Get matched with top Garage Builders in Inver Grove Heights

There are 106 highly-rated local garage builders.

Join Angie's List Now To see all 106 highly rated companies in Inver Grove Heights

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Garage Builder Articles

Go to the article: 

How Much Does It Cost to Build a Garage?

.
home with attached one car garage
Go to the article: 

How to Build a Garage

.
Go to the article: 

How Much Do Storage Sheds Cost?

.
Cost to install a shed

Garage Building reviews in Inver Grove Heights

  • A
    PROGRESSIVE CONSTRUCTION
    Matt did a great job. I am really happy with the project. I have hired Radant once more since the shed project to replace all of the windows in my house. I've got 2 more projects that I am considering and will definitely check with Radant first.
    - Bennett B.
  • F
    Heinen Contracting Inc
    First question I asked was the first lie Greg told. When asked if the work was done in house with the use of no subcontractors as his company name leads me to believe that he contracts work and I did not want that. His answer was everything is taken care of in house. He subcontracted out almost everything except for the concrete installation. What is scary is he was not the lowest bid. Please, note that Greg will dispute EVERYTHING I say below with all kinds of excuses of why this or that happened but with more than 20 years of experience there should be a lot less mistakes, excuses, and more fixes when his subcontractors/employees mess up instead of disputing everything. Had I not noticed the errors they would have gone unchecked and probably has done several people wrong over the years with substandard work only because they don���t know better. I am still to this day(3/30/16) still finding and fixing errors. I 100% DO NOT recommend Heinen Contracting if you want it right done the first time and on time. I very highly recommend using someone else if you have no clue about general building and remodeling as he will easily be able to pull the wool over your eyes and give you a poor product. He was constantly arriving late and did not come when he said he would claiming his truck broke down but in the 7 months this project took his truck ���broke down��� three times. Every turn of this project was filled with delays, errors,and poor excuses from day one. Greg had a crew come out and remove a tree where the project was to occur. It was left a big mess with no regards for my neighbors. The limbs and trunk parts laid around for weeks before they moved on to the next phase of the project. The installed concrete slab looks good except for the two of the edges where the concrete forms for the slab installed were not very well secured and several slipped out causing uneven edges around the perimeter. When they were complete they did not build a raised base for my heat pump as I requested and the back corner was being pulled up by its attached copper lines. I ended up taking care of that myself as it needed to happen immediately. He thought it was just fine even though you could physically the back corner lifted up. When installing the concrete slab for the garage four things happened. -The neighbors garage did not have any footings so we had to cut a 6 inch x 6 inch hole under the length their slab to so the two walls would move in unison. This was expected but������.Greg tried to charged me $1500.00 for that work. It only took a couple hours of work and $30 worth of concrete. He said because of the weather he has to pay for an extra day for the skid loader he had out there and did not charge me for the mud removal.Funny thing is they scheduled the inspector that morning and did not even have the footings dug. I had to contact them to move the footing inspection back because the footings had not been dug yet and could have been done before rain if his planning wasn't so bad. This should have clued me in but it was early and hoped it was just a slip up. It is not okay to charge your customer because you do not own a tool. If you have to rent/buy a tool to get the job done it is not the customers cost. -They did not place the anchors high enough in the slab to go through the sole plate on the walls and half of them were leaning this way and that. This is not a big deal because you can install more after the fact but it is more evidence of poor craftsmanship. Plus I have permanent claw marks in the concrete that can be seen from the inside where someone dug into the concrete while making their poor attempt at setting the anchors. -The gas line they put in (gas contractor gave them the line to put in) was not placed a point far enough from the edge of the garage for the riser to be 100% inside of the sole plate of the wall. Another lapse in attention to detail. There were two framers plus their helpers that did the stick work. -They popped holes into my brand new slab to steady the walls as he put them up. Very big no no. I did not notice until later when the service door was installed that the walls were barely plumb within national guidelines for structural load bearing walls. This has made the service door extremely hard to plumb and will never be right. -The eaves they installed were not even close to where they needed to be in height and not level and had to be completely ripped off and were replaced by the second framer who appears to be getting very tired of having to clean up behind the first guy���s mistakes. One eave was level but install about 2 inches to low to meet up with my neighbors attached eave. Should have been obvious. After requesting they get fixed Greg told me the flashing will cover it up. I had to go beyond asking and was forced to tell Greg these were getting replaced. The second framer and his helpers had a great attitude and I am happy with his work. The only thing they did wrong was because of Greg not listening on how I wanted the gate to my fence built and some cosmetic errors that needed to be pointed out to them. Greg told him what I wanted was a section of fence that can be lifted out and not a swinging gate that can be lifted off. I even gave him examples of the lift off hinges that I wanted used in an Email. To make things simpler we agreed on a third option as this was one of the last things to go in and I was done with Heinen Contracting. Had the second framer/sider not made a couple craftsmanship errors on the siding and shingling I would have been extremely happy with his work. My garage is attached to my neighbors and the errors happened at the transition. They were caused by unnoticed framing mistakes that framer 1 made. Framer 2 repaired the errors but did not do it on his own as it had to be pointed out to him but they were easy fixes. The roof install was a nightmare. -I know I mentioned shingles but this is a flat roof with shingles around the perimeter. The rubber membrane was installed by someone who I don���t think has done it before. Greg said he was a professional roofer and maybe he can nail down some shingles but rubber not so much. After the roofer was out there I called Greg about issues with the roof bubbling up and asked him when the roofer was back out I wanted to be there because it needed to be fixed. Greg said the roofer was done andit was just gassing off. -Membranes when adhered properly do not ���gas off��� causing blisters like he suggests. These bubbles will eventually become a cause for concern over the years for leaks and premature failure of the membrane. I gave up trying to get him to fix it. The membrane was not installed by manufacturer directions and it was poorly adhered to the substrate. There is supposed to be a special tape that is used to seal the seams together. -Now to Greg���s credit there were both the seam tape that goes in between the edges and the seam tape that goes over the top of seams and fixtures was available for the roofer to use.  The roofer did not use either.  

