Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Bozeman HVAC Contractors

There are 5 top-rated hvac contractors in your area.

Zip Code
Join Angie's List Now To see all 5 highly rated companies in Bozeman

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Heating & Cooling Contractor Articles

Go to the article: 

Troubleshooting Common Air Conditioning Problems

close-up shot of top of air conditioner unit
Go to the article: 

How Much Does Installing New A/C Cost?

HVAC technician inspects air conditioner.
Go to the article: 

What Should You Do if You Have a Holiday Emergency?


Hvac Repair reviews in Bozeman

  • F
    We had an AC unit installed in July of 2017 and purchased a "Gold Membership," which provides us with fall and spring maintenance to get things up and running for the season. Never received a fall maintenance and never received a call about spring maintenance. Contacted them on 5/3/18 for spring maintenance and left a message. On 5/4, they called and said they'd be scheduling in the next few weeks. Three weeks went by with no word. Sent an email - no response. Contacted them on Facebook on 6/1/18. They set an appointment for 6/8. They cancelled that appointment. Reset for 6/12. They cancelled that appointment. Reset for 6/15. They cancelled THAT appointment. I emailed a complaint about this and the owner responded a few hours later assuring me that they would keep their 6/15 afternoon appointment. I left work early, missing out on PTO and overtime, and the NEVER SHOWED UP. No phone call, no text, no email. I sent an email that evening and again on Monday morning and heard nothing. They are in breach of the maintenance contract for which we paid extra. Very irresponsible. We're now into the middle of June, have been running our AC, and have not received ANY service since the AC was installed in July of 2017.
    - Wendy A.
  • A
    Our 41 year old furnace was starting to have problems so we decided to replace it. After researching info on home furnaces we decided on the Trane brand due to its excellent reputation. Also, we wanted to purchase from a locally owned company with a reliable, long-standing reputation. The sales rep was very thorough in assessing the size of furnace needed and in answering our many questions. Brian Gertiser, owner of Bridger Heating and Cooling, came to our home to answer our specific concerns. The old furnace was removed and the new furnace was installed by technicians Ryan and Noah. Both were pleasant, professional, worked steadily, did not rush the job, and answered questions we had along the process. A few days after the installation Brian Gertiser came to our home to review the installation. All in all, we are very pleased with Bridger Heating and Cooling, and very much appreciate the time the owner and the technicians took to thoroughly answer our many questions. We highly recommend this company.
    - Linda N.
  • B
    The two gentlemen who performed the work were very nice, very efficient and got everything done. I did have to call back because the new bathroom sink was leaking, but the gentleman arrived early the next day and fixed the situation without issue or cost. There have been no issues since and it has been over a month. This is my second time using this company and I am pleased with the work they perform.
    - Deb S.
  • A
    Many businesses don't like doing work for engineers such as myself, because we are always doing our own research, asking annoying questions, and have high expectations for the finished product . When Chris came to install my furnace, I knew it was going to work out well because there was good communication. He comes from a technical background, which perhaps made it easier for us to relate.

    I wanted to get switched over to a high efficiency furnace that would be quieter and would heat the house more evenly. I had Sunrise install a Daikin 2-stage unit, and I'm very happy with it. I have basic metal ductwork all over down in my crawlspace so I didn't expect it to be "super" quiet, but it is genuinely hard to hear.

    The furnace runs for longer periods than my old one did, but without blowing so much air. And the air is not as hot, so it doesn't tend to want to rise to the ceiling as much. My bedroom used to be several degrees colder than the main living area where the thermostat was located. Now with the new system, they are virtually the same. The "cold" guest bedroom is only 1 degree colder now. And the air temperature up by the lofted ceiling is now almost the same as the room temperature, which means the hot air is no longer soaring up to the roof to be wasted. As the air circulates more, the temperatures become more even.
    - Gereon K.
  • B
    The workers seemed professional. The main problem that I had was that I have parts under warranty that I was charged for. It took a long time to figure it out. They did recognize the problem after I brought it up and they dealt with it.
    - Holly W.
  • A
    We have both radiant heat and forced air. I have used Harvey's several times over the past three years we have owned the house.  Built in 2006,  several heating and plumbing items need repair and replacing (it was just time).  Easy to schedule an appointment, and the techs show up on time, giving me a prescribed 30 minute call heads up that they were on their way.  On two occasions when the radiant heat quit, Justin was able to walk me through several check items to see if we could fix or identify the issue without them coming out - saving me money.  Twice I took photos of control panels and gauges on a smart phone and emailed to Justin so he could see what the problem was while we were on the phone, and also make sure the tech arrived with the appropriate parts saving them coming out to Gateway and then having to go back and retrieve a part from the shop.  Three different techs have been here and each was a specialist in the various issues (plumbing, radiant heat systems/boiler, forced air system). Each of the techs arrived exactly on time, were very polite, knew what they were doing, quickly confirmed/identified the problem, and because we had gone over the issues with photos on the phone, arrived with replacement parts.  Each time they cleaned up immaculately. Their emergency service is great ( our heat went out on a Sunday) and works the same way with the tech walking through the problem on the phone before coming out.  Harvey's is not the cheapest, but not the most expensive, either. But their service and knowledge of both radiant heat and forced air systems and fixtures, including older boilers and furnaces, pumps, etc.,  as well as the he latest, high efficiency systems is top notch.
    - Robert A.
  • A

