Duluth Roofing Articles

Roofing reviews in Duluth

A

Rating
Communication with
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
, the owner, was prompt and he was very willing to listen to what we would like to have done. He sent us the estimate via e-mail and we kept in contact that way from that point on. I always had his number in case I needed to call him about something. They guys arrived and were polite and got right to work. They put tarps down to catch the shingles and the nails from the old shingles and took care to not damage our siding or windows. If I had any questions about the process they were very
willing to take the time to explain.
The work was done in the time I expected and the crew cleaned up very well around our yard. When there was threat of rain the men made sure that our roof was not going to leak and was "buttoned up" as they put it. Not one time did I hear any of the guys swearing and that was very important to me as I don't care for it and I have young children.
I have already recommended the company to several of our friends and I don't believe you would be disappointed if used this company. We had gotten many estimates and he was at the low end of our bids but the job they did is/was fantastic job.

- Kathy B.
F

Rating
I bought a house that had a roof completely replaced 2 days prior to closing. With the very first rain (4 days after moving in) I discovered water dripping from my attic ladder door. When I opened the door I then saw the rafters around my chimney were completely wet as well as the bricks of the chimney. I called the company to fix the error and it was taken care of within a day. However, 8 months later...we get another driving rain and now I have the same issue. I called twice and left messages, stopped in at their office and left my name, number, and address. I finally got in touch with someone and he said he was planning on being out there on the up coming Friday. I had no knowledge of this prior to ME calling them. At 5:20pm on that Friday, I called him to ask what time he would be here. He said they were not coming. They would need to reschedule. 3 days later I call again. I spoke to the same guy who said his crew would be over after they left the jobsite they were at. It would be in about 1 hour. 20 minutes after that call, I received a call from the crew saying they couldn't make it. They would be out the following day. Of course the day they were to show up...it was raining. Roof still not fixed. After a total of 3 weeks, the 1 man crew finally stopped over and did the 10 minute fix. The guy was very kind and nice and apologized many times for having to cancel before. However, the apology doesn't change the damage done to the ceiling, trim around the ladder door, nor the 100 year old refinished hard wood floors.
I didn't post this when I wrote the above. It sat in my "to complete" section for months. Well here we are April 2014 one of the first light rains of the season and guess what? Roof leaks!




- Rory L.
A

Rating
The crew came up, went right to work and tore off my old steel roof and replaced it with a new one. I have the most attractive roof in the neighborhood. Their man came back this week and put a cover over a chimney that leaked. All of the people from
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
that I have dealt with have been professional and knew their business. I am 77 years old and have been ripped off by contractors in the past when I have had to have repairs on my 100 year old home. It was a pleasure doing business with this company.
The same crew put on a roof across the
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
from me and they did the same thing there. (My roof is prettier).
All the homes in my area had been damaged by hail, the old steel roof lasted almost 100 years and I believe this new roof will last a long time too.
Another thing I was pleased with is that when they left, they cleaned up after themselves. No stuff laying around in the yard. Except for the new roof, there was no
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
of them.
- Gladys S.
B

Rating
THE CONSTRUCTION WENT WELL AFTER SEVERAL SLOW DAYS; THE ROOF HAD BEEN LEAKING AND
IT WILL BE DIFFICULT TO DETERMINE THE SUCCESS OF THE WORK UNTIL WE HAVE THE
FIRST MAJOR RAINFALL OF SPRING.
- RICHARD H.
F

Rating
When the leader of this business is approached, he has excuses, but no check. I see also that his ladders are still on the roof of the house my grandson worked on, and i don't know what that means. I called his uncle, who runs another construction business, and he gave me a phone number to call that did not work, and when i called back for an alternative number, the call was not picked up.
Messy, messy, messy, an outfit to steer clear of.
- cal B.
D

Rating
I called this provider because of the high reviews in Angie's List. They
told me they would be out on Friday and did call me to say something
had come up and they would be out on Saturday morning. We stayed home
just to be able to speak with the roofer. I did get e-mailed the
estimate and when I called about doing the fascia that was missing they
told me they would have to get back to me. I explained that we had not
seen anybody come out to our home and we had some missing fascia that
needed to be replaced. I called again to find out what the price would
be and they told me they don't usually do that but would get me a
price. They still haven't called me back and it has been about 1 month
since my last conversation with them. They have been unreliable.
- Kathy B.
F