    Where Greg failed was arguing with me about doing it properly until I told him that the city inspector was going to reject the roof if it was not properly installed and all of a sudden he was playing ball. Suddenly the roofer was not done like he previously said and will be out to fix the seams. -There was a huge ponding problem with the roof. Greg said the ponding was normal and indicated he was not going to fix it. It is an industry standard that when water does not evaporate within 48 hours is not an okay amount of ponding on a roof. I had a 19 foot by 3 foot pool on my roof that did shrink a little but did not evaporate within the 48 hour standard and was going strong after 72 hours. I was forced to re-slope that area myself at a time when it would be easy enough and now the pond is gone. Guess what...no bubbles, perfect seams, and it passed inspection. No contractor likes this so I don���t suggest it but it saved me time, money, and effort having to deal with Greg or finding another contractor to do the work and then billing Greg. So Greg used this as an excuse for something else that his roofer could not do as asked but we will get to that. When the scupper (drain at edge of roof) was installed I asked that is was carefully installed to avoid more ponding it did not go as I hoped. The edge where the scupper meets the roof was at least ��� of an inch higher than the lowest part of the roof. The reason this occurred is the roofer did not account for all of the 4 layers of rubber, properly tapering those layers so that area would not be higher than parts of the roof that are 3 feet away, and then not making sure the scupper cutout was low enough. Greg said the reason he could not get it lower was because my roof modification would cause the rubber to be stretched and cause failure. Not the case but he will tell you whatever he can to shut you up and it's still not fixed right They did wipe away $4000 from the bill after I proved to them the over billed me based on the estimate.
    - Nathan H.
  • F
    Western Construction, Inc.
    We were doing research on companies that can insulate, heat and raise the headers of our three car garage that is in great condition and only 12 years old.  We found Western Construction on Angies list and saw they specialized in garages so figured it wouldn't hurt to contact them to see if they could do the heating, insulation and header work since they say they do additions, etc.
    Here is the owner's reply to our request.
    "We don?t do the kind of repairs you?re looking for. We?ll be glad to tear it down and start over! Thanks, Bradley ChazinPresidentWestern Construction, Inc.952-920-8888 "
    Seriously???