    Extremely knowledgable tech answered my questions on how furnace runs, things to watch, and throroughly tested.  Very friendly and professional.  I also asked him to look at some other ducting at my house and he looked at no extra charge.  I was able to schedule new appointment right there to fix some ducting later in the week.

    Only con was scheduling through Angies list took longer than if you call them direct.  It took 3 days for them to call me back on a Saturday and confirmed later next week.  Otherwise 100% recommend.

    - Ross G.
  • A
    They gave me several quotes on different furnace systems with air conditioning and without.  They were prompt and very professional.  They have great customer service and their communication was excellent.  In the end we decided to go with a new furnace to be installed right a way and the air conditioning unit to be put in late June or early July.  Again, they were prompt and explained in detail what, when, and how each part of the furnace/air conditioner system would be installed
    - Janine T.
  • B
    I called on a Friday afternoon and we were able to set up an appointment for 2 pm the following Monday. They say on their website that they always answer their phones and in my case they did answer each time I called. They were candid with the day's schedule to help me get an idea of the size of the time window and offered to call 30 minutes prior to arrival at my house. This was all important since I was trying to minimize the amount of time I would be away from work.
    On Monday I received a call late in the morning notifying me that the technician had finished his other work early and could arrive at my home by 12:30 pm. This worked even better for me than 2 pm since I could combine the time off work with my lunch break. The technician was about 10 minutes late but that's not too bad.
    Within 10 minutes, the technician had diagnosed the problem: the temperature and pressure relief valve needed to be replaced. But the temperature and pressure relief valve needed to be replaced because an expansion tank had never been installed. During a call with the office (the boss, I think), the technician relayed my question about whether this expansion tank was required by local building codes and he said it was and had been for a long time. I was a bit surprised that the building inspector hadn't mentioned this when I bought the property but it was clear I needed the expansion tank now.
    The technician then told me he'd have to leave to get the parts he needed for the job and threw out an estimate of $100 in parts. When I asked about the length of time required to complete the work he said installing an expansion tank took about 30 minutes. He also estimated that it would take 15-20 minutes to get parts.
    The technician returned in 45 minutes and said traffic was a bit rough. Fair enough. He then completed the installation in approximately the amount of time he said. However, I was still a little surprised when the bill totaled $340. I was charged 2 hours labor at $85/hr and $170 for parts. Ultimately I think the price was fair but I didn't like that the technician underestimated both time and parts. After the install I learned that the technician had worked for this company for about 10 years.
    After the technician left, I inspected the new hardware that had been installed and noticed a small bead of water at the joint that connected to the new expansion tank. I wiped away the bead of water. I hoped it was just something remaining from the installation but put a paper towel under it so I would know if any water leaked while I finished my work day. Sure enough, when I returned home a few hours later there was a large bead of water at the same joint and a 2and quot; diameter wet stain on the paper towel. This was a very slow leak so I wasn't too concerned but I was a bit disappointed that I would have to schedule another appointment to make sure there was no leak at all.
    The next morning I called Ranger and they said they'd try to get the technician back out during my lunch hour. I was impressed that they were able to pull this off on such short notice though there was a little confusion. I had discussed an 11:30 am to 12:30 pm window and was told I'd receive a call 30 minutes in advance. I didn't get this call however because the technician arrived at my house shortly before the office told him I had requested 30 minutes advance notice. Fortunately my wife was home for lunch before me and was able to let the technician in. The technician said he did not observe the slow leak . But he seemed convinced by the photos I'd taken of the leaking with my cell phone and agreed to tighten the connection again and then watch for a leak. It hasn't leaked since!
    In summary, there were a few glitches along the way but in the end the job was done and I'm happy with the result.
    - James S.
  • A
    They were very professional. They performed the work they said they would on time and on budget. It was truly a great experience working with them. I would recommend them to anyone. Thanks Mountain Sheet Metal!
    - Robin L.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

HVAC Contractors in Bozeman

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!