Brothers Electric Co

A 723 Reviews

Founded 1983 • Angie's List since August 2001

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

3447 Cedar Ave S

Minneapolis, MN 55407

Description

A family run company, proudly serving the Minneapolis area with quality electrical services since 1983. 11 employees. Free estimates on remodels & service work only! Great Time and Material Rates for troubleshooting and repair work! No travel charges. Additional contacts: Kevin Letson & Amy Letson. Additional email addresses: kevin@brotherselectricinc.com & amy@brotherselectricinc.com. Also serving portions of Chisago & Sibley Counties....

Verified Reviews

723 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
591
B Rated
53
C Rated
27
D Rated
29
F Rated
23
Read reviews by category
electrical (691)lighting (137)ceiling fan installation (40)home remodeling (9)handyman (4)landscape lighting (2)fireplace repair (1)home security system (1)
Showing 1-10 of 723 reviews
C

RATED

11/25/2019

Company never responded to my inquiry

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Ceiling fan installation

CATEGORY electrician,ceiling fans

COST $400

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/25/2019

F

RATED

01/19/2019

Never contacted me with a quote and didn't answer the phone.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
ceiling light fixture replaced

CATEGORY electrician

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/19/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], I apologize that this was your experience. We were having problems with our phone messaging service but have since repaired the problem so I apologize about the lack of response. We try to respond to every message we receive and pride ourselves on our customer service so this would not be our normal way to do business. I hope that you would try us again in the future.
F

RATED

10/06/2018

Would not return my calls. I guess my job was too small.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Install electrical outlets

CATEGORY electrician

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/06/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

I apologize about the lack of response. We had been experiencing some problems with our phone systems and it appears it took us a couple weeks to realize there was a problem. We have figured out the problem and taken care of the issue. We try to respond to every message we receive and pride ourselves on our customer service. I apologize that this was not your experience.
A

RATED

09/26/2018

Great! Efficient, on time, friendly, reliable, problem solving, helpful, tidy, skillful, beautiful work. Cared about our project. Very happy.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Project 1: Outdoor work to install pergola outlet involving excavation and digging of underground channel. Project 2: Reconnect old light socket covered by plaster, install new ground fault outlet, new dimmer switch and light fixture.

CATEGORY electrician

COST $1,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/08/2018

C

RATED

06/20/2018

The electrician showed up on time, but seemed to be taking his time with the work. That was frustrating because we were being charged by the hour. The woman I spoke to on the phone said the job shouldn’t take more than an hour and it took two hours so it was twice the cost we expected. When watching him do he work it felt like we could’ve done it ourselves and that his knowledge wasn’t much better...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Had some electrical problems with a ceiling fan/light fixture that we wanted removed. Also wanted a second fixture removed and both fixtures to be replaced with new ones that we bought.

CATEGORY electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

COST $320

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/15/2018

A

RATED

06/01/2018

It went very well. The electricians arrived on time, reviewed the buyer's requirements with me, evaluated our panels (main and sub), removed/repaired some corrosion (including painting), sealed where the service line enters the house, and updated 3 double-tapped breakers, and wrote up a nice summary on the invoice addressing the buyer's concerns.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We're selling our house and the buyer's home inspector couldn't get our electrical panels open, so the buyers wanted a Licensed Electrician to examine them and repair/replace any double-tapped breakers.

CATEGORY electrician

COST $170

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/31/2018

A

RATED

05/29/2018

service was great, it looks nice and they did what they said they gonna do.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They did 2 light fixtures replaced. They also did light switches, they fished wires to the ceiling to replaced pool chains with true light switches for a very reasonable price.

CATEGORY electrician

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/29/2015

A

RATED

05/12/2018

Friendly, professional, knowledgeable. Took time to explain the work. Estimate for the panel came in substantially lower than our other quote. Plus when Brothers was out for estimate, Kevin offered to fix a relatively simple (but way over our head) circuit issue in the kitchen that was frying appliances as a courtesy; the other company said it would cost us over $450 to repair!! Won our trust, and...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Updated electrical panel

CATEGORY electrician

COST $1,650

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/02/2018

A

RATED

05/08/2018

Had to come back with a second person. Felt I got charged twice.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
String a new electric line from the attic to a live line.

CATEGORY electrician

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/08/2018

A

RATED

03/22/2018

We moved into a new house and wanted dimmer switches on five of the light sets. They were efficient and got the job done in no time. Everything was cleaned up and it all works perfectly.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
install dimmer switches

CATEGORY electrician

COST $200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/07/2018

Services Offered

Residential & Commercial Electric Service – Rewiring, Inspections, Code Compliance, New Construction, Repairs & Remodeling, Housing Repairs, Service Upgrades, Outside Lighting, Lighting Retrofits, Drop Cords & Quad Boxes, & Machine & Equipment Wiring.

Services Not Offered

We do not provide estimates on repair work due to the investigation necessary to find the problem.

General Information
Free Estimates
Ask for details
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
NO
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Ask for details