The Backyard Company

A 210 Reviews

Founded 1982 • Angie's List since May 2002

Angie's List certified badge

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • C8393101
  • Trade License Locale
  • Many
  • Trade License Authority
  • City of Indianapolis
  • Trade License Expiration
  • 20161231
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Company Contact

5621 Woodland Trace Blvd

Indianapolis, IN 46237

Description

Family owned business since 1982. Specialized in Screened porches , 3 season rooms , Composite and wood decks...

Verified Reviews

210 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
198
B Rated
4
C Rated
3
D Rated
0
F Rated
5
Read reviews by category
deck building (195)sunroom and patio (19)woodworking (9)home remodeling (7)fence company (7)hardscaping (5)general contracting (5)deck cleaning (5)ceiling fan installation (4)electrician (4)roofing (3)
Showing 1-10 of 210 reviews
A

RATED

03/13/2020

The owner, John, and his team were great. He was booked several months out, but it was worth the wait. Pricing was competitive and fair. He was accessible and was great at communicating in the planning stages and during construction. John went above and beyond to make sure I was happy with the finished product. Very appreciative of his help and would hire again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Old deck demo and new custom deck build

CATEGORY decks

COST $10,800

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/13/2020

A

RATED

12/02/2019

I can’t express how excellent and professional of a job John and his crew did. Truly went above and beyond every step of the way. I can’t recommend them enough. Excellent in every facet

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair and addition to backyard deck

CATEGORY decks

COST $33,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/27/2019

A

RATED

09/26/2019

Very professional and wonderful to work with. Highest quality craftsmanship.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replaced our old wooden deck with Trex decking

CATEGORY decks

COST $9,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/11/2019

A

RATED

08/08/2019

They did a great job. Pricing was competitive and fair. Always accessible and ready to address any concerns or problems as they came up...and a few big ones did! The owner, John, puts a lot of weight behind his word and always delivers. Would hire again without hesitation,

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replacement of old deck and repair of several framing issues under decking.

CATEGORY decks

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/08/2019

A

RATED

10/13/2018

John and his son did a great job rebuilding our deck. The old deck was 30 years old and in very bad shape. They removed the old deck, installed all new supports and built the new deck in about 3 days. They were very easy to work with and did an excellent job.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Our deck needed rebuilding.

CATEGORY decks

COST $5,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

A

RATED

08/03/2018

This company was great to work with and they did a great job. In addition they braved the poison ivy the my backyard forest.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We have a massive deck and the main beam was rotted in addition to other problems.

CATEGORY decks

COST $1,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/03/2018

A

RATED

07/11/2018

John and his team were absolutely awesome from beginning to end. The quality of their work was exceptional and they were just so reliable and courteous. I would highly recommend them for anything. We looked at several different companies and we are blessed that we chose to work with John and his team.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Backyard Covered Patio

CATEGORY contractors, decks, electrician, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, ceiling fans, sunrooms

COST $12,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/10/2018

A

RATED

05/01/2018

The company was honest and fair. I didn't want to replace the whole deck and John worked with me to replace what was needed. The work was well done and professional. Would definitely recommend them.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
new deck stairs and railings

CATEGORY decks

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/01/2018

A

RATED

01/12/2018

The Backyard Company gets an A+. John and his team did an outstanding job on our porch conversion! They hit every deadline and were very punctual and the job came in under budget. john would not give me an invoice until he was sure that I was completely satsified with his work. I really appreciate that level of professionalism.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Conversion of covered porch to a screened porch.

CATEGORY decks

COST $4,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/12/2018

Images

Photo for The Backyard Company - 5621 Woodland Trace Blvd, Indianapolis, IN - 36748474
A

RATED

11/01/2017

The project went great and our new deck looks wonderful. John Hingle, the owner, and his crew were professional, efficient, and focused on getting the job done with minimal disturbance to us. They were great to work with and the deck they built is not only beautiful but promises to be around for a long, long time. We would recommend John and his company to anyone wanting to have a deck or porch bu...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Removed and replaced our 24 year old 23' X 12' deteriorating deck with a new deck using the same footprint of the original deck.

CATEGORY decks

COST $7,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/30/2017

Services Offered

Custom decks pressure treated. Cedar. Composite. Screened porches. 3 season rooms. Screened porch to 3 season room conversions. Pergolas. Custom cedar privacy walls around hot tubs & decks.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Ask for details