Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers

A 66 Reviews

Founded 2002 • Angie's List since May 2013

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • MN-40126, WI-34707
  • Trade License Locale
  • Minnesota, Wisconsin
  • Trade License Authority
  • State Board of Engineers and Architects
  • Trade License Expiration
  • 1/1/2020
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

161 Dunbar Way

Mahtomedi, MN 55115

Old House Evaluation

Old House Evaluation

structural engineering202055416
For this house built in the 1880s, we were asked to check the following: i. The stability of the foundation walls and related systems. ii. The cracked parging on the exterior foundation walls. iii. Deteriorating floor supports visible in the basement. iv. A cracked rafter in the attic. Outline a plan to repair the rafter. v. Advice on routing the exhaust for the future high efficiency furnace and hot water heater. vi. Identify whether north/south running east wall of the kitchen is load bearing. vii. Identify whether east/west running wall between the den and the dining room is load bearing.

Description

Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers is a Minnesota engineering consulting firm that specializes in all aspects of building evaluation services for residential, commercial and industrial properties. We have established a professional reputation of integrity, honesty, thoroughness and a commitment to successful project completion that is unmatched....

Verified Reviews

66 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
61
B Rated
5
C Rated
0
D Rated
0
F Rated
0
Read reviews by category
structural engineering (65)home inspection (15)foundation repair (6)basement waterproofing (2)home remodeling (2)
Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews
A

RATED

08/10/2020

My project went great! I was considering the purchase of a very old duplex from a family member but had some concerns about the structural integrity of the foundation walls and some floor joists. Kenton took his time going through all the areas of concern, getting pretty dirty in the process as the basement had not seen a broom in some time! He documented everything, taking pictures, and I left hi...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Structural evaluation of old home

CATEGORY structural engineer

COST $1,100

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/14/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

This was an interesting and challenging one. I'm glad that we were able to provide you with some useful information. Let us know if we can be of service in the future. Thank you!
A

RATED

05/14/2020

Kenton was very professional, mindful of current health conditions, and extremely informative about the process.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Review and determine structural status of proposal site for rebuilding our garage.

CATEGORY structural engineer

COST $575

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/14/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide this nice review. We are happy to have been able to help you.
A

RATED

05/11/2020

The best money we've spent on our home has been the inspection we had with Criterium-Schimnowsky firm! Kenton Spading has a solid background and provided unbiased suggestions for improvements. In addition, to his professional engineering background, he was pleasant and explained concepts in laymen's terms. We would highly recommend these services.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Home inspection with specific concerns regarding foundation

CATEGORY home inspection,structural engineer,foundation repair

COST $575

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us - and we agree, Kenton is a key member of our team! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
A

RATED

04/15/2020

I was very fortunate to receive a same-day appointment with Steve Eberly and he even arrived early! Steve was thorough and informative with the limited visual inspection I had requested. He understood the urgency of my situation and was able to expedite the report later that afternoon. I will definitely use your services again in the future and recommend to friends and family.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Structural inspection

CATEGORY basement waterproofing,structural engineer

COST $575

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/10/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for the great review. We enjoyed working with you!
A

RATED

02/11/2020

Excellent would recommend. Very informative!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
structural evaluation

CATEGORY structural engineer

COST $575

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

We really appreciate the review and the opportunity to help you on your project. Thank you!
A

RATED

12/23/2019

Paul and his company were great to work with! I hired them to provide opinions on multiple structural changes to our house (removing/moving interior walls, removing attic trusses, and replacing a window/single swing door with a sliding door). Every step of the experience was smooth and efficient, from scheduling the appointment, having the inspection, receiving answers to my questions, and obtaini...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Removing/moving interior walls, removing attic trusses, and replacing a window/single swing door with a sliding door

CATEGORY structural engineer

COST $1,450

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/23/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

We truly appreciate the time you took to provide a review. Thank you for the opportunity to help!
A

RATED

09/13/2019

The engineer, Steve Eberly, arrived early and worked quickly but thoroughly to inspect the areas of concern that I had. He discussed his expected results and recommendations on sight with the caveat that the report would be the official result. The report was sent to me within days and was thorough and as expected. Excellent service and promptness.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
inspection of structural support that was showing wear.

CATEGORY structural engineer

COST $550

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/09/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! This is great to hear. We are very glad to have been able to help you.
A

RATED

07/11/2019

Steve came to check out one of our properties built in 1888. He was very knowledgeable and solution driven. He took his time to inspect the problems and was very thorough. He laid out different options for us, and made sure we understood why the recommended repairs were needed. Even explaining how the process of fixing the structure of the house would be like. Steve and his company were very respo...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Inspection of current foundation and structure

CATEGORY home inspection,structural engineer,foundation repair

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/11/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the great feedback! All of us here at Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers truly appreciate it.
A

RATED

05/20/2019

Steve was fantastic. He clearly explained everything, was very thorough and answered any questions I had. Would definitely use them for any future remodeling questions!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Structural review and report

CATEGORY remodeling,structural engineer,foundation repair

COST $600

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/16/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks for the review! We try to work hard everyday with great clients like you to provide professional, quality services.
A

RATED

11/25/2018

The inspector was on time and through. He walked through the space with us as he went and showed us what was important to watch and essential and nonessential repair recommendations. He made sure to explain everything throughly in person and in the report.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Basic Structural Inspection

CATEGORY structural engineer

COST $525

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/13/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

I'm glad that we were able to provide you with some valuable information about your home. Let us know if we can be of service in the future. Thanks!

Services Offered

Home Inspections. Structural Evaluations. Foundation Evaluations. Retaining Wall Designs & Evaluations. Residential. Commercial.

Services Not Offered

We don't do the repair work. We'll help you figure out what needs to be fixed. Then, we can consult with your contractor while they are completing the actual repairs.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
No