Standard Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

A 2718 Reviews

Founded 1930 • Angie's List since June 2000

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Licensing

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Company Contact

130 Plymouth Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55411

Description

Since 1930 Standard Heating & Air Conditioning has earned the trust of more than 500,000 homeowners in the Twin Cities. We specialize in residential indoor comfort systems including heating, cooling, and indoor air quality. Our in-home consultants and technicians are trained to be the best in the business. For more visit http://www.standardheating.com. Energy Star Partner (EPA and DOE). North American Technician Excellence (NATE). A+ Better Business Bureau for over 40 years. Angie’s List Super Service Awards (since day 1). Award winning....

Verified Reviews

2718 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
2427
B Rated
143
C Rated
64
D Rated
41
F Rated
43
Read reviews by category
hvac repair (2672)gas leak repair (15)air duct cleaning (10)chimney repair (9)chimney cap repair (5)plumber (54)water heater repair and installation (37)appliance repair (25)drain cleaning (10)fireplace repair (4)
Showing 1-10 of 2718 reviews
A

RATED

07/03/2020

When we have an HVAC issue, we just call Standard Heating and Cooling. We have done comparisons and their level of service and price can’t be beat. Our latest service was ducts cleaning. I’m not proud to say that we have not done this in the 14 years we owned our house. It was a big job! First of attempt was delayed after the discovery of asbestos. The technician pointed out the areas of concerns ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Duct Clearning

CATEGORY air duct cleaning

COST $425

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/03/2020

A

RATED

07/01/2020

We called Standard Heating and Air for a second opinion on our AC repair. The technician from another company (the company who installed our system) diagnosed a bad compressor and recommended a replacement system. The cost of that replacement AC was quoted at $6200 to $9700 for the AC only. Standard Heating came out and Mike the technician did a great job. Prompt, courteous, knowledgeable. He diag...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Air Conditioning repair

CATEGORY

COST $134

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/22/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for the review [Member Name Removed], we are happy to hear your AC is up and running!
A

RATED

07/01/2020

The service/tune-up to my air conditioning went very well and Jason was extremely professional. Prior to my appointment, Standard had explained to me the safety protocols they have put in place in response to COVID-19 and Jason was well equipped with a face mask, latex gloves and shoe coverings, which more than exceeded my expectation for safety concern. The maintenance process was explained to me...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Air Conditioning Tune Up

CATEGORY

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/01/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank so much for this thoughtful review [Member Name Removed], we are so grateful that we are able to service your home and exceed your expectations! We look forward to continue to do so.
A

RATED

06/29/2020

Just completed our annual AC checkup. As usual the service was pleasant, quick, and complete. Casey was an excellent representative for Standard. Our dealings with Standard over the years have always been 1st rate.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Annual AC checkup/tuneup

CATEGORY

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/25/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank for taking the time to leave a review [Member Name Removed]! This made our day & we look forward to servicing your home in the future.
A

RATED

06/29/2020

Jason was great. He installed the thermostat without a hitch and determined what might be causing the lack air getting to the upper most bedroom. Now I have a plan on how to proceed. I will be contacting Standard when I'm ready for them redo the duct work. Jason also took the neccessary COVID-19 precautions.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Installed smart thermostat

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $189

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/29/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], thanks for leaving a review & we are happy to be able to solve your thermostat issue. We appreciate your business and look forward to helping you in the future!
A

RATED

06/26/2020

Nathan was very knowledgeable and experienced. He was able to diagnose the problem quickly and explain the different options to resolve the issue. After choosing an option, he worked on it right away and got it fixed. Would definitely be using them in the future and recommending them to our family and friends.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Needed a gas line capped

CATEGORY gas leak repair

COST $220

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/25/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for the review [Member Name Removed], we are happy to be able to service your home!
A

RATED

06/24/2020

Richard T, Seth, Mesha and others were all very professional and responsive to our requests during their work here. Mesha started very early and worked tirelessly until finishing just before the rain started around 5:30pm. The installation works perfectly so far and looks good both outside and in our partially finished basement.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replaced furnace and central air.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $7,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/18/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for the review [Member Name Removed]! We are so glad to hear everything went well. Thanks for using Standard Heating & Air Conditioning to service your home.
A

RATED

06/08/2020

Right on time, very professional and personable. This is not the first time I used this company and it definitely will not be the last. Thanks!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Annual Maintenance

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/08/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for leaving a review [Member Name Removed], we appreciate your kind words & look forward to continuing to service your home!
A

RATED

06/03/2020

Tuneup was great, my technician TJ did an awesome job tuning up the A/C, as well as providing valuable information for some things I can do to optimize the performance and life of my A/C unit. Excellent service all around.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
A/C tuneup

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/03/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for leaving a comment [Member Name Removed], we appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear everything went well. Customer service & expertise are values we pride ourselves on!
A

RATED

06/01/2020

The initial consultation was beyond my expectations. During the nearly 2 hours the representative was here, she provided invaluable education about my current HVAC system, measured the air velocity coming out of each and ever register, made recommendations for where repairs should be made (upon install of the new AC) and where Standard would install an air return where there is not one currently. ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replacement AC

CATEGORY

COST $4,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/01/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hello [Member Name Removed], this review made us smile. Thank you for making our day by taking the time to write such an awesome review. We appreciate your words more than you know!

Services Offered

Furnace, boiler, and air conditioner. Ductless options, garage heaters, water heater replacement. Air duct cleaning, geothermal systems, humidifiers, air exchangers, UV purifiers, and whole-home air cleaners. Furnace inspections, installation, maintenance, tuneups, & repairs. NOTE: *Generally sales estimates are free on new equipment. **Other services outside of new equipment may have a fee, please inquire for more details.

Services Not Offered

Plumbing, or commercial.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check
Senior Discount
Yes
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No