Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Saint Paul Excavators

There are 31 top-rated excavators in your area and 212 to avoid.

After 20 years, it's now free to join.

Over 4 million people rely on ...

  • More than 10 Million Verified Reviews
  • Nationwide Coverage
  • Trusted Ratings
Select filters
  • Become a member to sort service providers.
  • Rating (hi-lo)
  • Rating (lo-hi)
  • # of reviews (hi-lo)
  • # of reviews (lo-hi)
  • Time on Angie's List (most-least)
  • Time on Angie's List (least-most)

Shop Offers from Local Excavators

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Excavating Articles

Go to the article: 

Dig Safe; Call 811 Before You Dig

Septic line digging
Go to the article: 

Get rid of mold in your home

Angie's List
Join Angie's List Now To see all 31 highly rated companies in Saint Paul

Excavating reviews in Saint Paul

Real People ~ Real Reviews ~ Real Results

  • Their estimator (Provider name locked. ) came out and carefully took measurements, explained the work and the fact that they stand behind it with a 5 year warranty, and provided a detailed estimate.  They agreed to hold our deposit until they were certain they could perform the work this season.  When certain, work began at our earliest convieneince. Excavation and grading was on a Thursday  (Nov 6) and with sufficient equipment, material and workers to get it done in about 6 hours. The excavation crew (headed by Provider name locked. ) was very meticulous in getting the area marked and graded as per my last minute requests.  Here is a pic of the post-excavation work.
    As you may recall, we had an early winter storm on Sunday that left us with 2-3 inches of snow.  The owner, Provider name locked. , assured us that they would be able to do the paving and continually informed us as to when the pending work would occur.  They came out on Tuesday, raked up and gathered the snow and loaded it onto a dump truck, so the surface was clean for paving.  Paving (headed by Provider name locked. , who is Provider name locked. 's brother) occurred Wednesday, again plenty of resources, and took about 4 hours.  The final result was quite impressive.  Here is a pic of the final result.

    - Lisa C.
  • Regarding the first two parts of the project, Provider name locked. did a pretty good job. They were prompt and I feel as though I received a quality project regarding the garage floor and the driveway. They helped Provider name locked. the class 5 for a patio area that I installed myself. We did have an issue with some pooling in some low spots on the driveway, which was never fully addressed but this issue has been greatly overshadowed by some serious problems I had with the water in my backyard. 
    Based on the complexity of the drums in the backyard Provider name locked. (an owner) was my main point of contact. Provider name locked. was reasonable to work with and explained that they had done this type of work before. An example he used was that they installed drums under a parking lot that was having some drainage problems. 
    After the project was complete I was pretty happy with the exception of the grass seed not growing because it was too cold in November, which was not their fault. 
    The first time I noticed a problem was in early December, when I saw some pooling in the corner of the backyard. This surprised me because there was not a lot of rain/snow. I brushed this off not wanting to raise a stink too early. The next Spring was an absolutely horrible experience. The minor puddling issue that I had the year prior turned into a lake that I had to deal with 3-4 times before the end of May. I had to purchase a 1/2 hp submersible pump in order to keep the water from creeping near my house. I also had to remove the water since it was flooding my neighbors garage. I was out in pouring rain hooking up the pump many times, sometimes very late at night and early in the morning. 
    When I contacted Provider name locked. about the issue, Provider name locked. came out and basically blamed the entire problem on the cold winter, but the problem continued to happen into the Spring and well into May. When I contacted Provider name locked. about this again he blamed the issue on the amount of precipitation we had had. When I pulled the precipitation records compared to the year before and it was actually lower this year when you factored in the snow falls since January. He then proposed to install a permanent sump pump in one of the drums, which was going to cost be an additional $3,000.  
    While I agree with the fact that this winter was cold and the frost did go lower than usual, the issue is the Provider name locked. changed the grade in my backyard in a way that caused the water that was previously in my neighbors yard was moving into my yard. 
    The year before my pools were less than 1/4 the size of my neighbors. This past Spring they were almost double the size. 
    At a point during the middle of the summer Provider name locked. stopped communicating with me. Provider name locked. did not respond with emails or phone calls. He went completely radio silent. 
    Since then I have had two contractors who have done with in my neighbor hood over to assess the situation. Their opinion was to install something that was actually going to remove the water as opposed to just store it. They agreed that Provider name locked. made the situation worse and the estimate to fix the problem was about $10k for both contractors. 
    Since emails and phone calls were not working with Provider name locked. , I wrote up a letter describing the situation, including the pictures shown below. I was requesting that since they caused the problem in my backyard that they help pay for the solution to fix the problem that they created. I asked them to respond in 30 days...
    I sent that letter in the beginning of September. I have since called Provider name locked. at the office and on his cell phone asking him to respond to the letter. Once again, radio silence. 
    This type of service is unethical and disgraceful. If needed, I plan to file a claim in court in order to force a response from Provider name locked.
    Below are pictures showing before and after... I will let you be the judge. 

    - Andrew N.
  • Provider name locked. arrived right on time the morning of the dig and used his Bobcat to clear an area for a future patio.  The area is approximately 500 sq. ft. and dug down 6 inches.  At the time, Provider name locked. rate was $200 minimum for the first two hours, and then $70/hr. after that.  It only took him a bit over an hour to do the job, so it totaled $200.00.  Far cheaper than several other estimates over $500 and another more than $1,000.  Provider name locked. did a good job of getting right up along side our house and was very professional.  He had me come out to inspect his work near the end of the dig and made sure everything looked as expected.  I considered renting a Bobcat and trying to do it myself, but it probably would have taken me a day by the time I figured out how to work the machine, which would have been nearly $300 + tax for a day's rent (and I wouldn't have done as good of a job).
    - Casey C.
Join Angie's List to view provider's name.

Excavators in Saint Paul

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order.
To view top rated service providers along with reviews & ratings, JOIN ANGIE'S LIST NOW!