Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Southington HVAC Contractors

There are 17 top-rated hvac contractors in your area.

Zip Code
Join Angie's List Now To see all 17 highly rated companies in Southington

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Heating & Cooling Contractor Articles

Go to the article: 

Troubleshooting Common Air Conditioning Problems

.
close-up shot of top of air conditioner unit
Go to the article: 

How Much Does Installing New A/C Cost?

.
HVAC technician inspects air conditioner.
Go to the article: 

What Should You Do if You Have a Holiday Emergency?

.

Hvac Repair reviews in Southington

  • B
    Overall a great job. Went out of their way to accomodate us during the work to make sure the replacements were working as the work occured during a period of 90 degree days. Cleanup could have been better, but still above average. Minor issue is the dryer vent tube was dislodged and went unnoticed by both them and us at the time.
    - Gary B.
  • D
    The technician diagnosed the problem as a bad capacitor. Quoted $250.00 as the charge to replace the capacitor. I got online and checked the average cost of replacement of capacitor. Offered to pay $120. Technician declined my offer. I ordered my capacitor online and replaced it myself for $20.
    - Sreenivas I.
  • A
    They are excellent. I have been using them for years, and they actually installed a furnace in my previous home. They are on time, and they call ahead to let you know what time they will arrive. They are clean and reliable, they always let me know if there is a problem. They don't rush their work, even if it's just general maintenance. I have used them for probably 12 years, and I have ever used anyone else. I would recommend them to anyone.
    - Margaret C.
  • A
    Ductworks is a first-class operation. One of the two owners, who are brothers, arrived on time to give me an estimate. A few days later, I received three estimates: good, better & best. Subsequently his daughter worked with me via email to add a fourth (better than best) estimate with a two-stage furnace and a variable-speed high-efficiency air conditioner. The two installers arrived at 8:30 AM on the appointed day and got right to work. They worked steadily until they were done around 2:30 PM. They did a neat installation and cleaned up afterward. Then they spent about half an hour teaching me how to use my new high-tech thermostat. That was almost five months ago, and there have been no problems so far. I am a worrier, but Ductworks did the job flawlessly, including the paperwork required by my town (building permit), my condo association (certificate of insurance) and the power company (for a $250 energy efficiency rebate).
    - Jeff I.
  • F
    Terrible. Diagnosed our furnace malfunction that resulted in no heat upstairs (bedrooms) on Tuesday morning. Delayed service for 2 days, when nighttime temps were in the 30s. Finally scheduled repair appointment and then arrived 4 hours late and without required parts for job! When telephoned the office to ask about 1) the initial delay in scheduling the repair, 2) whether anyone was coming out on the day of the appointment when no one was showing up, and 3) why the technician finally showed up but with no parts, the owner's tone was rude, degrading and disrespectful and he hung up on me and canceled the job leaving us in a lurch despite our service repair agreement! Totally bad experience without resolution.
    - Nancy B.
  • A
    Tyson did a great job for us! He arrived on time (in a snow storm) and was very thorough and efficient.. Noticed a few issues with our existing system and made a few extra repairs for us. He also made an excellent recommendation for a new filtering system that would provide us with a better result as well as less maintenance. Jeff came on a second trip to install the new filtering system and also provided a new solution for us to an old problem created by a poor installation from another company. Overall we have been delighted with the professionalism, solutions, and results from this company and will definitely be using them for maintenance going forward.
    - Alisa M.
  • A
    I purchased the air conditioning diagnostic service in the morning.  By mid- morning, I had already received a call that someone could be there by the end of the day.  They called to tell me when the tech would be there, giving me a good lead time.  The service tech showed up at 2:30 and worked his magic.  He cleaned the coils, added some "gas" and stayed to make sure the system was running properly.  He was polite and prompt and told me to give a call back if I had any concerns.  I will definitely use this company again.
    - Elizabeth D.
  • A
    My central air system had been non-functioning for almost a year. Several other HVAC companies informed me that I had a leak in the system and it would be expensive to trace the leak. After doing some research, I figured it was probably the evaporator coil that was leaking and wanted it replaced. Most companies either did not return my calls or wanted to perform a leak check. Ductworks responded to my request, listened to my solution and offered some recommendations. 
    It could not have gone any better. Quick responses, prompt accurate and detailed estimate, on-time arrival, courteous and professional technician. I explained to the technician my thought on the evaporator coil and when he looked at the coil, he not only agreed with my assessment, he showed me where the refrigerant had leaked out on the coil. He also explained that replacing the coil might not solve the problem if there were other places that were leaking. I appreciated his honesty and happily, 4 days later my central air is working beautifully.


