A+ Home Improvements

A 250 Reviews

Founded 2008 • Angie's List since October 2008

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Company Contact

11 Scottsdale Dr

Asheville, NC 28806

Description

A + Home Improvements consists of Darrell Shroyer and a few trusted, talented people who provide help when needed. Typically, Darrell will meet with a customer prior to work beginning & review a contract, obtain a down payment and then begin working. Final payment is due on completion of job. Contact information for Darrell is 828-775-1668. Additional email - darrellshroyersmail@gmail.com....

Verified Reviews

250 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
221
B Rated
9
C Rated
7
D Rated
7
F Rated
6
Read reviews by category
handyman (164)decks & porches (69)woodworking (49)house painting (29)door installation (28)home remodeling (28)general contractors (26)pressure washing (25)deck cleaning (19)siding companies (19)interior painting (18)roofing (17)
Showing 1-10 of 250 reviews
A

RATED

05/19/2020

A+ Home Improvements came to us highly recommended by a number of former customers. Recommendations were super positive and so was our experience. Project took a number of weeks, and we were very happy with the team, their design and execution talent, and daily clean up. Finished work has been toured by a number of neighbors, and everyone sings the praises of this local company.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Screen existing deck and add attached plant room with window walls, skylights and doors, new concrete floor.

CATEGORY appliance repair,concrete repair,decks,remodeling,roofing,woodworking,sunrooms

COST $30,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/02/2020

F

RATED

02/06/2020

Had an appointment for 8;30 in the morning. He didn't show. He called about 11;45 and said he was feeling bad the previous night and forgot to check his appointments when he woke up! I keep running into these kind of workers for some reason.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Was supposed to be turning a bedroom ito a bathroom/laundry room.

CATEGORY handyman service,remodeling

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/05/2020

A

RATED

09/23/2019

The new porch turned out even better than we had hoped for!! Darrell did an amazing job!! Have already scheduled another project with Darrell for another time. Would recommend to anyone!!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Screened in a carport

CATEGORY decks,handyman service,remodeling,woodworking

COST $6,800

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/23/2019

Images

Photo for A+ Home Improvements - 11 Scottsdale Dr, Asheville, NC - 38127773

+2 More

A

RATED

05/22/2019

Darrell did a great job on our remodel recently - quality team, always professional, one time finish as well. Bid was very competitive. Will use again, thanks Darrell.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Basement remodel

CATEGORY drywall,handyman service,remodeling,basement remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/01/2019

A

RATED

10/07/2018

Darrell was excellent and the job well done.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replacing rotting wooden post underneath deck

CATEGORY handyman service,house painters

COST $700

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/02/2018

D

RATED

08/06/2018

Sent a request for a quote last Thursday morning with no response Thursday or Friday. Called directly Friday late morning, got voicemail, left message, but no return call through Monday afternoon (today). There may be something going on, but we moved to another company.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Carpentry work over garage

CATEGORY woodworking

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/03/2018

A

RATED

08/02/2018

Darrell and his assistant were great! I didn't know him and only hired him because of the favorable reviews. Nice guys. Very high quality work. We have had some bad experiences with contractors. This was not one. I would definitely recommend this company to friends who need any sort of carpentry work!!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replaced rotten wood on peaks of roof with cedar shakes, drywall around a bathroom vanity, replaced awning near gutter with water damage, fixed our screen on the screened in porch, made a door to access under our deck.

CATEGORY contractors,handyman service,screen repair,woodworking,doors

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/16/2018

A

RATED

07/31/2018

Darrell called the day before the appointment to confirm. He and his crew arrived on time on the day appointed. They replaced the sub-floor and installed new laminated flooring on top, re-installed the toilet and vanity, installed a baseboard which we did not have before. The result was a beautiful bathroom better than when the house was built. Each time I walk past the bathroom, I am in awe as to...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Small bathroom had severe damage to sub-floor due to long-term water leak. Sub-floor needed replacing and laminated flooring on top of sub-floor needed to be replaced as well as taking out toilet and vanity and re-installing them.

CATEGORY flooring contractor,handyman service,home remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/28/2018

Images

Photo for A+ Home Improvements - 11 Scottsdale Dr, Asheville, NC - 37282126
A

RATED

05/10/2018

Darrell is very easy to work with. This was the fourth job I’ve hired him for over the course of about 5 years. This was the biggest job so far and he was great. His labor prices are very fair. He provides all the receipts for materials and never marks up material costs. The updates look great. He and his team work hard and do quality work. He got the job done much faster than I ever expected and ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Made many house updates preparing to sell. Darrell and his team helped with paint, floors, counter tops, decking, drywall, basement dry lock, and several other miscellaneous jobs.

CATEGORY countertops,decks,drywall,flooring contractor,gutter cleaning,handyman service,deck cleaning,interior painters

COST $3,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/10/2018

A

RATED

04/12/2018

All work done was high quality and done in a prompt, professional manner. Darrell is very flexible and easy to work with and will definitely continue to use him again for future projects.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Darrell has done a variety of projects over the past couple years including building decks, cutting a door into an exterior wall, building bedroom closets, pressure washing, exterior house painting, deck staining, fascia installation, etc

CATEGORY contractors,decks,electrician,handyman service,remodeling,deck cleaning,pressure washing,woodworking,house painters,doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/02/2018

Services Offered

Remodeling, handyman services, carpentry, siding, decks & trim. all electrical and plumbing services.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Ask for details