J T General Contracting

A649 REVIEWS

Founded 1988 • Angie's List since November 2006

Angie's List certified badge

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Company Contact

141 Woodside Rd

Riverside, IL 60546

Description

Owner-operated. Uses subs for plumbing & roofing. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Service fees may apply. May contact through email....

Verified Reviews

649 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
457
B Rated
106
C Rated
34
D Rated
24
F Rated
28
Read reviews by category
Ceramic Tile (403)Drywall (232)Plaster (72)Interior Painting (70)Handyman Services (53)Decks and Porches (39)General Remodeling (37)Kitchen and Bath Remodeling (30)Electrical (16)Plumbing (15)Unfinished Carpentry (11)Doors (10)

Showing 1-10 of 649 reviews
A

RATED

12/26/2019

Jim replied to all messages in a short time, and did an excellent job when we hired him. Finding the door we were looking for was very difficult. Jim contacted many vendors and showed us several options until he found a door very similar to what we were looking for. He did a very good job covering the area around the sitting room and cleaning after work was done. The result was excellent. We are v...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Sitting room remodeling: remove existing fireplace, remove pass through and frame wall, install drywall on both sides, find and install custom door with side-lite.

CATEGORY drywall, remodeling, doors

COST $10,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/18/2019

A

RATED

09/10/2019

Jim was friendly and very professional. First we didn’t have a clear idea of what to do with our old deck within limited budget. He advised us what needs to be done and what we can keep. We are so happy with our new deck upon his advise!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Redecking a deck

CATEGORY decks

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/03/2019

A

RATED

08/03/2019

JT Contracting / Jim were incredibly thorough in explaining our options to replace wood porch steps. They had been constructed in a way that they were taking in too much water and as a result were rotting much sooner than they should have. The work was completed on time, their workers were thorough and professional -- and we're happy with the end result.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair porch steps

CATEGORY decks, woodworking

COST $2,300

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/03/2019

Images

Photo for J T General Contracting - 141 Woodside Rd, Riverside, IL - 38023609
A

RATED

12/10/2018

JT did a complete gut remodel of our bathroom. The work was done professionally and we are very satisfied with the completed project. It did take a while for them to get started, but once they did they worked continuously through the end of the project. Would definitely use them again!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Bathroom remodeling

CATEGORY contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, bathroom & kitchen remodeling, interior painters

COST $15,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/15/2017

A

RATED

10/31/2018

Jim was very responsive and timely with bid. He was here with his crew and they were a pleasure to have working in our home. Everything was cleaned up at the end of the day and the end of the project. Floor, trim, and door looks great .

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Entry way floor installed, new door to garage, and trim work

CATEGORY contractors, flooring, doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/04/2018

A

RATED

10/19/2018

Our ceramic tile floor in the kitchen cracked due to a leaking dishwasher, and needed to be replaced. The old floor was set on a 1/2" plywood base. Jim Taccola and his crew removed the old tile, and using a saw, cut the plywood base into sections, then removed it. After removal, they painstakingly applied screws to the original plank wood floor to stabilize it. They then installed the cement backe...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remove and replace ceramic tile floor in kitchen

CATEGORY ceramic tile

COST $3,650

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/15/2018

A

RATED

09/28/2018

We are exceedingly happy with the work done and will certainly call on Jim for future project needs.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Jim and his team have been the absolute best! We bid out our back deck tear down and replacement to 4 other outfits and he stood out from the rest in terms of professionalism, knowledge and communication. From day 1 he has been transparent with us on our options always doing a great job of outlining options for the high/medium/economical solutions at each stage of the process (size, materials used, configuration, etc.). At times, scope increases were recommended, however, he did a nice job of communicating what he was seeing along the way so that there we no surprises. I was so pleased with his approach that we also awarded him a basement flooring job as well as concrete work for our yard and parking pad, landscaping and gutter repair. He has a team of experts that he called on for every aspect of our needs (electrical, carpentry, carpeting, concrete, etc.). He seamlessly coordinated each step of project and each of his partners demonstrated a high level of professionalism and pride in their craftsmanship.

CATEGORY contractors, ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, woodworking

COST $40,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/28/2018

F

RATED

02/06/2018

We contacted this company with our request. He called back in two days. We asked to set up and appointment, he said he would call back. We did not hear from him, Called again and did not hear from him. It sound like he does great work. We are disappointed we were unable to connect with him

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Bathroom Remodel

CATEGORY ceramic tile, bathroom & kitchen remodeling

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/06/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hello, sorry if we were busy and were not able to respond more quickly. I did actually have an appointment that week with your wife, and did in fact send out a quote for the remodel work in your bathroom. Not sure, but there may have been a cross of communication between you and your wife on the appointment. Regards, Jim Taccola
A

RATED

12/20/2017

I've had the pleasure of working with J.T. General Contracting over a period of approx. 3 years. During the process of upgrading my mother's house, Jim Taccola (owner) guided me thru 2 bathroom remodels, several door replacements, a front stoop replacement and numerous other projects. He not only demonstrated expertise in many areas of remodeling and repair, but was also skilled in coordinating th...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Bathroom remodels x2, front stoop remodel/replacement, exterior door installations, insulation upgrade, and various other minor repairs over a period of 3 years

CATEGORY contractors, ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, handyman service, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, bathroom & kitchen remodeling, doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/20/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hello, Just want to say thank you for the pleasure of completing several projects and being able to get the chance to work with and get to know you and your family. It was a privilege to be able to perform my job and earn your support. I very much appreciate your posting, review, and look forward to any future projects you may have. Best Regards, James Taccola
A

RATED

09/26/2017

From comments and pictures from my tenant all went very well. Pleased with the quality and look of the backsplash. there was an issue trying to connect to my tenant....i believe did his best to coordinate. Sometimes i wanted to hear from him more often as to the status of the project. he was flexible and contacted me personally when things bogged down. i have already rehired him for another issue

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
kitchen tiling backsplash project and replace outside water faucet

CATEGORY ceramic tile, plumbing

COST $2,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/01/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hello, Thanks for hiring us and your correspondence with the projects. We are generally busy, but try to accommodate the best that we can. I always appreciate the opportunity to perform and show our work. Please call to discuss or quote any projects you may have. Best Regards, JIm Taccola

Services Offered

Decks & Porches, Remodeling - Kitchens & Baths, Sunrooms & Patios, Drywall, Roofing, Plumbing, Carpentry Woodworking, Doors & Windows, Siding, Concrete Pouring, Hardwood Flooring, & Custom Marble, Ceramic, & Porcelain Tile Work.

Services Not Offered

Roof repair, tearoffs, stand-alone painting & landscaping.

General Information
Licensed
Yes
Bonded
Yes
Insured
Yes
Free Estimates
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.