Custom Climates

A 36 Reviews

Founded 2012 • Angie's List since May 2013

Angie's List certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angie's List Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 000733
  • Trade License Locale
  • Iowa
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

3305 Highway 1 SW Suite 9A

Iowa City, IA 52240

Description

We are locally owned and provide service to Johnson County and surrounding areas. We pride ourselves on our level of customer service and attention to details. We take great pride in our projects and level of craftsmanship. We have the customer references to prove it!...

Verified Reviews

36 Total Reviews
Reviews by Rating
A Rated
36
B Rated
0
C Rated
0
D Rated
0
F Rated
0
Read reviews by category
hvac repair (34)water heater repair and installation (5)air duct cleaning (2)
Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
A

RATED

07/23/2020

Ryan and his staff are very responsive! They come when they are scheduled, and/or keep you up to date if they are running behind. Service has been excellent and we have called them several times! We have never been disappointed! Ryan makes it seem like he is your "personal" HVAC consultant!! It is wonderful and I would recommend Custom Climates to anyone who needds HVAC repair!!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Furnace "tune-up:, air conditioner repair

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/01/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate you business and look forward to working with you in the future!
A

RATED

07/22/2020

Ryan and his team traveled out of their normal service area to troubleshoot issues we had with our geothermal system. They provided us a competitive bid for a replacement unit and did a great job on the installation. They were extremely knowledgeable on the system and made recommendations without providing sales pressure. After the installation they cleaned up as if they were never there. In addit...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replaced Geothermal Heat Pump

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

COST $16,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/11/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We appreciate your business!
A

RATED

06/08/2020

They were swamped with calls and took 2 days to get to us but they called to update us regularly and quickly resolved the problem when they arrived. Great folks to work with.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Air Conditioning failure

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $150

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/05/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We receive MANY calls a day when it gets hot so we appreciate your patience! Glad we were able to resolve your issue!
A

RATED

02/12/2020

Very big job that took several days. I like that all the work is performed by the owners themselves. They are very knowledgeable about geothermal. Kept me informed about the progress and when they were coming. I would highly recommend them for your heating and cooling issues.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replaced malfunctioning heat pump for our geothermal system

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/10/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate the business!
A

RATED

08/26/2019

The installation was done professionally and with care.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
New Furnace and A/C

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $7,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/01/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We appreciate it!
A

RATED

08/09/2019

Outstanding!! Ryan’s quick response and willingness to help is amazing. Prompt, professional, thorough, excellent at trouble shooting, fair, honest. Super impressed by this company. Recommend highly!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
HVAC repair

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/05/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us!
A

RATED

06/09/2019

Ryan did an excellent job, answered all my questions, and was entirely professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
New Central Air Conditioning Unit and Indoor Coil

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/15/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your business!
A

RATED

06/07/2019

Quick scheduling response and good service.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
summer AC check

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $100

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/07/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the future!
A

RATED

12/24/2018

Excellent prompt service. I was having issues with A/C not getting to one of our rooms. They quickly determined what the problem was and fixed the problem. They are very knowledgeable and professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repaired my Central Air

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

COST $400

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/15/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review! We appreciate your continued support and look forward to working with you in the future!
A

RATED

12/22/2018

Since the very 1st meeting with Ryan & Allen, the owners of Custom Climates, they have always proven to be professionals in every sense. They are technically very knowledgeable in their profession and demonstrated integrity of the highest degree, nothing less than being 100% honest on the issue, cost, work required earning my trust. Their craftsmanship is superior and meticulous in how the equipme...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
I initially met Ryan & Allen in 2010 to diagnose & verify the Geothermal Water to Water equipment for hydronic radiant floor heat installed was undersized by the original HVAC contractor. This was new construction and a brand new system installed by another contractor that didn't performed the heat loss gain calculation according to Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) Manual J or size the equipment properly following Manuals B,S & H then refused to correct the issue. Ryan & Allen stepped up to correct the issue, when they could of walked away taking an easier job that would have been less of a headache.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/01/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review! We appreciate your continued support and look forward to working with you in the future!

Services Offered

We service all makes and models of heating and cooling equipment. Geothermal, heat pumps, mini split systems, central air units, gas furnaces, electric furnaces, ductwork and zoning equipment.

Services Not Offered

Mobile Home Units

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes