John Baker Jr. Creative Painting & Wallcovering

A 92 Reviews

Founded 1971 • Angie's List since May 2000

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Company Contact

5206 Byram Ave

Indianapolis, IN 46208

Description

Old School Craftsmanship. Owner operated since 1950. No sub contractors. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

92 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
88
B Rated
2
C Rated
2
D Rated
0
F Rated
0
Read reviews by category
wallpapering (66)interior painting (33)plaster (11)wallpaper removal (10)house painting (9)drywall repair (8)buying club (3)general contracting (3)cabinet refacing (2)Uncategorized (1)picture framing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 92 reviews
A

RATED

11/19/2020

He did a fantastic job, was very thorough and gave attention to detail. He started and finished the job as promised and he exceeded our expectations. We would highly recommend him and we would definitely hire him again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
He wallpapered our dining room and entrance with grasscloth wallpaper.

CATEGORY wallpaper

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/13/2020

A

RATED

10/26/2020

John Baker did a wonderful job! He is very precise and particular in everything he does. He is also very neat and clean and leaves no mess behind. I would definitely hire John again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Black wallpaper on one wall.

CATEGORY wallpaper,buying services

COST $500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/12/2020

A

RATED

10/20/2020

He did a nice job. Very professional and artistic.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Wallpapering and frames around the wallpapering

CATEGORY picture framing,wallpaper

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/19/2020

A

RATED

03/18/2020

John and Mark were very courteous, cleaned up after each day and professional. Did a wonderful job. Would hire them again. Connected up electric wall fixtures and replaced electrical switch plated and wall outlets. Very pleased with their work.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Completed wallpapering four walls in our foyer.

CATEGORY wallpaper

COST $1,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/12/2020

A

RATED

03/18/2020

Job went really well. I am very particular in regards to quality of contractors. I don’t think this job could have been done any better. John Russell

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Wallpaper in powder room

CATEGORY wallpaper

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/28/2020

Images

Photo for John Baker Jr. Creative Painting & Wallcovering - 5206 Byram Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 38450580
A

RATED

03/02/2020

John was efficient, punctual, detail oriented and courteous. The wallpaper was a very complicated pattern and we could not have asked for better results. We will definitely keep his contact information for future work to be performed.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Powder room wallpaper application.

CATEGORY wallpaper

COST $800

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/28/2020

A

RATED

02/20/2020

It went very well. John is extremely talented and confident in his abilities, We have a Victorian home with historic wallpapers throughout.. Our regular wallpaper guy became disabled and was no longer able to hang wallpaper. We found John through Angie's List and could not believe that we were fortunate enough to find a qualified replacement. We highly recommend this business.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
wallpaper hanging and interior painting

CATEGORY wallpaper,interior painters

COST $5,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/06/2020

A

RATED

12/29/2019

They did a perfect job. I wanted it done before Christmas and they did all they could so that this would happen. I work all the time, and all our communication was on the phone. I arranged for him to be able to get into the house and trusted that this would work out, based on all the other reviews that I had read about his perfectionism. It all worked out beautifully. The paper looks wonderful. Th...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Wallpapering

CATEGORY wallpaper

COST $600

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/12/2019

A

RATED

11/19/2019

John and his grandson were very professional. They did a great job and ensured everything was just as clean if not cleaner when they left. I would highly recommend them.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We needed faux wood planking installed on one of our lobby walls

CATEGORY Uncategorized

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/30/2019

Images

Photo for John Baker Jr. Creative Painting & Wallcovering - 5206 Byram Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 38241860
A

RATED

10/27/2019

John and his grandson, Mark, started right on time on the date and at the time promised. John was careful in the drywall and plaster repair, taking care that the textured pattern of the new plaster matched that of the old plaster. The painting was done neatly and carefully using high quality paint matching the color we requested. The work took one day longer than the 4 days estimated. But John and...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
The work entailed the painting of the interior walls and ceiling of our attached garage. The work included repair of drywall and plater in several spots.

CATEGORY plastering,interior painters

COST $2,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/25/2019

Services Offered

Interior & Exterior Painting, Wallpapering, wallpaper removal, wall coverings, indoor and outdoor creative, artistic and faux painting: glazing, ragging, spongeing, antiquing, marbling, drywall, plastering, hand painted furniture. Any effect the customer wants

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
No