Metropolitan Moving & Storage

A 437 Reviews

Founded 2003 • Angie's List since May 2006

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Company Contact

13230 Mid Atlantic Blvd.

Laurel, MD 20708

Description

Metropolitan Moving is owned by two native Washingtonians. Our experienced staff takes pride in handling every move with the highest level of care and service. We assign a moving consultant for each customer who will provide a written estimate, discuss and clarify the details of the estimate, address any questions you may have regarding the move, and provide support throughout the process. Additional phone - (703) 837-0091. Additional email - jmccarty@dcmetropolitanmoving.com. Additional contact name - Justin McCarty (General Manager)....

Verified Reviews

437 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
400
B Rated
19
C Rated
12
D Rated
3
F Rated
3
Read reviews by category
moving (435)storage unit (42)piano moving (35)muralist (35)antique store (27)
Showing 1-10 of 437 reviews
A

RATED

09/18/2020

Amazingly! You hear about moving horror stories but not with these guys. Everything was spot on, everyone was so courteous. They worked at a record pace and didn't break or damage anything. I can't stop talking about what an amazing experience it was. I can't recommend them enough.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Moved from one house to another

CATEGORY moving companies,antiques

COST $1,800

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/09/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

You're great review means alot! Thank you for your business. Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

09/15/2020

We have used Metro. twice now. We would use nothing but superlatives to describe our experience with this company. They are the best at what they do and they are transparent. Hopefully we wont be moving for a long time, but if we do, they are the only company that we would trust to provide a moving service.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Metropolitan movers packed our belongings and moved them.

CATEGORY moving companies,antiques,muralist,storage units,piano moving

COST $5,200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/18/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks so much for the great review and repeat business! Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

09/09/2020

Metropolitan Movers were efficient, professional, responsive, and accurate. The crew was respectful of social distancing guidelines and receptive to guidance around how items should be labeled or delivered. There were no issues with broken or lost items and they were punctual to pick up and delivery. We would definitely use them again or recommend to others!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Move from Boston to Maryland

CATEGORY moving companies

COST $4,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/06/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the great review. Welcome to Maryland! Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

09/03/2020

Metropolitan Moving & Storage did a fantastic job with my move during the pandemic. We were able to do the estimate "walk" virtually via video chat. The price was fair and estimate accurate. My building changed the move date a few days before the move. Metropolitan worked with me to accommodate the change. It required two move dates and a stop at a storage facility. Metropolitan moving worked out ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Moving during the pandemic

CATEGORY moving companies,antiques,storage units

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/17/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the kind words. Trusting us with your friends is a major compliment. Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

08/29/2020

They were great. They were able to give us a good estimate through a facetime tour of our house. The men arrived on time and were professional and experienced. Covid safety precautions were followed through the entire day. I definately recommend this company for moving.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We used Metropolitan Moving and Storage for a local move of a full house.

CATEGORY antiques

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/29/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for the review AND thank you for referring your friend! Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

08/25/2020

All went well. The men were punctual, hardworking, stayed on task, and were very polite and courteous. I couldn’t have been more satisfied!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Moving household furniture, etc out-of-state

CATEGORY moving companies,antiques,muralist,storage units,piano moving

COST $3,900

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/27/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your business and the great review. I hope all is well in Ohio! Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

08/22/2020

Outstanding!!!! I would never use anyone else to move my items. Metropolitan is fantastic! From the quote to the actual move, this is the most professional company ever! Cassie is superb! She keeps you informed about everything. Very happy!!!!!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Moved from our townhouse to a home

CATEGORY moving companies,antiques

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/22/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Wow, thanks for the glowing review. Yes, Cassie is the best! Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

08/22/2020

It was a great experience. The team was professional, fast and kind. They were clearly experts and didn't even balk at my narrow spiral staircase. Thank you for taking the stress out of moving!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Moving in DC Metro Area

CATEGORY moving companies

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/18/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your business. We're always up for a challenge! Warm regards, Justin McCarty GM
A

RATED

08/05/2020

The crew was prompt, professional, and efficient. They moved us in late May during the pandemic and reasonably observed all precautions (gloves, masks, distancing from us while in the same space). I would hire again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Move from Washington, DC to Brooklyn, NY

CATEGORY moving companies

COST $4,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/23/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you! We feel very fortunate to be able to still service our clients and are doing everything we can to keep it that way! Warm regards, Justin McCarty General Manager
A

RATED

07/23/2020

It couldn't have gone better. The packers were early, handled my belongings with care and wrapped everything so well that not one single item was broken. In addition to household good sand furniture, they moved over 100 paintings and they came through without a scratch. They lifted boxes I would never have thought they could get off the ground. They never stopped to take a break other than to get ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Packed and moved belongings in a 3 story house

CATEGORY moving companies,muralist,piano moving

COST $3,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/28/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

I'm thrilled you appreciated our work. Thank you so much for your business. Warm regards, Justin

Services Offered

Residential & commercial local & long distance moving & relocation. Packing & unpacking. Crating. Short & long term storage. Piano moving.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
8%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No