Rating
After calling 4 different companies to get a quote for our roof we choose
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
because of the time
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
gave in answering my questions. After the initial communication between
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
and myself it went downhill from that point. I had to constantly call to find out when he was coming out or where the roofers were. When I called to tell him that we had decided to go with their company, he said he would come out before the end of the week to sign the contract. That week went by and he didn’t stop by or call to say he wasn’t coming. I called the following week and he told me that there were some family issues but he would be out soon. He did finally showed up and I signed the contract, when asked when they would get started he told me, he had to look at the calendar when he got back to his office to give me a date. A few days went by and after not hearing anything, and I called him to ask when I could expect my roof to be started. He told me that they would be out to take care of the roof the beginning of the second week of September. I waited until Wednesday of that week to call as I had not heard anything and no one showed up to start my roof.
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
told me that because of the weather they had gotten behind and would be able to start my roof on Monday. When I asked what time I could expect the roofers he told me between 8:00 and 8:30. Monday came and no one was at my house and it was 9:00 a.m. I did receive a call a little after 9:00 from
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
stating that one of the guys ‘ wife had a new baby and he had to go to the Dr’s appointment and should be there right after.
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
also told me that the shingles should be there shortly as well as the dumpster I waited until 11:00 and finally called the main office after I tried to call
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
’s cell number, and ask why there was no one at my house yet. I explained what
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
had told me when he called at 9:00. He told me he would find out and call me back. I waited 45 minutes for him to call me back and then I called again. The roofers were just calling him back when I called and so he took their call and called me after speaking with them. The roofers had been given the wrong address and would be there very shortly. The roofers did show up in the next 20 minutes but we still had no shingles or dumpster so the roofers told me they couldn’t do anything and may not be able to start today because they didn’t have a dumpster or shingles. They called
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
to let him know they had no dumpster or shingles and he decided to come out. When he arrived (25 minutes later) we voiced our frustration in the poor communication that had been happening and that we just wanted our roof to get done as winter is approaching.
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
gave us an explanation that he had ordered the dumpster to arrive today as well as the shingles but had no control over when those things get to the site. He also stated that his guys could have started to set up their tarps and ladders and I stated that is something he needed to speak to his crew about and not us. While we were speaking with
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
the truck with the shingles drove into the driveway.
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
stated that they were going to walk from this job. My husband stated that we had signed a contract and if they were going to honor it he would call our attorney. My husband then asked him if they were going to do the job and
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
said yes. We went into the house and expected the roofers to start getting their ladders and tarps set up. After about 20 minutes we had a knock on the door and
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
told us they were going to walk away from doing our roof. We stated that we had a contract with them but they chose to walk away. We did tell them that we were going to contract an attorney as it was getting so late in the season and we needed to have our roof done. My husband than called the main office and spoke with the owner and told him the whole story and he stated he was going to stand by
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
and that they hadn’t walked from any contract in 9 years and this was the first one. I had picked this company because of the time
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
had spent with us in explaining things. The poor communication and the many excuses is not any way to run a business. We understand when thing happen and a phone call and honesty would have been appreciated and taking responsibility for what had happen instead of making excuses for not having getting back to us or the dumpster or shingles not being here. This roofing company is not reliable.
We did receive a follow up letter from the company's owner, approximately 1 week after we were initially told they were not doing our roof. The letter restated that they would not be doing the work on our roof..

After reading the response from the provider, yes we were upset but neither my husband or myself used any profanity when speaking to the foreman. He had decided to walk and that is when my husband made the statement that he would call our attorney to find out what recourse we could have since we had signed a contract with
Duluth Roofing Contractors Provider Name Locked
.
- Kathy B.
A

Rating
They came when they said they were going to come. They were friendly, respectful guys. It is a small, local business, and I like to support that. Overall, I am satisfied. They have got a couple of little things they need to finish up, so it isn’t over till it is over but I am confident that they will come back and finish. I thought they were reasonable. They were slightly higher than others but he used his carpenters to do the roof work, so they were basically doing minor carpentry work and repair work as they went. This is a very old house, and to me, that was money well spent. If I had gone elsewhere and had to hire a carpenter to do one and a roofer to do the other, I would have paid more and it would have been more inconvenient. I think it was a fair deal. It rained hard last night, so I know it is good.
- Lee Anne C.
F

Rating
Wanted an estimate so we could get roof done and move into house, TIME sensitive of closing of the house, NEVER CALLED US BACK>
- Denny S.
F

Rating
Visited my house in February. Inspected and promised quote but did not get back to us. I called again in April and was again promised a quote. No return call. Conclusion: not reliable, possibly to busy to deliver.
- Rick P.
110% Guaranteed Money Back

We think we're the best, and we can prove it.

Try an annual plan and if you want to cancel in your first year, we'll refund you 110%

Annual Plans Only

All Roofing Contractors in Duluth, MN

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order. To view top rated service providers along with reviews and ratings, Join Angie's List Now!

5 story construction LLC

21 bubalo dr
Duluth, MN

A Force of Nature Complete Restoration SVC, LLC

3436 CROFFUT PL.S.E.
Washington, DC

A W KUETTEL & SONS INC

3930 Airpark Blvd
Duluth, MN

Abiliteam Construction & Design

321 N 46th Ave
Duluth, MN

Absalute Vinyl Window & Siding Co

311 N Central Ave
Duluth, MN

Acra Construction LLC

880 W Camino Casa Verde
Green Valley, AZ

Anderson Building & Restoration

5073 Howard Gnesen Rd
Duluth, MN

ARAC Alliance Restoration and Consulting

771 Shallowford Rd.
Kennesaw, GA

ASPEN PROPERTY MAINTENANCE

918 MINNEAPOLIS AVE
Duluth, MN

ATK ENTERPRISES INC

1511 E SUPERIOR ST
Duluth, MN

BARLO BUILDING SYSTEMS INC

620 LEICESTER AVE
Duluth, MN

Braun Construction Services, Inc.

2143 Payne Ave.
Alcoa, TN

Carroll's Exterior & Remodeling, Inc

7803 Grand Avenue
Duluth, MN

Classic Copper Works

9337 Spring Cypress Road
Spring, TX

Columbus Exteriors Inc

18529 Hwy 65 NE
Cedar, MN

Commercial Roofing, Inc.

3736 Carlton Street
Barnum, MN

Custom Coatings

955 Redtail Dr
Corona, CA

DirectBuy of Indianapolis

8450 Westfield Blvd
Indianapolis, IN

Duluth Roofing Co

4502 E Superior St
Duluth, MN

EAST COAST ROOFING

4201 DORSEY AVE
North Charleston, SC

Join Angie's List to get the best local reviews in Duluth.

What Does My Membership Include?
  • Instant access to reviews for 700+ services
  • Exclusive service discounts - up to 70 percent off!
  • Top-notch support from our live call center
How does Angie's List work?
1. Say you need a Roofing Contractor
2. Angie's List has tons of detailed, local reviews.
3. Find a winner, and book them.
4. Angie's List is there to resolve any issues.
CBS
Good Morning America
Fox News
USA Today
The Wall Street Journal
MSN money