Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apple Oil Company

Founded 1982 • Angie's List since November 2015

B Rated | 8 Reviews

Description

Apple Oil has been serving residential and commercial oil customers in Fairfield and New Haven counties for the past 30 years. As one of the first companies in Connecticut to include new technologies such as bio fuels, low sulfur fuels with additivies, and more efficient burner equipment, Apple Oil looks to the next 30 years to continue to be among the forefront Connecticut oil companies. With the lowest prices and the best service technicians available, Apple Oil is on call 365 days of the year to serve your heating oil needs....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro…

F

RATED

01/04/2018

Terrible experience, The owner, Sam Livieri is rude, disrespectful and makes attempts to shame his customers if they are unhappy with service. This company offers no apologies, or any service recovery action. Apple Oil allows their customers oil tanks run bone dry in the dead of winter, and become upset with the customer if they exhibit any type of irritation with their incompetence. I hope they d...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
I contracted with Apple Oil 1/16/17. I wanted a reliable oil company that would automatically deliver my oil, and service my furnace yearly. I also wanted the peace of mind of 24hr emergency service should something go wrong with my furnace. I wanted a yearly capped price. Apple offered all of it. I received timely automatic delivery until approximately 6/17. This company then began to slip. My oil deliveries began to come further and further apart. Come the fall, I never received any correspondence on new price caps for their oil. In November of 2017 I called them inquiring if they still had me under contract, and they stated that oil was 2.49/gallon. I wanted to make sure I would still be receiving oil automatically and inquired about a price cap. I was told someone would get back to me. No one ever did. I called again in December before Christmas, as my oil tank was about 1/2 full. They stated that I was in fact still receiving auto delivery. I never did. I called them several times the week of New Years and they advised I would be getting a delivery by 12/30/17- "definitely before the holiday" I never did. I called again Tuesday 1/2/17- The woman sounded just as frustrated as I was beginning to feel, and promised an oil delivery by Wednesday morning. They kept asking "Are you out of oil" my answer was no, but I told them I had very little oil, maybe about 25 gallons. They said " If you run out we have 24-hour service, we will just put diesel fuel in the tank to get it started" Why we were having the "running out of oil conversation" I don't know, I didn't think I would ever have to have that conversation with an oil company who was supposed to be delivering their oil to me automatically. They stated I would be getting an oil drop on 1/3/17. I didn't. When I called back, a women answered and stated I would be getting oil today, I needed reassurance, as I had called several times that week. A man got on the phone and raised his voice stating "we will take care of it" and hung up in my face. I called back and the person who answered said that "that was Sam, the owner" I became very impatient and asked why he hung up in my face. I asked to speak with him. He then got on the phone like a raving lunatic and began to bully me, yelling. Another man must have grabbed the phone away from him and told me they delivered 150 gallons to my address, and I should have a receipt in the mailbox. I advised my gauge stated it was empty. The man on the phone said "It might be broken, you may want to reset it" I told him it was not broken. I told him I did not have a receipt for the delivery. Another girl got on the phone and said 'They may have delivered oil to the wrong address" By this time I was crying. They finally dropped oil (220 gallons of it) at 930pm, and left me a $650.00 bill. I was in tears. This company has a bully for an owner. No accountability, no honesty, and seems to get some strange pleasure out of yelling at his customers for not delivery oil

CATEGORY heating oil companies

A

RATED

09/11/2017

Everything was great, before calling them I asked for 4 quotes and theirs was the cheapest even though they were offering the best quality tank with 20 years of warranty, they also transferred de oil from the old tank to the new one without charging an extra fee, others quotes charged extra for doing this.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace Oil Tank

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac, heating oil companies

A

RATED

05/31/2017

.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
.

CATEGORY heating oil companies

A

RATED

09/21/2016

unknown

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

A

RATED

08/10/2016

unknown

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Offered

We install and repair all types of oil heating equipment and we install above ground oil tanks.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Bonded
Yes
Insured
Yes
Free Estimates
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Ask for details
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.