Negaunee Wheelchair Ramp Builders

Get quotes from professionals in your area!

Angie's List : Local Reviews : Handymen : MI : Negaunee : Negaunee Handyman Services : Negaunee Wheelchair Ramp Builders
N/A
1
Review
Business Description: Decks have become a very popular, low-cost way to add living space to a home and provide a great space to relax, entertain friends or enjoy outdoor dining. However, like all wood services, they need to be properly maintained. Because wood decks are subject to the damaging effects of weather, it is critical to have your deck cleaned and protected on a regular basis. A poorly maintained deck quickly turns grey in color as it deteriorates due to dirt, mold and algae, gradually tearing apart the surface of the wood. Soon splinters will form, creating a rougher surface even more inviting to dirt and grime. We also offer a sanding process like no other company, removing old paints and stains.
F
2
Reviews
Business Description: AJ Williams is a small local Remodeling Company based out of St Petersburg Florida, we have a total of 4 employees including the owner who is a Hands-On employee. All payments are due upon completion we offer a best price guarantee to beat all competitors prices with outstanding quality
N/A
3
Reviews
Recent Review: Great! Bob provided written, detailed estimates. His workers arrived promptly every day, worked full days each day, they kept the job site clean and tidy. Bob was able to handle additional requests with minimal cost increase. His electrical subcontractor was prompt, efficient, and completed the work on time. All inspections and permits were satisfactory.
N/A
6
Reviews
Recent Review: Measurements were taken to install the ramp to the existing deck and made to code which made it fit to the surrounding area. It was made to the specs exactly and made very quickly. The job was done very quickly for the amount of time that was given and met with all of our needs to get my husband to his doctors appointments as needed and was a complete God send, I was very pleased with the quality of the job and his timeliness in it's completion
N/A
10
Reviews
Recent Review: Job was started on time and the owner Blake Tuttle was on Job site every minute! Employees very friendly and in uniform.
N/A
11
Reviews
Recent Review: New Horizon's was hired in 2009 to adapt my home for w/c accessibility. Although, Cass Gajewski, the owner and General Mgr., had not done adaptations before, he quickly learned what was and quot;Code.and quot; The work began in May of 2009, and I moved back into my home in October, 2009. Virtually, every aspect of my home had to be redone. I had to have my family room floor raised so I could get around my home in my w/c. The kitchen and bathroom was completely gutted and replaced with disability friendly appliances and hardware. Cass kept me in the loop the entire way, and if I had questions or needed something to be changed, it was done. Cass coordinated all the work to be done, and hired plumbers. electricians, tilers, flooring and painters, etc., as needed. He remained available even after I moved back home.
A
3
Reviews
Recent Review: We replaced an existing wood deck with composite and it looks absolutely gorgeous-we have received numerous compliments on it and we have spent all summer on it!!! During the install of our deck, we learned Renewit also provides floor refinishing, which we have been meaning to have done, but have been putting off for one reason or another-we decided to go ahead and have our living room refinished. It turned out absolutely stunning and wish we would have done it sooner! Can't say enough good things about the services provided to us-the Renewit crew was dependable, professional and exceeded our expectations with the work they provided. Highly recommend!
N/A
6
Reviews
Recent Review: From start to finish he listened to our ideas and was very willing at any time to make changes. He offered many ideas and suggestions of his own. He is a very talented person and adaptable to almost any job. He is very experienced and professional. He strives for perfection and customer satisfaction. He is very punctual and always kept us informed of the progress of the project and where everything stood as far as scheduling and completion. We plan on having him remodel two bathrooms and master bedroom addition in the near future.
B
34
Reviews
Business Description: Kevco has been in business since 1980 and is the Area's Most Award Winning Company. We want you, our client, to know that we care as much about your home or project as you do. We are committed to using every resource at our disposal to complete each project on time, on budget, and to your satisfaction. We will continue to build a company with integrity and reliability as the benchmark for all of our relationships that our clients, employees and suppliers can rely on.

Reviews in Negaunee for Building Wheelchair Ramps

FAJ Williams Pressure Washing and Painting
adam power washed the siding & 1/2 of the steps. He tore the indoor outdoor carpet off the deck to power wash & the deck boards were rotted. My Mom wrote him a check for $1086 for materials and another check for $350, the agreed upon price for the power washing. adam cashed the checks that day and has not been seen since. That was 4 weeks ago He will not answer or return calls. He left torn off boards on the deck and dragged the carpet behind the garage and left it in a heap, killing the grass and never completed the power washing. I have to take him to small claims court to get back the money he stole from my Mom.
- John O....
ARW Riedel Co
Great! Bob provided written, detailed estimates. His workers arrived promptly every day, worked full days each day, they kept the job site clean and tidy. Bob was able to handle additional requests with minimal cost increase. His electrical subcontractor was prompt, efficient, and completed the work on time. All inspections and permits were satisfactory.
- William H....
ADoug Loven Construction Inc.
Measurements were taken to install the ramp to the existing deck and made to code which made it fit to the surrounding area. It was made to the specs exactly and made very quickly. The job was done very quickly for the amount of time that was given and met with all of our needs to get my husband to his doctors appointments as needed and was a complete God send, I was very pleased with the quality of the job and his timeliness in it's completion
- Arlene G....
ANorth Coast Landscaping
Job was started on time and the owner Blake Tuttle was on Job site every minute! Employees very friendly and in uniform.
- Robert T....
BNew Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC
New Horizon's was hired in 2009 to adapt my home for w/c accessibility. Although, Cass Gajewski, the owner and General Mgr., had not done adaptations before, he quickly learned what was and quot;Code.and quot; The work began in May of 2009, and I moved back into my home in October, 2009. Virtually, every aspect of my home had to be redone. I had to have my family room floor raised so I could get around my home in my w/c. The kitchen and bathroom was completely gutted and replaced with disability friendly appliances and hardware. Cass kept me in the loop the entire way, and if I had questions or needed something to be changed, it was done. Cass coordinated all the work to be done, and hired plumbers. electricians, tilers, flooring and painters, etc., as needed. He remained available even after I moved back home.
- Lesley O....
ARenewit Group
We replaced an existing wood deck with composite and it looks absolutely gorgeous-we have received numerous compliments on it and we have spent all summer on it!!! During the install of our deck, we learned Renewit also provides floor refinishing, which we have been meaning to have done, but have been putting off for one reason or another-we decided to go ahead and have our living room refinished. It turned out absolutely stunning and wish we would have done it sooner! Can't say enough good things about the services provided to us-the Renewit crew was dependable, professional and exceeded our expectations with the work they provided. Highly recommend!
- Julie G....
A45th Parallel Build & Remodel
From start to finish he listened to our ideas and was very willing at any time to make changes. He offered many ideas and suggestions of his own. He is a very talented person and adaptable to almost any job. He is very experienced and professional. He strives for perfection and customer satisfaction. He is very punctual and always kept us informed of the progress of the project and where everything stood as far as scheduling and completion. We plan on having him remodel two bathrooms and master bedroom addition in the near future.
- Fred A....
FJohn's Handyman Services
'John came out to my house and looked at everything I wanted done. He quoted me $2350.00. I had told him that I found him on Angie's list and he had a coupon on his site for 10% off for Angie list members. Which he DID NOT honor! John had quoted me the price and that it would be completed in two weeks.  The job took three weeks and it cost me $9200.00. I was very unhappy with the finished work. I have an electrical socket hanging on the floor in the living room.  The walls in the living room was redone and they are bowing out, which this is what I paid him to fix.  The paint job has spots of drywall showing in the master bedroom an also in the dining room. I have drywall nails coming out through the paint. The door trim never got put on, Some of the electrical and windows never got finished.  I have spots in the living room that was supposed to have a seal put on and there are spots that were missed. I have gouge marks on the ceiling also in the living room. He had drilled two holes in the kitchen to see if there was insulation after I had told him there wasn't. He also drilled three holes on the outside of my house for the same reason after I had told him that this part of the house is insulated. He had took his fist and punched a hole in the wall of the laundry room again for the same reason, insulation which again I told him it was insulated and also visible.  He was suppose to frame around the entry way door and there is a big gap in the door that is letting a tremendous amount of cold air coming through. The window he replaced wasn't put in correctly or never got finished.  I was taken once before with construction work done to my house and John reassured me that he was honest and would basically correct what the last guy had messed up and O read the reviews on him through Angie's list and figured I was safe this time. Well I was wrong. It is a mess. I was also told by John if I find anything wrong with his work to call him and he would come and make it right. I called and he told me he had become ill and when he was feeling better he would be out. I called several times after that and I never had seen him since. John comes off trustworthy and honest but in reality he is not. I am a handicap single woman and he took full advantage of that. Now I am out of money and the work I desperately needed done goes unfinished and mostly what he did do is done wrong. I am very unhappy with his performance, work quality and the amount he had charged me because there was a $6,850 difference from the original quote. I will never go through this again and I still have to figure out how to finish my house to make it handicap ready for when I am wheelchair bound. I have all the proof and receipts to prove everything that I have stated.
- Bernice B....
FKevco Builders Inc
Disappointing from start (8/9/2016) to stop work threat (1/12/2018)! Started design in August 2016 for the remodel with Then Director of Operations and Project Supervisor (DO & PS1) of Kevco and site meeting with past owner of Kevco, and at time of site review and estimate, project estimator for Kevco. It took 4 month to get a basic drawing. I signed the contract to design blueprints and begin scope of work and commencement of contract draw December 23, 2016, project to take 120 days from start of site work. I was told 2-3 weeks to design copies and permit submission. January 10th 2017 I order Endless pool/spa as requested to by Kevco Builders Inc. to receive engineered pool specifications for build requirements, Endless pools supplied specifications and engineered plans at end of Dec. 2016 in email packet to the DO/PS1 of Kevco by email as part of pool purchase discussions prior to purchase. I was installing this pool/spa and modifying my master bath for continued therapy for an upcoming surgery In April 2017, and medical condition I live with. In mid-February I had no permits or finished blueprints after several site and office meetings. Beginning of March; I still had no permit approvals. End of March; Kevco workers demolished my master bath after requests to Kevco to a least get things started on the contract, plan. Building Permit approval 3/13/2018. We are notified the DO/PS1 resigned from Kevco. The new Vice President of Operations (VPO) met us at our house with the second Project Supervisor (PS2) on my project. We Discussed build problems and design faults and he stated the build plans are not correct for this house. He ordered new plans to be developed and new submission for permits. New plans delay work until approval 6/1/2017. Excavating and Concrete foundation poured 6/14/17. End of June 2017 the PS2 quits Kevco over other job issues. Third PS (PS3) is placed on my project. Existing Florida room partially demolished and I insisted the removal of entire roof and framing due to header support splits and discrepancy of new plan addition ceiling. I was told by prior DO the room would be fully removed to gable throughout the entire new room. My discussion with the VPO became so heated that a worker I had staining our boat dock motioned to me as to if I needed his help. I was charged 11k+ in a change order to remove the room and re-plan again. There were many things we felt should be in the realm of the build and were stated to be included by the prior supervisor as an assumed part of the build that Kevco later submitted to us as up-charge change orders. The VPO disputed the insulation in our garage to be batt when it clearly stated to use ISO foam on the project in the contract. On many occasions I had to quote a scope of work on the original block build plan that in cases did not reflect our wood frame correct construction because it had not been updated to reflect the new plan approvals. The master bath took nearly 7 months to renovate, it’s not a big room. My assessment of the stain work completed in mid-August on the new bath and bedroom windows was wholly unsatisfactory. The wood on the expensive Marvin door and windows had not been sanded, prepared for stain, or stained the correct color that we had approved on a sample. The VPO and PS3 were sent a written rejection of the finish work with photos. The VPO and PS3 conducted a site visit viewed the quality, color, and finish and agreed with me, on the spot, it was not satisfactory. The VPO had the painter and the owner of the company they contracted with come to my home, view the job and owner of the painting co. stated he would not fix anything or offer any solution. They accepted no accountability for their work or finish quality deficit. Kevco representatives VPO or PS3 did not attend this meeting to provide the customer service I expected from the Contracting Company. No resolution has been attempted or offered to date. I have on more than several occasions sent emails to both VPO and PS3 of unsatisfactory work with pictures to verify and document my assessments. My Marvin Storm 3 windows (70K worth) have taken 5 months to install. I called the distributor for help, and for a site review of the installation with Kevco representatives present. The distributor told the VPO, PS3 and others, and that Marvin and the distributor would NOT warranty the instillation as it was that day. The distributor then instructed Kevco and their team on how the windows needed to be reinstalled for them to comply with proper instillation and be warrantied. Since that meeting 2 large sliders have been removed and reinstalled 3 times due to improper installation and water intrusion, and other windows 2 times to re-seal them as the distributor recommended. The windows failed the first inspection; they had not been installed as to meeting review instructions. In fact, ALL the first inspections were failed. I had spoken to the inspector previous to the rough inspections and was given a punch list to attend to so our build would pass. This was covered in a site meeting and email with the VPO & PS3. Many punch items were not done or attempted, even after emailed reminder and verbal discussions with Kevco’s PS3 and VPO. The instances when the VPO is attentive are when Kevco wants to force a draw. The siding and trim draw was forced (45,400.00) against our verbalized and written refusals, which caused siding to be partially installed when the window instillation were not finished! The painting was started to get a draw (45,400.00) at Christmas in bad weather, against our verbalized and written refusals, when the cypress siding was not yet finished to able to be painted, nor were the large patio sliders reinstalled (3rd time due to water intrusion at the frame in) to be to able side and trim in! As of 1/18/2018 the painting is not finished outside or even started inside the home. Drywall has not been repaired, nor has the ceiling damage from storms and a hurricane that occurred when our roof was off for many weeks. Now they have stopped all other finishing of previous work and other draw tasks are left unfinished. Kevco is insisting on a finished flooring draw. The room to get the floor has not had the custom finished paneling installed, no finish electrical, and none of the windows or doors are trimmed out or stained, the large slider are still unfinished and without the exterior storm rain diverters, and they have not installed any of the sliding door screens. I held a site discussion 12/27/2017 in the evening with the VPO (His available time)and hand delivered to the VPO a notice to complete unfinished works letter, which he signed for, to complete all other draw items and deficient works noted up to 12/27/2017 before any more draws or monies would be given to Kevco. He signed my copy, which of we discussed the total content. A copy was emailed a few days later and hand delivered at a site meeting to the PS3 who stated he had no knowledge of the letter to cure. A full accounting of all monies was provided and a notice of all cashed checks by Kevco was also given and emailed to the VPO. My email requests for information, work confirmations are now not being answered by Kevco but referred to their attorney for response. I have logged photographically almost weekly, the progress, lack of progress and quality issues. I have also maintained my emailed correspondences to Kevco representatives. I also kept and continue to journal in a calendar diary of this monumentally unfortunate experience. Their in-house Kevco photographer quit coming around my project in April 2017, I asked why? No answer. In the response of the unknown author to my review, it is stated I would provide a “raving review”. I decline stating the misquoted representation. As well as the one wherein I would remove my Angie’s list review immediately. In fact, I refused on the phone, in person, and several times, to the VPO and PS3 to remove my assessment and observations of the businesses performance. I stood behind, and still uphold my assessments and reviews of my experience and it’s veracity of observations of Kevco Builders Inc. performance on my project. The statement of “would love Kevco to complete my home” is WAY out of context. YES, COMPLETE MY HOME WITH THE QUALITY AND CUSTOMER SATISFACTION YOU TOUT AS A CUSTOM BUILDER, AND GET OUT!, IT’S BEEN ALMOST 1.5 YEARS! I NEED MY THERAPY POOL/SPA! That is the correct context. In fact, my consistent refusal to remove the review resulted in the VPO and the Owner of Kevco to threaten stop work on the phone and in email, and further, issue a stop work email notification rather than address my dissatisfaction and complete my home. Unanswered emailed and text notifications of poor quality, lack of progress and poor communication, were, and are the impetus for my review. This is the third such response from VPO to my many notices of unsatisfactory work and disagreement of realm of build inclusions. This experience is not at all what I have experienced in the past with having a great contractor build my 3200 sp. ft. high end custom home in 8 months(and be photo displayed in a contractors build competition!) in the north, and remodeling as many as 5 homes I’ve lived in. PLEASE talk to others (professional and consumer), use Angie’s List, and view work completed by looking up permits granted, CO’s or finale inspections, contacting others that will show their finished site, not just the contractor supplied list. If, as you say mystery author in your response, your company has “completed over 60 custom homes in 2017”, why can you not complete my project satisfactorily in a year and a half? My review stands in my original observations: Horrible customer service, unsupported engineering, poor quality, poor worker management, poor time management, poor timeline adherence, poor appointment and job site attendance as these observations and experiences above support my review.
- Lesle C....