The Water Specialist Inc

A 98 Reviews

Founded 1976 • Angie's List since September 2008

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 3975-B, 2796-A, 4030-B, 4027-B, 2876-A
  • Trade License Locale
  • North Carolina
  • Trade License Authority
  • Well Contractor Certification Board
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Company Contact

608 Cornerstone Ct

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Description

The Water Specialist has served the triangle and surrounding areas by providing water well maintenance and rehabilitation, well pump repair and replacement, water well and septic inspection, and water treatment since 1976. Because of his passion and ability to evolve in the growing community around him, Ray Sparrow, a 3rd generation plumber, started his business with the hopes of providing unparalleled service and education to customers. Since then the company has grown and employs over 24 full-time employees. Jim Sparrow holds licenses as a NC Well Contractor, NC Licensed Plumber, NC Electrical Contractor, NC Septic Inspector, Installer, and Pumper. While Jim has spent most of his career working in and around the contracting business in various forms, the last 15 years have been dedicated to The Water Specialist. He believes in continuing the legacy of his father, Ray Sparrow, by meeting the needs of the community through a professional staff, 24 hour service, and the reputation of an established and reputable company....

Verified Reviews

98 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
85
B Rated
6
C Rated
3
D Rated
3
F Rated
1
Read reviews by category
well and water pump (73)water softener installation and repair (33)plumber (26)septic tank cleaning (7)water heater repair and installation (2)hvac repair (1)
Showing 1-10 of 98 reviews
A

RATED

06/02/2020

They are the best ! We had a repair that required a return visit on a Saturday that was made by a Supervisor with his family!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Service water system

CATEGORY water softeners

COST $400

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/02/2020

A

RATED

03/25/2020

Very well. Work followed estimate and was competed as scheduled.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace water holding tank and related plumbing

CATEGORY plumbing,wells

COST $850

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/23/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review! We look forward to working with you in the future. Jim Sparrow
A

RATED

02/11/2020

The tech came out and was very knowledgeable and friendly. They fixed my problem in a timely manner. Couldn't be happier with the work provided.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
was having issues with smell and taste of water

CATEGORY water softeners,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/28/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you. Happy to help! Jim Sparrow
A

RATED

01/10/2020

Walter and his crew arrived when they said they would, only 2 hours after I called. About an hour later, after a quick diagnosis, my new pump, pipes, wires, pressure switch, and filter were up and running.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace failing well pump

CATEGORY wells

COST $2,300

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/09/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank You! We are very grateful that you took the time to leave us a positive review. We look forward to working with you more in the future! Sincerely, Jim Sparrow
A

RATED

11/07/2019

Service always goes well. The service people are professional yet friendly. They do a thorough job each time. We are very satisfied.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Regular water treatment (purification, filtration, softening) service.

CATEGORY water softeners,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/06/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! Jim Sparrow
A

RATED

11/03/2019

Estimate was quickly provided and job was done within estimate range. Installers were very knowledgeable and had quite a bit of experience with whole-home systems. They arrived on time and took the necessary time to do the install the correct way. Would highly recommend.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Installation of whole home water filter and softener

CATEGORY water softeners

COST $700

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/25/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate your support! We look forward to working with you in the future. Jim
A

RATED

11/05/2018

The repair went well but a second visit had to be made to replace the filter.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair to well pump

CATEGORY wells

COST $780

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/05/2018

A

RATED

06/01/2018

Installed when expected . Very good customer service

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Installed softner and filter

CATEGORY water softeners,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/31/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the positive review! Jim Sparrow
A

RATED

05/02/2018

Two years ago, the Water Specialist came to fix an outside faucet that was broken due to freezing temperatures. That same faucet began leaking recently and they were more than happy to come back and fix the leak. I'd like to add, the first repair (2 years ago) was done during very cold weather while it was sleeting. This time, it was quite cold out and raining. Neither time did the technicians com...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Needed a leak fixed

CATEGORY plumbing,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/26/2018

A

RATED

02/12/2018

Went extremely well. They came out to check it out even though they had loads of calls. Turns out it was a simple repair. They charged the diagnostic fee since they didn't need to use any additional parts.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Water pump seemed to be frozen due to cold weather

CATEGORY wells

COST $99

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/05/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience. Making sure that our customers are taken care of is the most important thing we try to accomplish each day!

Services Offered

Well & septic inspections. Water testing. Water treatment systems for taste, odor & stain removal. Flow restoration on low flow wells. Well hydro flushing. Well liners & abandonment. Ultra violet lights for bacteria treatment. Water softener. Iron removal. Acid neutralizer. Reverse osmosis installation & repair. Submersible well pumps. General plumbing repairs. Tankless water heaters.

Services Not Offered

Well drilling. New construction plumbing.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes