Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Carbondale HVAC Contractors

There are 28 top-rated HVAC contractors in your area.

Zip Code
Join Angie's List Now To see all 28 highly rated companies in Carbondale

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Heating & Cooling Contractor Articles

Go to the article: 

Troubleshooting Common Air Conditioning Problems

.
close-up shot of top of air conditioner unit
Go to the article: 

How Much Does Installing New A/C Cost?

.
HVAC technician inspects air conditioner.
Go to the article: 

5 HVAC System Sounds You Don't Want to Hear

.
HVAC air conditioning unit

Hvac Repair reviews in Carbondale

  • A
    JACOBS AIR CONDITIONING AND HEATING INC
    We have noticed an improvement in the performance of the system from what we had. We look forward to a decrease in our utility bill as well. There is one little detail they are working out but we are confident that too will be taken care of.
    - Frank G.
  • A
    Country Comfort Solutions Heating & Cooling
    Thanks to Brad, the owner of Country Comfort Solutions, everything went great! He is extremely knowledgeable and his rates are very reasonable. The best part of all - he is very kind and takes the time to explain any and all questions.
    - Libby W.
  • A
    JACOBS AIR CONDITIONING AND HEATING INC
    I am very satified with JACOBS' s job which installed new A/C at my house.
    All technicians sent by the company were professional.
    Secretaries showed a coustomer friendly attitude.
    Keep up the good work.
    - song k.
  • F
    RSP Heating & Cooling
    My message on their website: Over the past 6 weeks we have had 2 people from RSP come out to give us a bid on duct work and possible unit replacement. The first guy (may 8) dropped the ball and never responded with an estimate. My husband called after 2 wks and was told that the wrong guy came and RSP scheduled another appointment. Then another guy came on May 27th. He gave us several options and said he'd give us an estimate on different scenarios. On June 9 my husband called because we had not received an estimate. He was told they couldn't do an estimate because we had not purchased the unit from you. The comfort specialist didn't even give us a bid on a new heat pump or duct work for the old unit. RSP was wonderful several years ago when they did our duct work for our wood furnace. We are extremely disappointed in the recent service response we we have received. On June 9 my husband called and talked to a woman that said she had our records and yes they installed the duct work for the wood furnace. She assured my husband that they do install duct work and yes, he can connect his AC unit himself. She said she would check on a bid and get back to him. Here it is June 12, we have no AC and no response from RSP. I will be contacting Fowler for a bid. They were suggested to me by a co-worker. I can't express enough the disappointment we have in a family run business that is supposed to be customer focused.
    - Maggie S.
  • A
    Voss Heating & A/C Inc
    It cost $50.00 for materials and $50.00 for labor. Alyssa was helpful on the phone. Bob arrived on time with the appropriate filters stocked, checked the system and answered my questions about its life span.
    - Dawn A.
  • D
    WEBB HEATING & AIR COND
    Webbs is the go-to heating and cooling company in the area.  We used them for a number of years, including for installing new equipment and for service.  The owner visits and bids out new installations, and he is a very outgoing guy.  The work is of course done by employees. 
    One issue we've had is with installations.  In our first house, I went into the crawl space afterwards and found a pile of empty beer cans.  Could have been there from some previous workman, but the timing made me suspicious.  Then, after furnace installation in the basement of my new home, I again find beer cans tossed up onto drop ceiling right next to the utility room.  Draw your own conclusions.
    The other issue is how feverishly Webbs pushes their service contracts.  On top of $5,000-10,000+ for new furnace and AC equipment, you are pressured into $hundreds more per year for Webbs people to check their own equipment twice a year.  If you don't ante up for the contract, you are last on their priority list if something goes wrong.  Great for Webb's profits, but should we really be paying 10% of our total family income for heating and cooling? 
    We've now gone with another company.  Not as slick an operation as Webb's, but you get the same service techs in the house the same either way.  At a lower cost and without the high pressure. 