    - Bob W.
  • F
    The rep went into our attic and looked at our fan motor. He said we would have to replace it. He could not tell what model it was and he told us that someone from Billy Carlson would call us within a week. No one ever did call us. So we called another local AC Pro, based upon a neighbor recommendation, and he came over immediately. He suspected that the fan motor might just need oiling, so he went out and came back with some oil and oiled the fan motor using the small hole provided to insert oil. Our fan motor came back to life right then. We did not have to buy a new one, and he charged us less for his service call than did the Billy Carlson company !
    - Robert G.
  • D
    Better Built Basements (BBB) was not the least expensive of the three contractors to quote my basement renovation job.  But they came with positive reviews from Angie's list and others.  Overall the the finished product is as expected, but the job was punctuated with periods of miscommunication, arrogance, disrespect and, after the job was completed and a problem occurred
    with the electric panel set up, denial of responsibility and an irrational and emotional response from the president of the company to a problem they created.  A concise listing of events and occurrences, some of which illustrate this perspective and some that may be of use for homeowners who have never been through a renovation:
    ·       In the beginning of the job, BBB said that I could track progress and job activity on a cloud-based software called ?buildertrend.?  After checking the site three times during the first two weeks of the job, no updates were posted to the site. The response from BBB was ?we don?t put every activity up there.?  None were posted.
    ·      During the job, we were informed by BBB that one of my town codes supposedly stated that there needed to be ?air flow?
    between floors.  BBB wanted to cut a hole n the floor between the basement and first floor to allow for this flow.  When we questioned the town code (it turns out they did NOT have to cut the hole), the president, on the phone with his worker on site said ?you tell her (my wife) we are cutting the hole in the floor or we?re off the job.?
     ·      When I called BBB to change the size of a full-wall mirror from ?above the outlet? to ?floor to ceiling,? the President of BBB said ?The mirror is 5x9'2 inches. They never go to the floor and it always goes above the outlets. If you want it to go floor to ceiling with the outlet I can get you a price but it will probably be 1000-1500 more (than the $500 included in the cost of the job). They
    charge a lot to cut the glass for outlets and larger mirrors over 5 foot high. We talked about this at the signing. In 7 years we have never done a floor to ceiling mirror they are too cost prohibitive.?  I cancelled the BBB mirror and ordered the floor to ceiling mirror from a local fabricator who was happy to accept the job. The cost was $1,100 total installed, not the $1,500 - $2,000 suggested by BBB.  BBB applied a $500 credit to the final cost.
     ·      At the end of the job, we did a walkthrough with the original salesperson.  All went well. I called the next day
    reminding him of the ?free TV? offer on the BBB postcard that we discussed at the beginning of the job.  His response
    was ?I don't think that we talked about a promotion when I was just there for the sign-off.... I looked at your contract
    and it didn't come up at the signing either because its not listed on the contract.?  When I reminded him that the offer was not contingent on the contract language but an explicit promise on the postcard, he gave us the TV.
    Now for the ?after-job? events:
    The final sign off occurred on April 30, 2015. The job, as I mentioned, was well-done overall and they delivered what
    we expected.  On Thursday, May 21, three weeks after the BBB job was completed, I turned on our central air conditioner
    for the first time this season.  One of the units was not blowing cold air, so I scheduled a service call with my local HVAC contractor for Thursday, May 28. The contractor arrived, took a look at the AC coils and tried to turn on the unit.  There was no power. He
    inspected the electrical panel (which was re-positioned and re-wired by BBB as part of the basement job) and asked us if the panel was new.  When we said ?yes,? he asked if a licensed electrician did the job.  When we asked why, he said that the AC unit was wired incorrectly and needed to be remedied ASAP.  The cost from my AC contractor for uncovering the BBB electrical mistake was $280. 
    This is the email I sent to BBB on May 28? ?One of my air conditioner units was not working, so I called [my AC contractor] to
    check it out.  After taking a look at the AC unit, he went to the electrical panel.  He informs me that the panel was wired incorrectly and needs to be re-wired with a new breaker for the AC unit.  He stated that it is a hazard. Can your electrician call [my AC contractor] ? to discuss the issue and solve it today?  I?d hate to see this turn into am unsafe issue.  Thank you.?
    BBB responded quickly and sent an electrician to fix the problem. I sent the following message to BBB? ?Can you
    guys please consider paying the bill from the AC company?.  Turns out the only thing wrong with the AC was the electric hook up.?
    BBB?s response? A terse? . ?We don't cover outside contractors.?
    While replacing the breaker and re-wiring the AC unit, the BBB electrician shorted an adjacent breaker and ?fried? a TV that was plugged into an outlet in the basement.  When I heard of the mishap and having received the terse message that BBB does not ?cover outside contractors,? I sent the following message to BBB?
     "The only reason why the AC was not working was that the BBB electric job was done incorrectly. That cost me $280 from [AC contractor]. When [BBB electrician] came out, he did something to the panel that blew out the TV hooked up in the basement.  He
    said he would replace that.  At this point, I need some assurance the electric is safe and correctly installed and
    that the $280 charge will be reimbursed and that a new 19? brand name TV will be delivered on Saturday.  These actions
    will essentially stop me from sharing this story with local broadcast and social media, including Angie?s list. 
    Let me know what you think.  Thanks.
    A new TV was delivered later that day.  The electrician admitted his error in wiring and was apologetic and professional.
     
    The president of BBB responded to my email via a voicemail? Here are key excerpts:
     
    ?Sorry about your AC not being hooked up?
    ?He (BBB electrician) made a mistake.?
    ?[Our electrician] is a licensed E-2 electrician so I can assure you that it was done properly?
    ?You didn?t call us first before you called your AC guy and that?s on you.?
    ?I?m not paying for your AC guy?s bill.  I?m not doing it.?
    ?As far as your threat to go to.. Angie?s list. I have your email showing that you are threatening me.  I don?t respond to threats.  That doesn?t work for me.?
    ?What I can tell you from the bottom of my heart is that I don?t respond to threats.  So as far as you threatening me about Angie?s list? or the TV or whatever else, I?ve got attorneys too, so don?t threaten me.?
    The comment regarding the expectation that I should have called BBB first when the AC was not working does not hold water.  Using this logic, I should call BBB when any electrical device in the house is not working properly, expecting that it could be from poor wiring in the new BBB-installed electric panel. 
    While the overall job was completed as designed, and likely would have earned a ?B? rating, it was sometimes a painful journey.  And the events that occurred after the job was completed, including the refusal to pay the $280 HVAC charge, showed inept management, the lack of a customer-centric perspective and led directly to this poor review of Better Built Basements.


    - Craig S.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

HVAC Contractors in Southington

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!