Estes Park Porch Railing Installation

Get quotes from professionals in your area!

Angie's List : Local Reviews : Carpentry - Woodworking : CO : Estes Park : Estes Park Carpenters : Estes Park Porch Railing Installation
C
2
Reviews
Business Description: We have been in the fence and deck business for well over a decade. At this time we have a total of two people including myself. We are open to get work through subcontracting as well as getting work through servicing home owners needs.
N/A
1
Review
Business Description: we build and install custom wood stairs and handrails including iron baluster replacement and solid tread upgrades
N/A
0
Reviews
Business Description: Bear Claw Carpentry specializes in custom interior trim, cabinets, bent handrails, remodeling and more. We are fully insured and have over 15 years experience in the industry. Locally owned and operated since 2004. Offering free estimates and warranties with all work. After meeting with you and learning your preferences a custom rendering of your project will give you a preview of the wood work about to decorate your home. Call or email to get your personalized bid today!
A
54
Reviews
Award 2018Super Service Award
Recent Review: Matt and an assistant came out the very same day I called for an estimate and completed the job the next week. They did a good job on replacing the porch railing and suggesting ways to prevent more water from getting into the cracks in the cement. It turned out very nicely and we are very happy with the quality of the work. The job did end up taking a few hours longer than estimated but he adjusted the price to be closer to the estimate rather than the actual number of hours it took so the cost was reasonable and on par with another estimate I received from a different company. They were both very friendly, professional, and easy to work with.
A
9
Reviews
angies list certifiedAngie's List Certified
offers couponOffers Coupon
N/A
16
Reviews
Recent Review: General: - They damaged stucco, and didn't tell me - They broke a vent damper cover, and didn't tell me - Responsiveness, Punctuality and Professionalism (ratings) were good at first, degrading to fair when there were problems to deal with Concrete work: - The sidewalk work went well - The patio is unintentionally longer than the original (too long, in this case) - The subcontractor poured over existing sprinkler heads, then claimed no responsibility - The uncolored, plain concrete has inconsistent color (darker gray in one area) I had to fix the problems with the sprinkler heads; I expected the contractor to handle this. The stucco was eventually repaired. Deck work: - Fit and finish of the deck was poor in places - Scraps were used in one spot - One obvious scratch/abrasion still exists and probably won't be fixed - Planks (think 2x4's) were not cut to consistent lengths - The handrail was damaged Many of the deck problems were eventually addressed. The workers claimed the man-made decking was difficult to work with, and they'd likely never get the angles cut as well as was done for the original (wood) deck. The owner should have stated up front the potential problems with the material. I was asked to make the final payment to the workers, rather than to the owner. That seemed strange to me.
A
44
Reviews
Recent Review: John did a quality job with this deck. His bid was a labor plus materials quote. His actual materials cost was lower, so he passed that along. He also gave us the option to install the underside attachment system. The final cost was very close to the original estimate even though we had a few upgrades. The quality of the work is very high. He is very detailed with the finish work. He even sanded off the corner edges on the ends of the planks so that bare feet would catch on them. He was a little late getting the designs ready for the HOA, but it was during the peak construction season.

Reviews in Estes Park Porch Railing Installation

AMaxim Unlimited Handyman & Construction Services
Matt and an assistant came out the very same day I called for an estimate and completed the job the next week. They did a good job on replacing the porch railing and suggesting ways to prevent more water from getting into the cracks in the cement. It turned out very nicely and we are very happy with the quality of the work. The job did end up taking a few hours longer than estimated but he adjusted the price to be closer to the estimate rather than the actual number of hours it took so the cost was reasonable and on par with another estimate I received from a different company. They were both very friendly, professional, and easy to work with.
- Adrienne M....
FK2 Craftsman
The replacement of the deck and railing around the back of our house, as well as the portico, were very nicely done and the finished product looked professional. However, this was not the case for the deck that K2 Craftsman replaced on our balcony above our garage. After K2 Craftsman had replaced the balcony, rainwater leaked through the balcony and literally poured into our garage (located directly below the balcony). We called Arden Krey (the owner of K2 Craftsman) and told him what had happened. He came out and took a brief look at the balcony, and then promised to return and repair the problem; he never returned and never contacted us. We called and emailed him numerous times, but he never responded. Because of the continued damage to the walls and ceiling of our garage every time it rained, and the lack of response by Arden Krey, we ultimately had to hire a general contractor (who had been highly recommended) to look at the problem. It only took the contractor a few minutes to figure out the problem; K2 Craftsman had installed the balcony incorrectly, had failed to seal the area below the deck, and had punctured the roof around the deck during its installation. When the contractor pointed the problem out to us, it was obvious (even to those of us not in the construction industry) that K2 Craftsman had failed to apply any seal under the deck and had punctured the roof around the deck. The contractor ran a water hose over the area and we could actually see where the water ran through the unsealed area and through the holes punctured by K2 Craftsman, and ultimately down into our garage. We tried several more times to get a response from K2 Craftsman, but they ignored us. We ultimately had to have the contractor take off the balcony, seal the area under the deck, and re-install the deck. We were greatly disappointed in K2 Craftsman. During the time when they were at our house doing the work, we offered them refreshments and even tipped them; as such, we were shocked by their lack of response and lack of professionalism when it came to fixing their mistake. Needless to say, we were very unhappy to pay more money to fix a problem caused by K2 Craftsman. K2 Craftsman should have stood behind their work (as was promised by Arden Krey) and fixed the problem at no additional cost. We cannot recommend K2 Craftsman.
- Kim S....
AMaxim Unlimited Handyman & Construction Services
Terrific, Matt was very professional and courteous, upfront about what the job would take and very responsive to adjusting the work date, showing up on time, purchasing materials needed and let me know what he was doing with every job he performed. He even came back after the job was finished to add the stairway handrail, I really appreciated his work and willingness to make sure each job got done right. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Matt or hire him again, he's honest and complete!
- Warren P....
CTNT Home Improvements
General: - They damaged stucco, and didn't tell me - They broke a vent damper cover, and didn't tell me - Responsiveness, Punctuality and Professionalism (ratings) were good at first, degrading to fair when there were problems to deal with Concrete work: - The sidewalk work went well - The patio is unintentionally longer than the original (too long, in this case) - The subcontractor poured over existing sprinkler heads, then claimed no responsibility - The uncolored, plain concrete has inconsistent color (darker gray in one area) I had to fix the problems with the sprinkler heads; I expected the contractor to handle this. The stucco was eventually repaired. Deck work: - Fit and finish of the deck was poor in places - Scraps were used in one spot - One obvious scratch/abrasion still exists and probably won't be fixed - Planks (think 2x4's) were not cut to consistent lengths - The handrail was damaged Many of the deck problems were eventually addressed. The workers claimed the man-made decking was difficult to work with, and they'd likely never get the angles cut as well as was done for the original (wood) deck. The owner should have stated up front the potential problems with the material. I was asked to make the final payment to the workers, rather than to the owner. That seemed strange to me.
- Steve B....
ASundeck Designs
John did a quality job with this deck. His bid was a labor plus materials quote. His actual materials cost was lower, so he passed that along. He also gave us the option to install the underside attachment system. The final cost was very close to the original estimate even though we had a few upgrades. The quality of the work is very high. He is very detailed with the finish work. He even sanded off the corner edges on the ends of the planks so that bare feet would catch on them. He was a little late getting the designs ready for the HOA, but it was during the peak construction season.
- Paul W....