LU Design Build

A36 REVIEWS

Founded 2006 • Angie's List since July 2010

Angie's List certified badge

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

5634 Morgan Ford Rd

St Louis, MO 63116

Description

LU Design Build specializes in upscale full service home remodeling projects including: kitchens, bathroom, master bedroom suites, basement finishes and additions. We also provide a full scope of interior design services. Our team of designers, construction managers and craftsmen work closely with you, your budget, your style and vision to complete your remodeling project. We have a growing team of excited professionals and a host of qualified subcontractors working in tandem to get your project off the ground and done in a timely manner with as little disruption as possible. All of us have years of experience in the remodeling industry and know what it takes to get the job done! We strive to make our clients lifestyle vision a reality! Contact us today for an in home consultation! All the best, Lucas Bourgeois CEO, LU Design/Build...

Verified Reviews

36 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
28
B Rated
2
C Rated
2
D Rated
0
F Rated
4
Read reviews by category
General Remodeling (31)Interior Painting (13)Finished Carpentry and Woodworking (13)Flooring Sales and Installation (10)Drywall (10)Kitchen and Bath Remodeling (9)Interior Design and Decorating (8)Decks and Porches (8)Electrical (7)Plumbing (5)Lighting (5)Ceramic Tile (5)

Showing 11-20 of 36 reviews
A

RATED

03/23/2017

This was a three month project, extensive amount of work so will try to stick with high level points that are important to me as a consumer. Start to finish LU was professional and very focused on achieving goals set forth in contract. The designer and the overall designs were absolutely spot on with our vision. This was a major investment and I appreciated the time spent up front to clearly under...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Complete kitchen remodel, update to laundry room and half bath

CATEGORY interior designers, remodeling, bathroom & kitchen remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/28/2017

Images

Photo for LU Design Build  - 5634 Morgan Ford Rd, St Louis, MO - 36967754

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your kind words! We loved working with you and we are so happy you love your new space!!
C

RATED

03/22/2017

Promptly returned call, phone representative was very polite. Once I advised my kitchen is small and the budget is under $10K, she offered to send info by email instead of setting up an appointment. I asked if this was because of the budget, she indicated yes, and I told her not to bother sending me any information. Even those of us without a high budget want quality, reputable service, which I wi...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Provider not interested in making an appointment to give an estimate for a kitchen renovation with a budget under $10,000.

CATEGORY bathroom & kitchen remodeling

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/22/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], I'm sorry your experience with us wasn't able to provide what you had hoped. Based on the information you communicated over the phone, we felt the expectations you had for what could be accomplished within your budget were not something we could fulfill. Out of respect for our clients time and our own, we don't typically set appointments with clients unless we feel we can...
A

RATED

03/12/2017

YES!!! I enjoyed very much working with this company. The team met to discuss our needs several times before and during the construction to make sure we were absolutely getting what we wanted, especially when we were unsure of exactly what design we even wanted in the beginning. The design team was incredibly patient with us and knowledgeable to decipher the look we were trying to convey on our ne...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Rebuild full front porch (including decking boards, stairs, railing, newel posts, columns, skirting) and prime all wood material.

CATEGORY decks, woodworking

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/12/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for the great review [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure working with you and [Member name] =] Feel free to call us anytime, we'd be happy to work with you again!
A

RATED

03/09/2017

Beautifully done! We enjoyed working with this design/build team. All designs, scope of work, budget, and calendar were on paper before the work began. We were contacted daily by the project manager to know who was coming and what would be done. Quality workmanship, stayed on budget and finished on time. Highly recommend this company.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
A basement and bathroom remodel.

CATEGORY contractors, drywall, electrician, flooring, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, bathroom & kitchen remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

COST $35,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/02/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for the great review [Member Name Removed]! It's been a pleasure working with you and [Member Name Removed]! Call us anytime =]
A

RATED

11/29/2016

Great. We'd solicited several bids for the project and went with Lucas not only because we felt the bid was fair (not the cheapest) but also because we found Lucas himself to be someone we could work with. He listened to what we wanted and helped us to realize our vision for the project. He was responsive to our requests and was great about clearly communicating the timeline and what was going to ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We contracted Lucas updates to rebuild the front porch on our 100-year-old home, which included demolition and replacement of the concrete slab atop the stone foundation, saving and repairing as much of the foundation as possible, replacement of the columns and railings, as well as demolition and replacement of the walkway and stairs. The top set of stairs were replaced with reclaimed historic limestone steps.

CATEGORY decks, remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/25/2015

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for the great review! It was a pleasure working with you :) We particularly enjoyed the care you took in choosing the time period appropriate finishes for the porch. It really made a great impact on making the porch look new, fresh and still belongs on a 100 years old home. Fun project!!
A

RATED

11/28/2016

Both were fantastic. Both crew and work was top notch. Would definitely use again and again

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Two separate times. One was work on the basement to redo some old drywall, and install cabinets. Second was to repair a wall after structure work was done

CATEGORY drywall, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, basement remodeling

COST $1,200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/03/2016

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed], it's always a pleasure working with you and [Removed Member Name] :)
A

RATED

11/26/2016

Always great work. Luke tries hard to balance service, quality, and price to get the best result.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Luke and his team have performed a variety of services including property management, maintenance, and rehab. Our relationship has lasted 5+ years and I hope it lasts 5+ more!

CATEGORY drywall, electrician, flooring, handyman service, interior designers, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, interior painters, drain cleaning, property management, outdoor lighting

COST $30,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/16/2016

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed], We are excited to be here for you for the next 5years!
A

RATED

11/23/2016

Excellent! It was a pleasure doing business with a company who not only delivered first-class workmanship at a reasonable price, but did it on time and on target! Pride of workmanship was obvious in all workmen and the job site was left immaculate. The deck material incorporated invisible fasteners, which gave it a super clean look! We already plan to hire Lucas Updates for our next project!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We did a complete face lift to the front of our 1902 Victorian home. The mansard roof was re-shingled, we replaced gutters, downspouts, fascia board, gable vent and the ceiling and deck of front porch. All trim was painted, from the roofline to the basement windows.

CATEGORY decks, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/23/2016

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Wow (Member name removed)! Thanks for the great review :) It was a pleasure working with you and we are excited to help with your next project! Thanks for being such a great client, we love working with awesome people! Call us anytime :)
A

RATED

11/23/2016

It went very well. LU is good at communicating, which is the key to keeping a renovation on track. They keep a clean job site, which I love (!) and stand behind their work. I highly recommend them for large or small remodeling projects.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Lucas Updates worked on several extensive renovations for me. The work was excellent, and the crew was always capable, punctual, and professional.

CATEGORY decks, flooring, remodeling, woodworking, bathroom & kitchen remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/23/2016

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], we appreciate the great review and the great opportunity to work on your projects. The sense of community and pride for your neighborhood you have shown resonated with us greatly. It's such a pleasure working with people like you. Thanks so much and cheers to the next project!
A

RATED

11/23/2016

Work was finished quickly with no concerns

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Tile in kitchen

CATEGORY ceramic tile, remodeling

COST $3,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/15/2008

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed], we're ready to help with your next project!

Services Offered

Interior Design, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Basement Finishes, Full Renovations, Room Additions, Outdoor Spaces

Services Not Offered

Partial remodeling

General Information
Licensed
Not Applicable
Bonded
No
Insured
Yes
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, MasterCard, Discover, Visa, American Express, PayPal
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.