Northstar Heating and Cooling

A16 REVIEWS

Founded 1999 • Angie's List since February 2012

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2018

Service Categories

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Company Contact

11 E Highway 61

Esko, MN 55733

Description

WHY PEOPLE CHOOSE US NORTHSTAR Heating & Cooling was established over 17 years ago and has been providing professional heating and air conditioning services to homeowners ever since. Your home's heating and air conditioning system does not run only on a 9 to 5 schedule and neither do we. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, all year round. When you need help... you need help, not just when it's convenient for your service company....

Verified Reviews

16 Total Reviews
Read reviews by category
Heating and Air Conditioning (16)
Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews
A

RATED

01/21/2020

Out with the old, in with the new...furnace that is! Keith & Ethan from Northstar Service in Esko MN did a stellar job in 3 hours & 40 minutes! My Warranty covers me for LIFE! The City Inspector came & inspected it...”great job”! I’m very thankful! Now I have heat even though the sunshine is pouring in through the windows! Gorgeous day in MN! 🤩 ☀️ 🌞 🔥 Thank you Northstar! 🤗 👏🏻

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace Forced Air Furnace

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $4,250

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/13/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

We would just like to say thank you [Member Name Removed] for giving us the opportunity to come to your home and replace your heating system. We appreciate your business. Welcome to the Northstar Family.
A

RATED

12/17/2019

Tech was on time, professional and knowledgeable.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Furnace inspection and cleaning

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/17/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your kind words [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate it!
A

RATED

06/13/2019

It was an excellent service. The were responsive and have a good product. They responded right away, knowledgeable and friendly. Pretty good financial plan.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
New boiler and furnace.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/13/2018

B

RATED

08/02/2018

Went well. I thought what they charge for the refrigerant was a little high, but I am no expert. Service call was $99, $200 for said refrigerant. He did replace the insulation around the coolant transport pipe and didn't charge me. I received what I requested; the Gentleman was nice, respectful, and even wore those protective shoe coverings when he came in my house.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
A/C Maintenance and added R22 refrigerant

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $299

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/27/2018

A

RATED

01/12/2018

On 1/9/18 I contacted the company to inspect my older furnace, due an odd noise in the blower motor, which went away shortly after making the call. A technician arrived that same day, inspected the heat chamber for cracks, performed Co2 , heat temperature rise and pressure tests and determined there was nothing wrong. Because the furnace was 35 years old I decided that it was time to upgrade, anyw...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Furnace installation

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $3,239

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/11/2018

A

RATED

11/20/2017

Service was great, everything was performed in the same day. Everyone was very professional and courtious. I would recommend them to anyone for all your HVAC needs.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Converting fuel oil furnace to natural gas furnace.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/17/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much for your business [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure being able to help your family with your new heating system.
A

RATED

10/05/2017

Efficient, professional, and reliable.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
I am a real estate agent, so I refer Travis to clients all the time for their heating and cooling needs!

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/26/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the awesome review!! We appreciate the business, if there is snything we can do for you just let us know.
A

RATED

05/30/2017

The work done was excellent, with great communication before and during. The crew was very professional and clean and my house is cooler with the new high efficiency AC unit.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Full replacement of forced air furnace and air conditioner.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $8,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/01/2016

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed], Egan is a little farther than we normally service, but it was a pleasant experience for us also. Thank you so much for allowing to complete the project!
A

RATED

01/27/2017

It went amazing ! I would definitely hire them again and I would also highly recommend them to close friends and family .

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Our furnace went out and was red tagged . They can and replaced the furnace and made sure we amhad heat.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $4,050

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/11/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed], red tags are always frustrating. IM so glad you trusted us to help in your time of need. Thank you so much for the kind words!!
A

RATED

01/10/2017

We were having an issue with our house not heating up and so I called Jim at Northstar Heating and Cooling. He was super busy but was able to find a  time that worked for both his and our schedule. Jim cam over and listened to what we were dealing with and then asked some questions. Once we were done talking he took the time to look at our whole heating system and figured out that we had a two sta...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We were having an issue with our house not heating up and so I called Jim at Northstar Heating and Cooling. He was super busy but was able to find a  time that worked for both his and our schedule. Jim cam over and listened to what we were dealing with and then asked some questions. Once we were done talking he took the time to look at our whole heating system and figured out that we had a two stage furnace and that it was not installed correctly. After that we talked about some upgrades that we might be wanting to do, he then checked the furnace one more time before he left. I would tell anyone that wants to talk with a very knowledgeable  heating and cooling person Jim would be the one to talk with. 

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/22/2016

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks [Member Name Removed], glad I could help out. Thanks for the great review!!

Services Offered

Heating Systems Air Conditioning Systems Indoor Air Quality System Tune-Up & Safety Check Dual Fuel Hybrid Heating & Air Conditioning Systems Ductless Split Heating & Air Conditioning Systems

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Licensed
Yes
Bonded
Yes
Insured
Yes
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.