Get matched with top Masonry Contractors in Fairfield

There are 226 highly-rated local masonry contractors.

Masonry reviews in Fairfield

  • F
    Masonry Enforcement
    Originally I was happy with Mike's services but when the front stairs that he put in for me cracked and pieces broke off he did not honor his 5 year guarantee even after several calls over many weeks. Disappointing.
    - Pete D.
  • A
    Lecla Home Improvements and Roofing Inc.
    I am very happy with the results. This is the second time that I have them working on my house. Henry and team (Nelson, Francisco, Augustine, and Marcelio) did a wonderful job. They worked hard, professional, and very nice. They are quiet, work fast, clean, and leave. I recommended them to family and friends.
    - Sue R.
  • B
    FIRST AMERICAN LANDSCAPING AND MASONRY LLC
    The First American Landscape crew did a good job. When asked during the project to perform small side items, they agreeably accommodated. They were polite and professional. Tough they did not work weekends, I did not inquire or request so. I'm pleased with the finished project, and I would recommend First American Landscape for masonry projects.
    - Cindy H.
  • A
    M & J Roofing LLC
    We have used M&J in the past to install a new roof and this time we called them to repair our brick chimney at the roof line and also repair boot vents on a different roof. Louie is the best and we highly recommend him and his company! They are responsive, reliable, conscientious and do great work.
    - Kathleen F.
  • A
    HKD Home & Kitchen Design inc.
    HKD was professional and polite throughout the entire time that the construction was being completed. Workers finished on time, got going with work right away, and were very organized. The price for the work provided was more than reasonable, and the work done shows just that. There was no issue with professionalism, and I would definitely hire HKD for future projects.
    - Christina B.
  • F
    Masonry Enforcement
    We selected Mike Napoleone based on many factors. He had excellent reviews on Angie���s List (AL), he was AL Certified, an AL Super Service Award winner, personable, understood our needs, and his price was competitive. He also said he could start work immediately. Before we signed a contract, Mike was responsive to our emails/questions. Since the deposit, he has been predominantly irresponsive, uncommunicative, ignores our messages/emails/calls, consistently no-shows, and makes commitments he can���t keep. He said our start date would be 10/5/17 and that the project would be completed in 2 weeks. Work did not start until 11/6/17 and our project to date is still not finished. Initially we were happy with the work done, but over the past few months have become extremely unhappy with the quality of materials used and workmanship. The flagstone is breaking, the cement is chipping, the edge of the flagstone patio is jagged, there are clumps of cement around the perimeter of the patio, there are areas of the patio where the flagstone significantly overhangs the cement slab, there are voids between the cement slab and the laid flagstone, salt deposits are leaking from the stone veneered steps, both the flagstone and stone veneer themselves are rusting, and there is unsafe sharp corner of the constructed front walkway. Everything looks terrible. Work done 3 months ago looks like it was done at 10 years ago, and by an amateur not a professional. Friends have asked us if we did the work ourselves, which is not the response I would hope to get about a service performed by a professional. The last day a crew was at our house was during the week of 12/6/17. They took down our cattle fence, removed some equipment, and left our yard like a construction zone. Large pieces of broken flagstone/stone have been left all over the yard, making it unsafe for our toddler. Buckets/wheelbarrows have been left all over the yard, along with a soil compactor, extension leads and other equipment. It���s a disaster zone/eye sore, and we haven���t been able to use the yard since. We have made numerous payment installments to Mike in good faith despite our contract agreement that half the cost would be paid in deposit and the remainder at completion. We feel we have been nothing but patient but have now reached our limit. We understand that there are project delays and weather can prohibit progress, but at this point Mike has taken advantage of us and our flexibility. We asked him on numerous occasions that if he did not think he could handle our project that he return our deposit and payments, and each time he assured us that the work would be completed in one or two weeks. We are so unhappy with Mike and the work performed that we would rather demolish it and start from scratch. We have lost all faith and trust in him. Every time we look at the patio/stairs, we feel angry/upset, and hate the work that has been done. It is unacceptable to feel that way about a 3-month-old product. The following outlines communication with Mike since 9/29/17: ���9/29 Signed contract with Mike Napoleone (MN), paid deposit ���10/4 Texted MN asking if work will start 10/5 as relayed on 9/29. MN responded there was a delay on another project, work would start 10/10 ���10/10 Texted MN asking if work was starting today. MN responded would arrive later that day with tools/equipment. MN did not show ���10/11 Text from MN that would be starting work 10/12 or 10/13. MN did not show either day. ���10/15 Emailed MN asking when work on project would start ���10/17 Email from MN that materials would be delivered to house on 10/20 ���10/20 No materials delivered. Email from MN apologizing for no-show. Said would be the last delay, job would be staged 10/21-10/22 ���10/24 Emailed MN as job not staged. Inquired when work would start. ���10/26 Email from MN that weather bad. Work will start 10/30 ���10/28 Emailed MN asking if work will start 10/30 since weather looks bad. Conveyed discontent with project delay, numerous no shows, broken commitments. Asked for refund of deposit if unable to start during week of 10/30 ���10/30 No reply from MN to 10/28 email. Called MN, left voicemail. Texted to call us ASAP. ���10/30 Text from MN that received our email/voicemail. Work would start 10/31 ���10/31 Crew arrived at house to demo existing slab. Left after 15mins. Received text from MN that slab is thicker than expected, jackhammer needed to demo ���10/31 Texted MN asking if should edit scope to keep existing slab instead of demoing, extend existing slab, set flagstone in cement ���10/31 MN returned to house, discussed revising scope to keep existing slab, extend slab, set flagstone in cement. Texted MN asking for revised estimate with cost breakdown per project element. Asked that he send estimate that night as were concerned cost of project would escalate outside of budget ���10/31 Emailed MN example of the estimate/cost break down looking for ���10/31 Text from MN that cost of additional work would be $5k. No cost breakdown provided ���11/1 MN met us to finalize revised scope. Told us entire project would be complete in 1-2 weeks. Work would start 11/2 ���11/2 No show. Received text from MN that were ready to start but truck broke down. Crew would be at house 11/3 to remove shed ���11/5 Shed not removed. Texted MN asking about shed ���11/5 MN replied promising full crew would start work 11/6 ���Week of 11/6: Work on back patio started. Materials delivered, area staged, limits of patio marked, dirt compacted, gravel base placed ���11/11 Texted MN to call me as had questions about slab. Spoke with MN. Followed up with text questioning reinforcing slab. MN replied. ���Week of 11/13: Cement poured, started laying flagstone ���11/16 Text from MN that he needed payment of $8000. Payment outside of contract terms. Payment made for fear of delaying project. ���Week of 11/21: Grout between flagstone placed, railing on back steps removed, existing steps capped with stone, sides veneered with stone. Work started on front steps/walkway, removed railing. Existing walkway removed, flagstone in cement placed ���11/25 Crew came to remove shed. Shed not demo���d per contract but rolled to front yard. Said ok provided shed removed on 11/27. Crew said would be removed on 11/27 ���11/27 Shed not removed. Called MN. Left voicemail. MN texted that truck was coming 11/28. ���11/28 Texted MN about concerns with patio/front walkway. Front walkway has corner that comes to dangerous sharp point over driveway. Clumped cement outside perimeter of back patio where concrete poured to set flagstone, flagstone overhangs the concrete poured by a couple of inches. Told MN that we wanted this fixed ���11/28 MN responded he would look at concerns above ���11/29 Workers started attaching deer fence to existing cattle fence. Deer fence not what agreed to, barely higher than existing fence ���12/1 Texted MN inquiring about deer fence ���12/2 Text from MN asking to stop by the house to show us what he wanted to do regarding deer fence/grading of backyard ���12/3 MN arrived at house, discussed bringing in dirt to regrade backyard. Stone wall would be built to contain dirt. Would remove existing cattle fence before regrading, reinstall after with 6ft high deer fence. No additional cost. Showed him areas of concern with work so far. Asked when railing for back steps would be installed. MN said concerns would be addressed ASAP. Said entire project would be finished in 2 weeks. Decided to proceed. MN said would be at house 12/4 to start regrading. ���12/6 Text from MN that they can���t bring in fill because ground is wet from rain. Said would be at house 12/7 and/or 12/8. ���12/17 Texted MN asking for update, if any work will get done until spring. Since 12/6, crew took down existing cattle fence but otherwise no show. Asked for realistic timeline since project should have been completed already ���12/22 Texted MN as no response received to message sent on 12/17 ���12/22 Text from MN that he would restart work after holidays. Asked for $3500 payment needed for regrading. Fill being brought next week ���12/26 Text from MN asking to pick up check ���12/26 Emailed MN inquiring why he needed more money. Said we���re discontent with the project (delays, poor workmanship etc). Contract stated payment at beginning and final payment at end. We did not feel should make another payment. Want to meet to discuss ���12/27 Texted MN that we sent him an email, wanted to meet to discuss ���12/29 No response from MN. Texted again to talk about project. Conveyed wanted to finish the project, and if that means making another payment then will if the project moves forward, no more delays ���12/29 MN called. Promised work would be complete in January despite weather. Gave MN $3500 payment ���12/29 Texted MN about stair railing/holes in siding created by railing removal. MN replied will make it work ���1/2/18 Texted MN inquiring when work will start based on weather. MN responded will start Monday 1/8. ���1/6/18 Texted MN relaying discontent. Asked for return of $3500 payment since unlikely regrading will be done before spring. Asked to complete work that could be done. Asked to put the project on hold until spring. ���1/9/18 MN responds to 1/6 text that weather looks better, will proceed with project ���1/26/18 No reply from MN since 1/9. Texted MN asking when work will continue ���1/26/18 Text from MN would be there next week ���1/28/18 Texted MN inquiring if bringing in dirt/regrading. If not, asked to complete other work ���2/2/18 Text from MN that would be there next week ���2/21/18 No communication from MN since 2/2. Texted MN inquiring if work would continue ���2/21/18 Response from MN: ���We will be there next week for sure��� ���2/21/18 Texted MN regarding concerns with work completed on patio, stairs. Sent pictures of concern. Asked what can be done to fix ���2/23/18 No response from MN. Texted asking to meet on 2/25 ���2/25/18 No response from MN. Texted again asking to meet ���12/28/18 Attempted calling MN. No response
    - Emma H.
  • A
    Mark Carroll Landscaping & Stone Masonry, LLC
    Mark understood exactly what I was looking for in both projects. His polite, skilled masons created a beautiful, natural-looking walkway and staircase with large stone steps which is a perfect fit with the original stone walls in my yard. The crew showed me the boulders before placing them and had me try out the steps as they were placed to make sure I was comfortable with the spacing. Before finishing they cleaned up and planted fresh grass seed so that within a few days the steps looked like they had been there forever. The grout in my bluestone patio had been destroyed by time and an over-zealous powerwasher, but Mark's crew was able to clean out the remnants of the grout and pour new grout so that the patio now looks new. They cleaned up thoroughly after the job, removing and replacing my patio furniture so that the patio was ready to use again in just a few days. Both projects significantly enhanced the beauty of my yard at a reasonable price. Mark was so easy to work with; I would definitely hire him again for landscaping and masonry projects.
    - Tamara W.
  • A
    Rizzo Masonry & Landscaping
    Great experience. I've worked with Steve for fall cleanups, and they did a great job with that and this masonry work. Steve came for an estimate and promptly responded with a written estimate. Once we agreed to move forward, he and his team showed up exactly on time and got right to work. The two workers who did the actual repointing were extremely polite and considerate--they even stopped work for about an hour so my 1-year-old could nap! That's above and beyond. The actual work was very clean and professional looking, a good investment. I would definitely use them again. The only thing I will say is that sometimes it's hard to schedule them (mostly for landscaping though)--they tend to book up quickly. But I guess that's a sign of healthy business, and they were able to get to work on this project with fairly short lead-time.
    - Jennifer B.
  • A
    Mark Carroll Landscaping & Stone Masonry, LLC
    Mark and his team did a fantastic and beautiful job! From responsiveness for initial quote to final completion of the projects, Mark and his team demonstrated professionalism and attention to detail. The new steps and walkway were finished in stone that looks beautiful and the newly repaved driveway looks sharp! The work was done on time and on budget and the crew worked diligently, even in some ugly weather, to get the job done perfectly. Mark was immediately responsive to any/all questions throughout the process. Once we complete some other renovations, we'll have Mark and his team back in the spring to help with major landscaping work.
    - Michiko M.
  • A
    Fireguard Chimney Services, Inc.
    The job ended up being much more complicated than he had expected, however, he never increased his price estimate and completed the job thoroughly and professionally. Great, honest, hard working guy. Does what he says he will. 

    - Brian C.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.
Join Angie's List Now To see all 226 highly rated companies in Fairfield

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Masonry Contractor Articles

Go to the article: 

5 Steps to Hire the Best Masonry Contractor

.
Go to the article: 

Should You Repair or Replace Masonry?

.
Go to the article: 

10 Questions to Ask a Masonry Contractor

.
a brick chimney on the side of a blue house with two windows

Masonry Contractors in Fairfield

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.

To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!