could be at her office in 20 minutes with my pet or I could go to a specialist the next week hours away. Of course I wasn't home + couldn't make it in time. I suggested in the future they do blood work + urine work the 1st visit bc now it's too late for my pet she was dying - the Dr told me she told me to euthanize her before and I didn't listen. She was not very nice about it and didn't want to hear any constructive criticism + honestly I should have been yelling at her not recommending improvements. It was obvious the Dr researched some things online + consulted with the specialist, there was obviously some degree of caring but with the lack of procedure at the establishment it meant my pet dying. And the Dr didn't seem too concerned if my pet died. She died the next day. I was also told this establishment had exotic pet vets - I didn't know until my follow up,2 weeks into it, that they weren't specialists and really didn't know too much about exotic pets. I wish I had gone to vestal animal hospital - I found out after all of this that's where people usually take their exotic animals. I hope this establishment implements some kind of procedure for exotic pets. I hope no other family has to go through the pain of not knowing what was wrong with their baby + feeling so guilty bc they took their pet to the wrong vet.
    - Ami M.
  • F
    Binghamton Animal Clinic
    Terrible.  My dog is not easy and they are familiar with him as he's been here many times.  Instead of double leashing him and securing him that way, which is what happened early in his treatment there, they now insist on sedating him to treat him.
    I really am ok with that except that they knock him right out at a cost of $180.  There has to be a way to mellow him out without knocking him out.  
    The worst part is the attitude of the staff, especially Dr. Alicia Bocek.  Apparently my dog is the only difficult dog on the planet and it is made very clear that she is not interested in having to deal with him.  She is terrified of him and gets extremely annoyed when she sees he's there for treatment.
    Today, on our 3rd trip there(1st time they were closed to do a procedure; second time they were busy) we were told Dr. Bocek wasn't there and they asked if I could muzzle him.  Then they said if he needed to be sedated, Dr. Maureen McDonald doesn't do sedation so we'd have to take him to the main clinic where Dr. Bocek was today.  Thanks for the run-around and for making us feel like our dog is your worst nightmare.  BAC is only interested in treating sweet, docile creatures.  If you have a pet that isn't a fan of being poked or prodded, find another vet.
    And, after spending $700 last July, we needed to get him the vaccine so we could board him 2 weeks later.  Back in we went where we were charged not only for the vaccine but for another office visit(yup, just 2 weeks after spending $700!) and we were there for 5 minutes.
    - Janice G.
  • F
    Southern Tier Veterinary Associates
    After my dog got sick, and our normal vet was closed we took our dog Shea here. After one night of exray's and lots of drugs, we were told the only thing they could rule out was an obstruction in her stomach, and were telling us they thought it was a kidney problem, and were trying to convince us to put our dog down. Lucky for us we had a bad feeling and took the dog the Aminal Hospital at Cornell University. Were the Doctor (a Student, no less) held up the x-rays in the waiting room and saw the problem, An obstruction! Just what Vestal said was the only thing it was not, It had gone so long without being addressed, she was rushed into surgery, and made a full recovery! 
    No knowing that we were taking our dog to a REAL vet, They refused to release her or her records with out payment! Just under 2K for some x-rays and an overnight stay. Now at Cornell they took new exrays, Ultra sounds, Her stomach was cut open in two spots, and her intestine in three spots, 4 days of recovery in the hospital, plus meds, was only $3500. So not only did they try to get us to kill our dog cause they are lazy, the overcharged to do it! 
    Stay away from these people!
    - Michelle P.
  • A
    Speak Animal Hospital & Cat Sanctuary
    She's been taking care of her since she was a puppy and she's eight months old. She did all her shots and everything. We've actually been using them for about the last four years. They're close to us. They're very inexpensive, but they're also very, very good compared to the other veterinarians in the area. They're very caring and they keep their prices down. They didn't keep my pet overnight when I got her fixed, which is what I was looking for. I'd rather have her with me than leaving her someplace. They're very, very good. They also put down our 13-year-old Yorkie a couple of months ago, and they were the most compassionate people. That also cost like half of what other people were charging. It's kind of ridiculous what other veterinarians charge, and they don't need to. I would tell people to go there, unless they like to spend money.
    - Linda B.
  • A
    Allen Veterinary Hospital
    It went very well and we're going to use them again next week because we're going away for a couple of days. They've been there for years and they've established the practice and they do have a large clientele. They treat the animals very well and there were no any complaints or whatsoever. They are very warm and reluctant to give her back, they love her and they love to keep her around in their office. They do a good job in taking care of the animals. 
    - Dale S.
  • A
    Speak Animal Hospital & Cat Sanctuary

    The trip went very well. The vet weighed my dog and examined the scabbed areas of her, which is why I brought her in. I expressed a few concerns that I had regarding her weight and eating habits, along with possible allergies. She referred me to what types of dog food I should be feeding her, along with various forms of flea control (the cause of the scabs). Overall, very happy.


    - AMANDA R.
  • A
    Speak Animal Hospital & Cat Sanctuary
    Awesome place! After getting a ridiculously enormous quote from my regular vet to neuter my adopted male cat, I decided to look into alternatives. A friend of mine works at SPEAK, so I decided to call them. They required a short exam first, but it was only $35. The neutering was only $63 and I chose to pay an additional $45 for post-op IV.
    I was so surprised at what a beautiful facility they have. It is very clean and everyone that works there is super friendly. I felt that they took great care of my cat and I will be taking him there for any future vet needs. The only down side is that they are very out of the way. I live on the south side of Binghamton, and it takes me a good 45 minutes to get there from my house, especially if you're avoiding Route 17 during construction. That's a long time with a howling cat in the car. However, it is well worth the trip.
    - Catherine D.
  • A
    Chenango Animal Hospital
    I've been using him for a long time, through many pets. They're very friendly and courteous. They've always been right on the dot about diagnoses. The office staff is nice too.  I'm very satisfied with this whole practice.
    - dinah b.
  • A
    Chenango Animal Hospital
    They are the ones that know the animals; they don't have to just pick up a chart even though they have one but it is kind of like going to your own Physician. They will actually will know the animal and not just the "when were they here last and what's their name?" that you get in most places because they see so many animals. But Chenango Bridge manages to keep it together or they might be taking sneaks that I should note, like when I used to do when I was in sales but you don't know if they actually remember. The feeling is that they do and the care was excellent.
    They are not cheap but on the other hand they do not do unnecessary things so in the long run, it is just one of those things where the price may be a little higher. But if they only need to do a part of it they will let you know and they are very good at zeroing in. And when someone can zero in on a diagnosis and you are not insured then you are going to save a lot of money even if the price for the tests may be the same or higher their knowledge enables them to know what to do first and so you might find out what to do before investing a lot.
    - brian y.
  • A
    Chenango Animal Hospital
    We boarded the cat in January.  I'm there annually for check-up's for my cat.  January was my last appointment there. She was there for 2 weeks. They have been around a long time.  Their staff are wonderfully caring and efficient.  Their record keeping is good.  They know his history as soon as they hear my voice.  They gave me research material about the breed of cat I got.  She is a minx, the ones without the tails.  This type of cat is unusual. The support staff have been wonderful and they ask all the appropriate history about her milestones.  They are very popular.  Their pricing is competitive.
    - Sharon T.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Veterinarians in Binghamton

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!