Van Tuinen Painting

A 45 Reviews

Founded 1974 • Angie's List since July 2008

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Company Contact

5035 Meredith

Portage, MI 49002

Description

For over 40 years, Van Tuinen Painting has earned a reputation as one of Southwest Michigan's leading residential painting contractors. Our painters understand that they are guests at your home. They treat your property with respect. The Van Tuinen Painting Advantage means: Thorough surface preparation — the key to a superior job. Top-quality Benjamin Moore, Pratt & Lambert paints — nothing but the best for your home. Recent and long-term references since 1974 speak to our track record. We will not request a deposit. We request payment only when the job is complete and you're 100% satisfied. On time, communicating with you daily — our painters will make your house shine again. We guarantee you will love our work. We subscribe to the highest standards of performance in our profession....

Verified Reviews

45 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
35
B Rated
5
C Rated
3
D Rated
0
F Rated
2
Read reviews by category
house painting (32)interior painting (22)woodworking (5)pressure washing (5)deck cleaning (3)wallpaper removal (3)deck building (3)cabinet refacing (1)furniture refinishing (1)drywall repair (1)general contracting (1)
Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews
A

RATED

12/06/2019

We have a kitchen and eating area that has a cathedral ceiling and some tricky areas to work with. The room was wallpapered. Rob from Van Tuinin had the job of removing all the wallpaper and painting the rooms. Rob did an outstanding job for us.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Wallpaper removal and paint kitchen and eating area

CATEGORY wallpaper removal,interior painters

COST $2,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/02/2019

F

RATED

04/04/2018

We scheduled an appointment for an estimate for an interior painting job. The soonest appointment was for about one week out from the day I called. I got a call cancelling our estimate late afternoon just before when they were supposed to come saying they’re too busy and aren’t coming at all. This is a time critical job for selling our home. I was livid.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Interior painting

CATEGORY house painters,interior painters

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/04/2018

A

RATED

03/30/2018

great, I have made arrangements for more painting to be done

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
painting a very large area in my home

CATEGORY interior painters

COST $5,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/15/2018

A

RATED

09/02/2017

This was the second time we have used Van Tuinen for a project (the first was drywall repair and paint). Nick and his team were fantastic both times, thorough, on time, polite, and great attention to detail and clean-up before, during, and after the job.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Scraped, sanded, and stained/ painted a deck.

CATEGORY deck cleaning,house painters

COST $1,600

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/01/2017

A

RATED

07/02/2017

Van Tuinen did a spectacular job painting our home.  all prep work done conscientiously and we are pleased with the whole project

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
whole house exterior painted

CATEGORY house painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/02/2017

A

RATED

04/16/2017

Very professional-on time, under estimate, all services done as per quote, quality work, kept the site clean before, during, after, friendly and helpful. Outstanding job-rooms look wonderful!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remove wallpaper, prepare walls for paint, paint trim, baseboard, chair rail, crown molding, walls, ceiling

CATEGORY house painters

COST $8,400

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/10/2017

A

RATED

12/15/2016

Nick did a thorough and accurate proposal; Jason and his team were friendly and attentive to detail; everything was done on time and beyond expectation.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repaired drywall and painted.

CATEGORY interior painters

COST $1,750

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/23/2016

A

RATED

07/24/2016

Excellent! On time, on budget and great people on the crew.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Painted entire exterior of our house plus some interior rooms.

CATEGORY house painters,interior painters

COST $20,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/01/2016

A

RATED

07/07/2016

Very professional, friendly, cleaned up.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Complete exterior painted, interior-2 bedrooms, touch up throughout.

CATEGORY house painters,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/29/2016

A

RATED

06/12/2016

Painter James was punctual and professional. This firm has a well – deserved good reputation.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Refinish / varnish doors.

CATEGORY furniture repair

COST $1,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/26/2016

Services Offered

Residential and commercial interior & exterior painting, staining, wallpaper removal, varnishing, lacquering, drywall repair, plaster repair, cabinet refinishing, pressure washing & deck cleaning.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
No