Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA

A 12 Reviews

Founded 1984 • Angie's List since September 2009

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 026
  • Trade License Locale
  • State of Missouri
  • Trade License Authority
  • Division of Professional Registration of the State of Missouri
  • Trade License Expiration
  • 20171231
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Hours are not available for this pro right now. Please check back later.

Company Contact

unknown

Prairie Village, KS 66208

Description

Landscape Design and Consulting. Licensed Landscape Architect/Owner operated. 40+ Years experience in all types of Design; Planting Design, Hardscape, Pools, Fountains, Decks, Outdoor Living, Landscape Lighting, and the BEST contacts for subcontractor installation. I charge by the hour for my services. No additional travel or service charges throughout the KC Metro Area. Contact me by Phone, email or my Website. Regular host on the Toby Tobin Show on Saturday mornings....

Verified Reviews

12 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
11
B Rated
1
C Rated
0
D Rated
0
F Rated
0
Read reviews by category
landscaping (12)architect (1)
Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews
A

RATED

04/28/2020

Rick Barret is the best at his job and very knowledgeable in his field would highly recommend him for any landscaping designs and plant selection

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Landscaping

CATEGORY landscaper,architect

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/28/2020

A

RATED

09/16/2016

Rick was timely, very professional, great ideas, and affordable.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Landscape Architectual plans for our home.

CATEGORY landscaper

COST $125

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/16/2016

A

RATED

11/18/2015

unknown

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
unknown

CATEGORY landscaper

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/17/2014

A

RATED

08/03/2015

We have had bad experiences with two previous people who were reportedly landscape experts.  We were very disappointed with their knowledge of plants and work performed.  Richard, on the other hand, repeatedly returned our emails and phone calls promptly.  His landscape plan was exactly what we wanted--beautiful low maintenance plants that do well.  He coordinated a visit with his landscape contra...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Submitted a landscape plan for our yard.  Coordinated meeting with landscape contractor to complete the job

CATEGORY landscaper

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/15/2015

B

RATED

11/19/2012

Richard seemed to be very competent.  We didn't communicate very well at first, but it was mutual, not totally his fault.  In the end, things worked out OK.  Be sure you are very clear about what you want, and ask questions.  He is honest and well-intentioned, very knowledgeable.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Landscaping proposal

CATEGORY landscaper

COST $700

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/01/2011

A

RATED

04/13/2012

Rick toured our whole yard, front and back last March 2011 and this March 2012.  I pointed out areas of concern and he made suggestions and options for those areas.  He sketched out ideas for different areas of our yard. The consultation took about one hour. We planted specific plants and followed his recommendations in different parts of our yard last spring.  We have his recommendations from his...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We used Rick's services strictly as landscaping consultation.  He toured our front and back yard and gave us suggestions, options and sketches for our problem areas.  It took about an hour each time.  We used Rich in early March 2011 and in March this year, also.

CATEGORY landscaper

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/01/2012

A

RATED

03/01/2012

Provided a lot of valuable information for the time and money spent; Evaluated the landscape and provided recommendations about how to properly care for current landscape specimens and also about future plantings;  Would recommend planning for 2 hours if have a larger yard

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Evaluation of existing landscape to provide recommendations for future improvements

CATEGORY landscaper

COST $90

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/10/2012

A

RATED

08/08/2010

Very professional. Punctual. Did exactly as stated. Very knowledgeable and professional. Only decided not to use him because we went with landscaper who also did organic plantings.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Gave overview and consultation for landscaping ideas. This was just a 1 hour walk through.

CATEGORY landscaper

COST $100

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/07/2010

A

RATED

06/15/2010

We have no complaints about this company at all. Their work has been great. Their price was fine, and their quality is good to. We would use them again in the future.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They have been out for multiple project, some general landscaping.

CATEGORY landscaper

COST $250

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/15/2010

A

RATED

09/08/2009

Absolutely great. My highest praise is that he listened to what we wanted and then successfully converted our non-expert opinions into a cohesive plan. Very knowledgeable about not only what looks great, but also what species and even varieties do well in the local area.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Rick prepared a comprehensive landscaping plan for our house taking into account entrance/exits, a new pool, conversion of the deck to a patio, outdoor kitchen, new planting beds, plant selection, etc... Deliverables included drawings and specifications necessary to perform the work.

CATEGORY landscaper

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/04/2009

Services Offered

Landscape Architectural Design & Consulting including installation subcontracting.

Services Not Offered

I do not sell plants or have installers under my employ. I do offer both services as an add to my Design Service.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes