A GOOD HANDYMAN INC

A 269 Reviews

Founded 2007 • Angie's List since May 2004

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2019

Licensing

No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

4711 N Dover St Unit 1-S

Chicago, IL 60640

Description

*** We are still accepting all service call requests. Minor or major issues are welcomed. We can service your home with minimal physical contact! Our safety measures have increased dramatically due to the COVID virus. And will use every measure possible to keep you, your family and our employees safe! *** ‘A Good Handyman Inc.’ is a fully insured and bonded professional handyman company. We've received many customer satisfaction awards throughout our 13 years in business including the Angie's List Super Service Awards for 11 of those years. We maintain both General Contractor and Home Repair licenses. We don't charge for travel time but may charge for time spent purchasing and delivering materials to the job site. There is no markup on materials we purchase for your jobs. Written estimates, including site visits if necessary, are free. Our hours are 8-5PM M-F (or later if a job "runs long"). Emergency call-outs on weekends are based on the availability of handymen and may incur additional charges. Over 60% of our business is from repeat customers, about 20% from customer referrals, and the remainder from internet review websites - Angie's List, Yelp, etc. Please compare us with other handyman services considering the above. We are offering 10% discount on labor on your first job Just mention you found us through Angie’s List....

Verified Reviews

269 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
219
B Rated
24
C Rated
8
D Rated
5
F Rated
13
Read reviews by category
handyman (220)electrical (39)drywall repair (25)interior painting (24)plumbing (24)door (23)lighting (21)woodworking (19)ceiling fan installation (13)tile installation (12)home remodeling (11)general contracting (11)
Showing 1-10 of 269 reviews
A

RATED

08/24/2020

Very well. The handyman, Sergio, was excellent. He was friendly, professional, and was able to repair the broken and crumbling drywall around the light switch, patch and restore the area, and realign the switch exactly the way I was expecting. A great job overall.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Drywall repair/restore, realignment of light switch

CATEGORY drywall,electrician

COST $100

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/18/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review&
A

RATED

07/16/2020

excellent service! fast, timely and courteous! Will definitely hire again!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
folding doors installed and repaired, bathroom door hinges repaired

CATEGORY woodworking,doors

COST $300

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/16/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the positive review.
A

RATED

03/25/2019

It was an easy process from start to finish, they were on-time and on-budget.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Ceiling repair for leak

CATEGORY drywall,handyman service

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/25/2019

A

RATED

03/04/2019

My tenant was very satisfied with the contractor and the repair itself. I have used this service several times over the years and will always call them for small projects at my home or rental property.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair and paint damaged drywall in bathroom

CATEGORY handyman service

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/04/2019

A

RATED

02/26/2019

Excellent! 2 simple tasks done to completio and within the agreed timeframe.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Patch of bathroom tub and sunroom door repair

CATEGORY ceramic tile,handyman service,woodworking

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/26/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review.
A

RATED

02/12/2019

This was a very small job that normally would be a DIY. They responded quickly to my email inquiry and an appointment was scheduled in a few days. The contractor was on-time and quickly installed the cabinet. He also took the time to show me that the cabinet was level but might look crooked from certain angles because of the slope of the ceiling.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Install one wall cabinet in my laundry room

CATEGORY handyman service

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/08/2019

Images

Photo for A GOOD HANDYMAN INC - 4711 N Dover St, Chicago, IL - 37709542

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review. It is appreciated.
A

RATED

02/01/2019

Quite excellent. Paul took care of everything to my liking. He also showed me other work that would need to be done. Also, he explained how to save money by simple ways. For example, he checked my ceramic tile wall and said it's quite sturdy. Other handyman companies wanted to replace the whole wall, where I only need six tiles replaced. Paul was very courteous. Pricing per hour was great, and sta...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace shower curtain rod, install lights, replace electrical switches, clean ceiling fan blades, fix closet light fixture.

CATEGORY electrician,handyman service,lighting,ceiling fans

COST $280

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/25/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review. It is appreciated.
A

RATED

01/07/2019

Deryhl is meticulous in his work and attention to detail. Patrick is a skilled painter who is careful in his prep and clean up, and has several times had to run to the store at the last minute to match paint colors for us. Candy, in the front office, is also responsive, efficient, and very friendly.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Derhyl and Patrick have done a number of small jobs for us over the past several years, and we wouldn’t call anyone else. They have done plumbing, painting, electrical and repair work, both inside and out.

CATEGORY electrician,handyman service,plumbing,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/22/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review. It is appreciated.
F

RATED

10/19/2018

Horrendous experience. All but 1 repair was done properly. The worst was the walk-in closet when they removed the rug an uneven floor was exposed. Instead of installing the lineoleum we discussed, the men installed rigid flooring, see photos! I had them remove that and put down something that would adhere to the floor. They chose flooring, which again, wouldn't stick. George, told ME, the customer...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Walk-in closet floor, efflorescense repair, Construct support for washing machine, Power wash deck & stain, fence post repair, replace 2 pieces wooden siding

CATEGORY handyman service

COST $2,955

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/19/2018

Images

Photo for A GOOD HANDYMAN INC - 4711 N Dover St, Chicago, IL - 37485648

+3 More

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the job wasn’t completed to your satisfaction.
A

RATED

10/17/2018

Excellent communication and scheduling options. Very professional work order system via email. Punctual service, efficient, and informative. Candy and Andy were great. Highly recommend.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Bathtub drain clearing/inspection and mailbox installation.

CATEGORY handyman service

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/17/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for your review.

Services Offered

WE SPECIALIZE IN SMALL REPAIRS AND LARGER REMODELING NEEDS. OUR SERVICES INCLUDE (BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO HANDYMAN, GENERAL INTERIOR & EXTERIOR REPAIRS, MAINTENANCE & REMODELING, LIGHT ELECTRICAL & PLUMBING, KITCHEN & BATH, CERAMIC & VINYL TILE, PAINTING, WINDOWS & DOORS, FURNITURE ASSEMBLY & REPAIR, GENERAL & FINISH CARPENTRY.

Services Not Offered

ROOFING, GUTTERS, APPLIANCE REPAIR, HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING, EXTERIOR WORK OVER 20 FEET HIGH.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, American Express
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
No