Horizon Chimney Services Inc

A 163 Reviews

Founded 2009 • Angie's List since June 2009

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • MA HIC# 163598 MA CSL#099139 CSIA Cert. # 5731
  • Trade License Locale
  • Massachusetts
  • Trade License Authority
  • Comm. of Massachusetts, Building regulations
  • Trade License Expiration
  • 08/13/2021
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

PO Box 224

Franklin, MA 02038

Description

Family owned & operated. A CSIA Certified technician is present on every service call. Multiple year Super Service Award winner. We provide all facets of chimney maintenance to our many satisfied customers in MA&RI: Chimney cleaning, chimney liner installation, chimney cap sales and installation, chimney waterproofing, damper installations and flashing repairs. Wood, pellet and gas stoves installation and Masonry repairs. Massachusetts HIC license #163598, MA Construction Supervisors License #99139. Rhode Island contractors license #38641 and RI Decorative heat license #8319. No travel charges. See coupons for special offers for Angies List members. Additional emails - info@horizonchimney.com. Additional Service Areas: Central and Northern Rhode Island...

Verified Reviews

163 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
153
B Rated
5
C Rated
3
D Rated
0
F Rated
2
Read reviews by category
chimney sweeping (133)chimney repair (72)chimney cap repair (55)fireplace repair (33)masonry (8)hvac repair (3)animal removal (1)basement waterproofing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 163 reviews
A

RATED

05/15/2020

It went fantastic, they were quick to respond and get out to the house to quote us on the work. It ended being a lot of work but they stuck to the range of the initial quote and did an excellent job on all fronts. I will certainly be going with them for any future chimney needs!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney rebuild, chimney sweep, chimney cap installation, and heating exhaust changes

CATEGORY chimney sweep,heating & air conditioning/hvac,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

COST $10,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/15/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
B

RATED

03/06/2020

They were very nice. The office was responsive to requests and accommodating to changes. The guys even had dog treats for the dogs! Definitely recommend. A-/B+ rating!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Relining the furnace chimney

CATEGORY chimney sweep,chimney repair

COST $3,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/04/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and positive feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
A

RATED

11/18/2019

Cleaned chimney flue used by woodstove, installed new stainless flue liner, repaired mortar and replaced tile caps on one chimney. Replaced broken slate cap on the other chimney. Installed new stainless steel caps on both. Accommodated my tight time schedule and did a good job.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Flue liner and two chimney caps installed

CATEGORY chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair

COST $5,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/08/2019

Images

Photo for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 38239212

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
A

RATED

08/13/2019

Derek and his crew are extremely professional, and knowledgeable, and courteous. Their workmanship is top notch and customer service is excellent!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
New flue liners, chimney caps, and installing a wood fireplace insert

CATEGORY chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

COST $14,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/13/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the kind words and great report! We hope you enjoy the wood stove and that it provides lots of warmth to your home this coming winter. We truly appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
C

RATED

02/27/2019

When Derek came and bid on the job, he was understandably apprehensive about what might lurk behind the fireplace on the wall and under the fireplace on the floor. Unfortunately, I signed the contract too quickly, assuming it was "worst case" price and neither read nor understood sufficiently, thinking the price included the stove. The long and short is I paid $24,420 for the removal of old firepl...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
removal of fireplace + installation of wood burning stove

CATEGORY chimney repair,fireplaces

COST $24,420

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/27/2019

Images

Photo for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 37735864
A

RATED

01/08/2019

Another company had installed a flu liner, but it was too narrow to accommodate a wood fire. That company had recommended a flu vent fan, but I sought a second opinion. Derek did a thorough assessment of our fireplace/chimney situation, and advised a gas fire log set as the least costly and safest option. I was dubious at first about the aesthetics of a gas log, but the RealFyre set looks great an...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Fireplace restoration

CATEGORY masonry,chimney repair,fireplaces

COST $5,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/08/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the kind words and for submitting the great report. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your new gas fireplace. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
A

RATED

12/14/2018

I received a message in response to my quote request sent late on a day, and a phone call the following morning. A service visit was arranged for that day, as one of their servicemen happened to be in my area. He arrived as notified, and proceeded to put the damper back on (- no new replacement needed. So, no charge), and to install a brand-new chimney cap. All work was completed, and it was not e...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney Cap and Fireplace damper replacement

CATEGORY chimney caps,fireplaces

COST $540

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/13/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report! We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our prompt service and truly appreciate the business. We look forward to servicing your chimney in the future. All the best, Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services
A

RATED

10/25/2018

The technician was very knowledgeable and kept everything clean. Would definitely recommend their services.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney cleaning and chimney cap

CATEGORY chimney sweep,chimney caps

COST $229

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/17/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future!
A

RATED

10/03/2018

Technician was on time, friendly, and completed the job 100%

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Chimney clean and Fireplace clean

CATEGORY chimney sweep

COST $375

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/03/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for submitting the great feedback and report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
A

RATED

09/22/2018

Derek showed up on time and performed an excellent job cleaning our chimney after a season of burning a cord of wood. He saw some items that should be addressed due to deterioration. He was thorough with his analysis and very professional. I highly recommend Horizon Chimney Services, Inc. We've used them now for our past 3 cleanings and are very happy with the service they provide.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Cleaned Chimney

CATEGORY chimney sweep

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/15/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the great report and review! We appreciate your continued business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.

Services Offered

Chimney Sweeping; Fireplaces, Wood and pellet stove flues, Oil and Gas Furnace Flue Cleanings. Chimney Relining, Chimney Caps, Level I & II Inspections & Video Analysis. Damper installation. Wood, Pellet & Gas Stove Sales & Installation. Animal Removal. Waterproofing. Masonry and crown Repairs.

Services Not Offered

Air duct cleaning.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes