Falmouth French Door Installation

Get quotes from professionals in your area!

Angie's List : Local Reviews : Doors : KY : Falmouth : Falmouth Door Installers : Falmouth French Door Installation
A
16
Reviews
Recent Review: Great. This is the second screen installed and both have been great
N/A
3
Reviews
Recent Review: My wife and I were unsure of the direction and what to look for in a door. We looked at Anderson, Pella, etc. products and researched reviews on all the products offered. From day one, we had the pleasure of dealing with the friendly customer service assistant as well as Todd. We have to say that both are great ambassadors for Sun Windows. Todd provided us with quotes and all the different options available for each door style we choose. Todd always greeted us with a smile and was extremely patient as we changed our minds several times. We did not feel rushed to make a decision, nor did we get the impression that Todd just wanted to sell us a door. He took the time to explain all the features of each product and truly cared about our desires so that we would be happy with our decision. Todd showed us the best customer experience possible. We also had the pleasure of dealing with Mark, the installer. Mark came to our home, took the measurements, and we had discussions with him on what he has seen other customers do as well as what we would like to see done. Mark called when the door was ready, showed up the next day on time to install, was professional during the whole process, cleaned up after he was completed, and provided top notch craftsmanship. For us, the experience of dealing with the professional crew at Sun Windows made it a seamless and a great experience. We have had a couple of weeks with the door and are extremely pleased with the quality of the product. We feel that we have made the right choice in using Sun Windows products and will continue as the need arises. Thank you for the experience.
A
110
Reviews
Recent Review: They were professional and did very on all jobs. Cleaned up and were here when they said. Price is expensive but they do a nice job.
A
159
Reviews
Recent Review: I compared prices with a few other companies and they were in the middle. They gave a high quality of service, cleaned up well and were in and out. They did a great job and I was very happy with them.
A
120
Reviews
Recent Review: Very good until it came to hanging my blinds back up. Installer did no want to do it, but was on my contract to be done. Ended up with a miss measurement & 4 holes in one door in wrong place. Would of rather been told no on blinds and hired a handyman to hang them. Spoiled the whole experience.
B
120
Reviews
Recent Review: Employee not on time.  Had to call owner several times to find out where employee was located.  French door install leas when rains and when stated this fact to installer they said it was the inferior siding not his work.  We were given a price to install the front door but after several issues with the installer the price was raised 200.00 dollars because there were going to be problems.  This came after the inss very combative and argumentative.  I called the main office and informed them we did not want this person on the property.  This company is very unprofessional and were reported to the BBB in Lexington KY.  I would not ever recommend this company. *Update September 15, 2013 - Response to company response* The worker for Handyman Connection quoted a price of $900 to replace a front door, patio door and steel door going into the garage.  He was to replace the patio door and steel door on the first visit and schedule a date to return when we received the front door for that work.  The contractor was to arrive at my house at 9:30a but didn't arrive until 10:30a .  He began working on the patio door first and didn't have the materials needed so I went to Lowe's in Danville to pick them up.  I got the wrong materials and he stated that he would have to go exchange for the materials needed,  He had trouble installing the new door and became increasingly agitated  After about and 1 1/2 hours he said that he was going to lunch and to exchange the materials.  He was gone for approximately 2 hours.  During that time it began to storm and water leaked into the basement from underneath the door and down the side of the door.  He used more caulking in these areas.  Since it was storming, he decided to work on the garage door and had difficulty with that door as well.  He finally got the door so that it could be locked and decided he was finished for the day.  By then it was 5:30p.  He said that he would finish the work on the patio door and install the screen doors for it and finish up the framework around the garage door and threshold when he came back to replace the front door.  I paid him $620 which for the two doors (including the unfinished work and $20 for materials).  Before his returned it had rained heavily a couple of times and water came in under the patio door into the basement. We received the front door on 9/1 and he was supposed to come back on 09/05/13at 9:30a to finish the the work from his first trip downstairs and to install the front entry door.  My wife took off work for this and he called me on my cell phone at exactly 9:30a saying he had surgery and wouldn't be there, and said he would be there on the following Monday 9/9 at 9:00.  My wife took off work again and the rep called me on my cell phone saying that he wouldn't be there but they would call back to reschedule.   The worker, Gary, called me and stated that  he was booked the rest of the week at which and I asked him to move another appointment as I had taken off work and could not take off again.  He stated he didn't want todo to his other customers what he did to us by canceling.  We then called the owner, Pete, he said that Gary would return 9/12 at 9:30a to finish up.  I called his employer at 10:15a to see where he was and they called him.  They called him and he stated he was at Lowes buying trim for the downstairs door leading into the garage.  he called me and when I informed him that the patio door was leaking again he said it was my poor siding on the house and not his workmanship.  I informed him that the old door never leaked but he just kept arguing.  He then told me that the front door was going to have problems and he would have to charge another $200 dollars to finish the installation.  He also told me that his boss said he didn't charge enough and to get more.  I told him he had already given a price for the installation which was 300 for the front door.  He stated that was just a estimate and not a firm price and he began to argue about the work being under bid.  I told him that I would only pay what was quoted in writing and work had be left undone.  Our patio door still leaks,  the trim around the entry door into the garage has not been completed (still needs trim, caulking, and the threshold buttoned down), and the front door was never touched.  He was paid for everything except the front door.  After he tried to charge more than the quoted price  I called his office and talked to the lady who answered the phone and told her I did not want him on the premises as i did not trust him or his work.  A complaint with the BBB in Lexington, KY has been filed.   The owner, Pete, still hasn't contacted me to discuss or send someone else to finish the work left undone. *Update September 27, 2013* Handyman Connection has repaired all mistakes. The owner immediately answered my complaint In a professional manner and was much appreciated. We had used his service on several occasions and were satisfied with his service. Handyman Connection was quick to respond after your service. Thank you angles list. Due the quick response from Handyman Connection we will increase their failing score to a ?A? in all areas. Thanks again Angie?s List

Reviews in Falmouth for French Door Installation

ASun Windows, Inc.
My wife and I were unsure of the direction and what to look for in a door. We looked at Anderson, Pella, etc. products and researched reviews on all the products offered. From day one, we had the pleasure of dealing with the friendly customer service assistant as well as Todd. We have to say that both are great ambassadors for Sun Windows. Todd provided us with quotes and all the different options available for each door style we choose. Todd always greeted us with a smile and was extremely patient as we changed our minds several times. We did not feel rushed to make a decision, nor did we get the impression that Todd just wanted to sell us a door. He took the time to explain all the features of each product and truly cared about our desires so that we would be happy with our decision. Todd showed us the best customer experience possible. We also had the pleasure of dealing with Mark, the installer. Mark came to our home, took the measurements, and we had discussions with him on what he has seen other customers do as well as what we would like to see done. Mark called when the door was ready, showed up the next day on time to install, was professional during the whole process, cleaned up after he was completed, and provided top notch craftsmanship. For us, the experience of dealing with the professional crew at Sun Windows made it a seamless and a great experience. We have had a couple of weeks with the door and are extremely pleased with the quality of the product. We feel that we have made the right choice in using Sun Windows products and will continue as the need arises. Thank you for the experience.
- William M....
CLake Shore Contracting Inc
Project started out good but lasted about 4months and last 2 months no one showed up on many days. Also later in project work got sloppy, painted 3 rooms and missed many spots, stained two sets of stairs driped stain on steps and around steps  did not wipe up leaving noticable spots around. Failed to finish painting window frames and french door frame. He had trouble keeping help and after school got out had his son helped him and apparently his son had little or no  experince in this type of work and made mistakes.
- Robert M....
AHyde Home Improvement
.Everything went very well do to the fact that Richard Hyde kept us informed of every detail during the construction. As with any construction project there were changes that had to be made and we were always informed of the changes needed and we were given the last word on any change. The contractor kept us involed from the beginning to the end. We have used Hyde Home Improvement for various projects since this addition was completed including a new roof, installing a dryer vent through a poured foundation, and general maintenance work. Any questions we had were addressed immediately and honestly.
- Dana R....
FChampion Windows and Home Exteriors of Louisville
At first all went well. The salesman was nice and I thought we were going to get a great product. The window installation manager came to measure the windows had made a few chauvinist comments, but I let that slide and laughed them off. Then a week or so before they got started on the windows I get notice that they cannot get the shake siding that I had picked out.  I decided that I would go with a wood siding that I would have put on later by another contractor. They were to refund me the price of the shake siding which I was told it was expensive when I selected it, but it would up being only $1500. Not as expensive as I was led to believe or I wasn't refunded the full price. Then when they showed up to move the door and install the windows, they were supposed to have a contractor move the plug in the hall.  They never scheduled this and I would up having to move the plug myself (here's to hoping the house doesn't catch fire...). The installing crew was very nice. After they left I got to looking and found two major issues.  The first was the window that was put in place of the doors that we moved. It came from the "bone yard" and I was told by the salesman that it would be perfect in our older home with five foot windows. It was an awful 3 foot tall and 6 foot wide sliding window that looked like it came out of a drive up liquor store - stuck in a hole that held a set of wood French doors on the front of the house! We asked for 5 foot tall windows, not this atrocity. The second problem was another window that was mounted flush with the inside wall rather than being centered in the casing. Who mounts windows like that - I couldn't hang a blind.  I called and complained and was basically told to live with it. I had to get my husband involved and wound up paying another $700 for them to come back out and fix the mess.  The salesman knew that the drive up window from the boneyard wouldn't match the rest of the windows. It was even supposed to have grids and didn't. I feel like he was looking for someone to pawn a junk window on. Not to mention that I paid for that junk boneyard window and it was smashed when it was removed on the second go around. So I am out the cost of that window (must have been $6500 based on the cost after the shake was refunded!) plus having to pay more for more windows. And the window installation manager telling me that I should just mount blinds directly on the wall rather than they doing the job correctly and the window being centered in the casing is unacceptable! As far as the sunroom, the installation went well.  I have had to have them come out and adjust the doors so that they will lock and they need adjusting again.  I believe I may be able to do this. I have noticed that they are sweating though and there are holes drilled in the outside flashing at the bottom like it was mis-drilled and instead of getting a new piece of trim, the installer flipped it over and drilled a second set of holes for the screws. I can already see this filling up with ants and water and leading to bigger problems down the road.  I would call and complain - but why bother. After spending nearly 30 grand with these guys, you would think I wouldn't have so many problems or have to deal with their people basically telling me to live with it!
- Jamie M....
AHandyman Connection - Lexington
Employee not on time.  Had to call owner several times to find out where employee was located.  French door install leas when rains and when stated this fact to installer they said it was the inferior siding not his work.  We were given a price to install the front door but after several issues with the installer the price was raised 200.00 dollars because there were going to be problems.  This came after the inss very combative and argumentative.  I called the main office and informed them we did not want this person on the property.  This company is very unprofessional and were reported to the BBB in Lexington KY.  I would not ever recommend this company. *Update September 15, 2013 - Response to company response* The worker for Handyman Connection quoted a price of $900 to replace a front door, patio door and steel door going into the garage.  He was to replace the patio door and steel door on the first visit and schedule a date to return when we received the front door for that work.  The contractor was to arrive at my house at 9:30a but didn't arrive until 10:30a .  He began working on the patio door first and didn't have the materials needed so I went to Lowe's in Danville to pick them up.  I got the wrong materials and he stated that he would have to go exchange for the materials needed,  He had trouble installing the new door and became increasingly agitated  After about and 1 1/2 hours he said that he was going to lunch and to exchange the materials.  He was gone for approximately 2 hours.  During that time it began to storm and water leaked into the basement from underneath the door and down the side of the door.  He used more caulking in these areas.  Since it was storming, he decided to work on the garage door and had difficulty with that door as well.  He finally got the door so that it could be locked and decided he was finished for the day.  By then it was 5:30p.  He said that he would finish the work on the patio door and install the screen doors for it and finish up the framework around the garage door and threshold when he came back to replace the front door.  I paid him $620 which for the two doors (including the unfinished work and $20 for materials).  Before his returned it had rained heavily a couple of times and water came in under the patio door into the basement. We received the front door on 9/1 and he was supposed to come back on 09/05/13at 9:30a to finish the the work from his first trip downstairs and to install the front entry door.  My wife took off work for this and he called me on my cell phone at exactly 9:30a saying he had surgery and wouldn't be there, and said he would be there on the following Monday 9/9 at 9:00.  My wife took off work again and the rep called me on my cell phone saying that he wouldn't be there but they would call back to reschedule.   The worker, Gary, called me and stated that  he was booked the rest of the week at which and I asked him to move another appointment as I had taken off work and could not take off again.  He stated he didn't want todo to his other customers what he did to us by canceling.  We then called the owner, Pete, he said that Gary would return 9/12 at 9:30a to finish up.  I called his employer at 10:15a to see where he was and they called him.  They called him and he stated he was at Lowes buying trim for the downstairs door leading into the garage.  he called me and when I informed him that the patio door was leaking again he said it was my poor siding on the house and not his workmanship.  I informed him that the old door never leaked but he just kept arguing.  He then told me that the front door was going to have problems and he would have to charge another $200 dollars to finish the installation.  He also told me that his boss said he didn't charge enough and to get more.  I told him he had already given a price for the installation which was 300 for the front door.  He stated that was just a estimate and not a firm price and he began to argue about the work being under bid.  I told him that I would only pay what was quoted in writing and work had be left undone.  Our patio door still leaks,  the trim around the entry door into the garage has not been completed (still needs trim, caulking, and the threshold buttoned down), and the front door was never touched.  He was paid for everything except the front door.  After he tried to charge more than the quoted price  I called his office and talked to the lady who answered the phone and told her I did not want him on the premises as i did not trust him or his work.  A complaint with the BBB in Lexington, KY has been filed.   The owner, Pete, still hasn't contacted me to discuss or send someone else to finish the work left undone. *Update September 27, 2013* Handyman Connection has repaired all mistakes. The owner immediately answered my complaint In a professional manner and was much appreciated. We had used his service on several occasions and were satisfied with his service. Handyman Connection was quick to respond after your service. Thank you angles list. Due the quick response from Handyman Connection we will increase their failing score to a ?A? in all areas. Thanks again Angie?s List
- Bernard M....