    - N P.
  • A
    Dave's Heating-Cooling & Electric
    Dave is an exceptional HVAC specialist, and has electrical expertise and supplies that enable him to actually maintain and repair HVACs in ways that other companies do not. He charges a very reasonable rate, and is happy to install new HVAC units for those that need or want them, but is also equally happy to add lots of years of life to existing systems. He's maintained our system, both the air handler inside and heat pump outside, for 5 years. We recommend having him come each year to provide regular maintenance. In addition to keeping out system going, he's made it much quieter, and has done some other electrical work around our house too. Thanks Dave!
    - Scott G.
  • F
    WEBB HEATING & AIR COND
    We've had a heating and cooling service plan (Comfort Plan) with Webbs
    Heating and Air company for about four years. We signed up soon after
    installing a new furnace and AC . At first, the service men were very
    polite and nice. We took what was done for granted and one in particular named Shawn
    seemed to have been assigned to us on a regular basis i.e. twice a year,
    Fall and Spring.  Last October, Webbs came by to service our unit in accordance with our
    plan. The service technician said that he could see nothing wrong with it, and that
    everything was running fine.  A few days later, we heard a loud BOOM!
    It appeared to come from the outdoor unit so we called Webbs and
    they told us that we would have to pay a service fee for them to return
    and take a look even though they had just been here to service it when
    they said it was working perfectly. Our electric bills for November,
    December, January, and February  were gigantic. We couldn't understand
    why our bills were so high because the previous winter was very mild and we'd
    never used close to that much energy heating the house even during the coldest
    winters. In March Webbs came by to service our unit for the Spring.
    Again, when the same serviceman said the air conditioner was working
    "perfectly."  We informed him that the winter electric bill had been
    outrageous, and he said "well your unit is working perfectly". The technician
    asked if I wanted to renew my plan for the following year, which would
    become effective in July. We went ahead and paid for the next year's
    service plan way in advance. A few days after he left  (there is a theme
    here), when we tried to turn on the air conditioning it wouldn't cool at all.
    When we called and asked them to look at it, they said that we would
    need to pay an additional service fee for them to come out and look at
    it. When they did they discovered that the system had broken last fall.
    The reason why we had heat and that enormous energy bill was that the system had
    automatically switched to emergency heat and had been running on it the
    ENTIRE winter. They had no explanation as to: 1.) why each time that
    they came out to look at the unit they had approved of it and said that
    it was functioning well, 2.) why they insisted on charging service fees
    each time when they'd negligently failed to diagnose problems with the
    system during the pre-paid check-ups covered by the $180.00 per year
    Comfort Service Plan. We called a manager in the company and
    complained about what had happened to us. The manager then said he was
    not going to charge us for the second visit that lead to the accurate
    diagnosis. We requested a refund for the next year's $180.00 service plan and received a check from which they had deducted the service fee that they said they wouldn't charge for. We called and asked to speak to the owner of the business and were told , "The owner will not speak to you." "Are you sure?" We asked. "I'm sure. The owner will not speak to you."
     Webbs had also given us an outrageous quote for fixing the
    the problem. Summer was getting close and a few days had been extremely
    warm.  We were panicking and the manager sensed it. We wanted to know
    why the problem had not been noted earlier, but all he could say was the
    person he had sent who ended up diagnosing the problem was the best
    technician he had and that his quote for fixing the unit was the best
    price. We then told the manager that we wanted to cancel our  membership
    and that he should credit the $180.00 to our credit card that we had
    used for the payment of the membership renewal for the following pal
    period. We told him that we were not happy with the service. He told us
    that he could not credit our refund to the credit card even though it
    was within a week of the charge. However he said he was going to send a
    refund check of the amount of $180.00 since his system could not refund
    my credit card technologically. He also demanded that we put our
    cancellation of our membership in writing, which we agreed to. We said
    that was fine. He kept wanting to know when we would hire them to come
    and fix the AC unit for the price they had quoted us. I told them that I
    was  going to contact them if I could afford it. The next thing I saw
    was a check of $115.00. We called to find out why the had mailed the
    amount less than what had been paid for the membership. The person who
    answered the phone told us the the manager would not talk to us. So,
    WEBBS took our $65.00 through hooks and crooks even after they had told
    us they were not charging us for their own mistakes. We got our AC fixed
    for less than half of what they had charged us. Their service for us
    has been poor.
    - Saliwe M.
  • A
    Tri-C Mechanical Heating & Cooling
    Tad  came out to my  house and gave me a bid on up grading my heating and air unit and showed me  were I could get tax rebates  and  what  incentives  were  available to me  through Ameren CIPS.   He  showed me i could  spend  more  money  on a  bigger unit  but  it wasn't  needed.   He   went under the  house and inspected my  duct  work  and  lad out  fresh  plastic   for me to go  with  him and  see the   sections  that  needed to be replaced  to  to the  house begin 40 yrs old. I  was  extremely  happy with the crew that he sent out to do the work  they were curtious   and  made  sure to leave  my  home cleaner  then  when it was when they  first got there.  His site man Eric  was  great at showing me how to  work the new digital thermostat and showing me  how to change the filters so that my  new unit  would last longer...  I  would  highly  recommend  this up and coming business to anyone that asks me about Heating or Cooling issues.
    - Diane C.
  • F
    Fowler Heating & Cooling
    They installed the new furnace in December 2010 and I am still dealing with them because it does not work correctly.  They've come out 4 times each year since it was installed and each time is not fixed correctly.  I had them out to service it in February 2013 with a $175 service charge and I'm already experiencing another problem with it.  The service is horrid. It is  a pretty expensive furnace that still doesn't work.
    - Marci S.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

HVAC Contractors in Carbondale

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!