    - Daniel M.
  • D
    Northrup Remodeling, Roofing & Exteriors
    After initial contact we were told someone would get in touch with us to make  an appointment to go over our project.  After a week with no call we re-initiated contact while expressing a little disgust asking  when we would be contacted just to make an initial appointment.  We then quickly were called and had an appointment for the following week with reassurance that this is not how they normally how they do business.  
    Our appointment came and went.  We were now waiting for a bid from them for how much they would charge for the project.  Two weeks later we sent them a message that we are no longer interested in their service as they show little concern for our project. We were told it would take a week to get back to us.  Everyone else we have requested bids from were able to keep that timeline.  
    We received a call the following morning saying they could get someone out immediately to look over our project by someone who obviously had no idea that someone else had already been at our home to discuss the project with us.  This person told us there must be a mistake with the email address they have for us as it was unlikely to him that no one got back to us. A couple hours after telling this person on the phone that we had no interest in them ever doing any work for us we received an email stating that they could not do the project at a competitive cost.  Maybe they feel like they did there part by pretending that they actually put any effort into us when they now magically had a good email for us.
    We cannot speak to the quality of any work they might have done but they were fired before they even got a bid to us for very poor customer service.  I have a feeling this how they normally do business.
    - Nathan H.
  • A
    THE SHED SHOP
    In less than two weeks after the initial visit, I had the old shed removed and JN came out with his crew to build the new one. I wanted the ramp and door to one side and an overhang to one side. I wanted shelving. I did not need a new foundation. They built the new shed on the old concrete foundation. They did a great job, material quality is excellent. It is a tightly sealed unit. The ramp to the door is slanted and snow is easily removed. Lock is very good quality. Hooks on doors are easy to use so doors don't blow around. I am happy to pay the price for such quality and prompt service.
    - alice l.
  • A
    Kern Company LLC
    This job went great. Ran into issues with the outside wall behind the tub not being insulated and a rotted out floor. Great communication on any issues and any changes in the work. We had requested a difficult tile design and Kerry worked with it and got it correct! The job took about 3 extra days due to the issues, but they kept the job site clean and cleaned up after they were done.
    - Craig H.
  • A
    Western Construction, Inc.
    WOW! I can't stop looking at my garage and feel so good about it. What a difference it made to our home and increased the value. We had obtained several bids from other companies and decided to go with Western Construction. It was one of the lower bids and Brad was very knowledgeable has been around for many years. It was our best decision made. From the very beginning to the very end, the president, Brad Chazin, the contractors and clean up crew were all very professional and courteous. There was no waiting around. The crews were always prompt and the job was completed as scheduled. (Just in time for my husbands surprise birthday party that was held in our new garage. He was so proud!) Brad Chazin even stopped by after the job was completed without our request to make sure we were satisfied with the work. I have and will continue to recommend Western Construction, Inc to everyone in the market for their building needs. Thank you, Brad and crew!
    - Cathy J.
  • A
    Zellner Construction & Remodeling LLC
    I found Zellner Construction & Remodeling LLC last year when my wife and I had our home resided and all windows replaced. Mike Zellner was the sub contractor who installed my Marvin windows. I was impressed with Mikes work and his craftmanship. I went to the MN. Dept of Labor website and found that Mike had his own business. This year I called Mike and asked if I could get some bids on a new composite deck and a backyard tool shed I learned that Mike was also a local resident just living a couple miles away. The first job was my composite deck. Mike was very helpful and answered all our questions. Due to alot of rainy days, the deck finally got completed. The added touch was matching solar powered post caps that look beautiful at night. Mike took the extra effort and went hunting at Menards and brought us several styles to look at. After the deck was completed, the next project was the backyard tool shed. The tool shed came out great and was completed just a few days ago. The tool shed is a barn type style with two lofts for additional storage space. All I have to do is paint it. My wife was very happy with the results, and if she is happy, then everything is all right. I plan on hiring Mike and his partner Steve for more projects coming up.
    - OCTAVIO R.
  • A
    Great Northern Builders LLC
    Great Northern Builders completed our job with great communication, excellent quality work. We had a completely positive experience from punctuality to professionalism!
    - Pamela R.
  • A
    THE SHED SHOP
    unknown
    - Rita C.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Garage Builders in Inver Grove Heights

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!