Real Dry Waterproofing - Scituate

A 61 Reviews

Founded 1982 • Angie's List since December 2007

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Company Contact

36 Tichnor Pl

Scituate, MA 02066

Description

Family owned business since 1982 and 2016 Angie's List Super Service Award winner. All long term employees, no salesman and the two owners are on every job. We do not sub-contract unless it is a field of expertise outside of our field of business. We do offer financing and payment plans....

Verified Reviews

61 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
49
B Rated
2
C Rated
5
D Rated
0
F Rated
5
Read reviews by category
basement waterproofing (55)drain pipe installation (15)well and water pump (13)foundation repair (9)excavating (8)concrete repair (8)mold removal (6)stone and gravel (2)mudjacking (1)concrete driveway installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
F

RATED

05/30/2020

Curt e-mailed that he would call to set up an appointment. He never called nor responded to an e-mail.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Asked for a quote for Basement Waterproofing

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/30/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

At Real Dry, we do our best to respond to all customer leads and inquiries within 24 to 48 hours. As an essential business, we are currently operating with a slightly reduced staff due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Nevertheless, we DID reply to Mr. [Member Name Removed] inquiry within 2 days. Apparently, this was not sufficient for Mr. [Member Name Removed], and when we did reach him – in a direct pho...
A

RATED

11/03/2018

I have nothing but good things to say about Curt Guenther and Real Dry. This was a complicated project that was well-executed for a reasonable fee. I got a few quotes on the project before proceeding and had all kinds of conflicting advice and a lot of concern from the competing contractors on the difficulty and complexity of the work. Bear in mind that our crawlspace has four separate interior ar...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remove all old fiberglass insulation between the floor joists that are the ‘roof’ of the crawl space, remove all other debris, and rake the floor level. Note that a lot of large rocks had to be removed which was difficult and back-breaking work. Repair a crack in one of the foundation walls. Pour a new reinforced footing under a different wall. Seal a square opening in the foundation where a drain pipe passes through the wall below grade. Replace several lally columns and install 2 new lally columns with new footings. Seal all the crawlspace vents Install a vapor barrier over the floor and up the walls to just under the sill. Install a commercial dehumidifier. Frame and build a new crawlspace entry door to be exceptionally strong and watertight.

CATEGORY concrete repair,basement waterproofing,foundation repair

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/23/2018

A

RATED

12/31/2017

Excellent. Josh and team were great.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Basement waterproofing and refinishing.

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/15/2017

A

RATED

10/24/2017

curt was excellent to work with for the project. curt worked both days with his crew to install an inside French drain. It made it easy to ask questions with owner present. Have not had any heavy rains yet to test the system but curt has given us his guarantee that system will work.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
needed to solve the problem of water in our basement.

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/02/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

I enjoyed working for the [Member Name Removed] family. They had other options, but they went with the most experienced company (1981-82) and we appreciate that. I was fortunate to be on this job site the entire time and work directly with the homeowners.
A

RATED

09/05/2017

Kurt called within one day of my reaching out for an estimate. We scheduled an evaluation which took place the next day. The day after the drainage system was put in, we had 2.5" of rain and we had no water in our basement. We were getting water in almost any time we had a moderate rain, The workers were friendly, did a very neat job and totally cleaned the area when the job was complete.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We had water coming in the basement in the area of the bulkhead.

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

COST $2,170

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/24/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

The Kniefs were easy to work with and understood our passive approach to controlling the water. We are pleased the solution worked and appreciate the feedback from the clients. Curt
A

RATED

08/14/2017

Curt gave an estimate which was reasonsble and worked started on schedule and was done in range given. The workers were efficient, cleaned up rubble, dirt and even removed some broken cement from old work in yard.  Work was done when promised.  The workers worked hard keeping a leasant attitude.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Drying a basement and installing drains, pump and pipes to a bubbler in the yard.

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/14/2017

A

RATED

07/30/2017

Curt was responsive and his team was on time and did great work. The basement leaked a little a day after it was installed and Curt sent his team out to add to a section. He got right back to me and addressed it right away. Would recommend. They were clean and efficient and you wouldn't know they dug in my back yard.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Exterior partial French drain (50 feet) with pipes running to a well installed in yard

CATEGORY basement waterproofing,wells,drain pipe

COST $4,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/19/2017

C

RATED

07/14/2017

It has not been really good. The came for the original request which was a water leak in the basement. I called them, the guy Kurt came and did the evaluations. The first time was great. We agreed on the price. After that, he sent someone out to do that. But during the time, we had some conversations. During our communications, I switched but they did not commit to do that. After the job, there wa...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
.

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/15/2017

A

RATED

06/28/2017

Curt and his crew arrived as promised, lined the crawlspace, shored up the insulation, and completed the rest of the work over 3 days; they left everything neat and clean. We now have a sealed crawlspace with a crawlspace-specific dehumidifier that turns itself on periodically (it's on a humidistat). Even after rainstorms, the crawlspace stays dry. A job well done, definitely worth the money!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We have a complex, tight crawlspace: two different depths - ca 3', and ca 18", with geometry reflecting the fact that the house was added on to and expanded over the years. This crawlspace was never really dry, since the cooler temperatures under the house led to condensation from the moist air outside. We wanted to not have the house rot out from under us, and I wanted to stop having to deal with the wet crawlspace. RealDry solved our problems: Curt came over and measured the crawlspace, promptly provided a fair quote (considering all of the work involved), and we scheduled the work for the summer.

CATEGORY basement waterproofing

COST $6,900

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/28/2017

A

RATED

04/10/2017

It went well. Working with Curt was great. A little less than a year after the completion, the sum pump stopped working. Curt came out to replace it immediately. Overall, they did great work. My only suggestion and this is not specific to this company but for all contract work is to not pay the last installment until you live with the end product for at least a week.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Our unfinished basement was dugout, french drain redone, and cemented.

CATEGORY concrete repair,excavators,basement waterproofing,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/15/2016

Services Offered

Basement Waterproofing, Foundation Repair, Crack Repair, Mold Removal, Sump Pumps, Backup Systems, Crawl Space Repair, Outside Drainage, Floor & Wall Coatings.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal, Financing
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes