DESIGNfirst Builders LLC

A 193 Reviews

Founded 2005 • Angie's List since April 2007

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Company Contact

1201 Norwood Ave.

Itasca, IL 60143

Description

DESIGNfirst Builders is a premier Chicago home remodeling company and all-inclusive design/build firm located in Itasca. We specialize in kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, basement remodeling and basement finishing as well as home additions, room additions and design. Serving all of Chicagoland we have over 100 years combined experience and are dedicated to simplifying the renovation process and building sophisticated spaces that add value to your home or business. We will also build your custom home on the lot of your choice. When DESIGNfirst was founded in 2006, we had a staff of three people managing all design, development and construction for projects throughout Chicagoland. Today we have a large team of Designers, Architects, Managers, Contractors and more to assist you in defining, expanding and building your dream space. ​We also offer financing options, client referral rewards, excellent customer service and have various industry partners offering discounts exclusive to our clients. We do everything with the client in mind to ensure a smooth process in creating every dream space!...

Verified Reviews

193 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
148
B Rated
19
C Rated
14
D Rated
4
F Rated
8
Read reviews by category
home remodeling (167)home remodeling (109)architect (66)basement remodeling (20)home builder (17)picture framing (17)sunroom and patio (6)woodworking (37)drywall repair (37)electrical (34)interior design (33)plumbing (30)
Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
A

RATED

11/30/2020

It went very well and I'm very pleased with my beautiful, updated space!. There were a couple small issues that caused minor delays, but my project manager, Rick Divito, helped me with them to complete the work. I would definitely use Design First again and I have recommended them to friends.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remodel of my kitchen, power room, and work in family room and foyer.

CATEGORY architect

COST $82,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/30/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words, we truly appreciate it! We are excited to get your project photographed! Thank you, Dakota Dotson DESIGNFirst Builders
A

RATED

10/30/2020

We are very pleased with the result of our remodel. We wanted a complete gut/renovation and this was our first major renovation, so we were of course concerned about cost and time--and not knowing really what questions to ask. DesignFirst was a great partner through the project. Their designers came up with a thoughtful design, but were also happy to tweak things that we wanted to change. Their cu...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Full kitchen remodel

CATEGORY contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,egress windows,flooring,picture framing,hardwood floor repair,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,interior designers,lighting,masonry,plumbing,woodworking,architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling,doors

COST $42,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/01/2020

Images

Photo for DESIGNfirst Builders LLC - 1201 Norwood Ave., Itasca, IL - 38991937

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the kind words - we enjoyed working on your kitchen remodel and are happy to hear you were pleased with our services! Thank you, Dakota Dotson DESIGNFirst Builders
A

RATED

10/30/2020

This whole process went smoother than expected and all done in the middle of a pandemic. We love the work Design 1st did on our home and never imagined our home could have all the new features they provided.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Kitchen remodel, tv room restructure, new screened porch

CATEGORY countertops,decks,drywall,electrician,flooring,insulation,interior designers,lighting,remodeling,marble & granite,architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling,doors

COST $120,000

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/14/2020

Images

Photo for DESIGNfirst Builders LLC - 1201 Norwood Ave., Itasca, IL - 38991411

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the kind words - we enjoyed working on your kitchen remodel and are happy to hear you're enjoying the new space. Thank you, Dakota Dotson DESIGNFirst Builders
A

RATED

07/20/2020

Amazing team and experience from start to finish. We went down to the studs and the outcome came out exactly the way it was drawn up. They acknowledge any of my concerns and came up with great ideas and results. All the workers were very timely and friendly. They treated my house as if it were there own. We couldn’t be happier!!!!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Kitchen and Bathroom Remodel

CATEGORY custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring,picture framing,handyman service,hardwood floor repair,interior designers,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,home builders,marble & granite,architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling,doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/03/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the kind words, we enjoyed creating your dream space! Thank you, DESIGNFIRST BUILDERS
B

RATED

07/15/2020

Our job started on February 18 and completed July 2, 2020. The work that was done in our home - so far - seems to be good quality. Time will tell if the work is solid, but so far, so good. If you have your pick, request Gary and Jack to supervise your job. They are both top notch. Kordi did a great job on the architectural design. Internal staff are also very pleasant and responsive. There are som...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Kitchen remodel, bath addition, bath remodel

CATEGORY architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling

COST $130,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/15/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hello, thank you so much for the kind review. We enjoyed creating your addition/remodel and are happy to hear you're enjoying the space. Thanks, DESIGNFirst Builders
A

RATED

04/13/2020

We could not be happier with our new master suite. We added a master bath and walk in closet to our bedroom. Design First did a fantastic job from beginning to end. Very professional, clean and courteous tradesmen came into my home and I felt very comfortable with everyone involved. Would highly recommend Design First to anyone looking to remodel or add on to their home.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remodel Master Bedroom /added bathroom

CATEGORY custom cabinets,ceramic tile,closet systems,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring,picture framing,hardwood floor repair,insulation,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling,doors

COST $35,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/01/2019

Images

Photo for DESIGNfirst Builders LLC - 1201 Norwood Ave., Itasca, IL - 38496012

+3 More

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for the kind words and we had a pleasure working on your bathroom projects!
A

RATED

04/13/2020

We received multiple estimates, and decided to go with DesignFirst Builders for numerous reasons. Promptness, Showroom, the amount of different types of cabinets, counters, tiles, flooring and more. They also had numerous prices and quality from low to high depending on the cost of the addition to which build. From the start to finish of the project we dealt with multiple architects, designer's an...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Home addition, Butler's Pantry / Laundry Room / dog Wash / more

CATEGORY custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,egress windows,flooring,picture framing,hardwood floor repair,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,interior designers,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,windows,woodworking,marble & granite,architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling,doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/20/2020

Images

Photo for DESIGNfirst Builders LLC - 1201 Norwood Ave., Itasca, IL - 38495988

+2 More

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the kind words! We are very happy you chose us and are very pleased to hear you're happy with your new space!
A

RATED

12/13/2019

$200889.75. This is the total cost of D1's role in the remodeling of our north side Chicago home in 2019. In summary, what amounted to about 100 sq ft in new foundation allowed us to open up the house to make it more usable on the first floor kitchen/family area and then gave us the opportunity to extend backwards to gain a new master bedroom, closet, and master bathroom. On top of all this, they ...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Added about 350 sq ft of new living space to our existing Chicago home including a new master suite (bedroom, closet, bath), opened up the first floor floor plan, and split a large bedroom into two kids' bedrooms.

CATEGORY custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,decks,drywall,electrician,picture framing,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,interior designers,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,windows,woodworking,marble & granite,architect,bathroom & kitchen remodeling,doors

COST $201,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/13/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much for the kind words, [Member Name Removed]. We know any kind of renovation is a difficult one, even an addition as extensive as your's was. We are pleased to hear that our services exceeded your expectations, which is out goal with every client. Thank you for being part of the DESIGNFirst Family!
A

RATED

10/08/2019

Design First was EXCELLENT and very knowledgable on remodeling. Their amazing staff helped my husband and I select all of our options while keeping in mind our budget. The kitchen was done about 2 years ago and I haven't had one problem! The process was very smooth and everybody notified me about anything and they even provide an online portal for you to get update! 10/10 RECOMMENDED!!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Kitchen Remodel and Flooring

CATEGORY remodeling,bathroom & kitchen remodeling

COST $42,500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/28/2017

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much for the kind words!
A

RATED

09/29/2019

outstanding quality work and just nice people to do business with.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Windows, roof, siding, and roof over our deck, new patio and sidewalk

CATEGORY decks,egress windows,picture framing,lighting,remodeling,roofing,siding,woodworking,architect

COST $110,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/01/2012

Images

Photo for DESIGNfirst Builders LLC - 1201 Norwood Ave., Itasca, IL - 38140537

+1 More

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you so much for the kind words, [Member Name Removed]! We are glad you are happy!

Services Offered

Architects and building design, home, bumpout and multi-story additions, kitchen, bathroom and basement remodeling projects that include general contracting & home construction needs.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes