-Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Topeka Auto Sales

Angie's List helps you hire the best - and avoid the rest!

Auto Sales to Avoid

78

Top Rated Auto Sales

12

Prevent buyer's remorse with us

  • Over 3 million people trust Angie's List to help make the right choice
  • Be informed to avoid costly mistakes
  • Shop with us to ensure a fair price
  • Our complaint resolution team will help if a project goes bad
+See Verified Local Reviews

Over 216 reviews for
Topeka Auto Sales from people just like you.

A
"It was just to delightful to purchase from them, we use the service true car and were able to come in and the entire transaction only took about an hour. The prices are great too.

-Carl P.

A
"My car needed extensive work and I know this dealership was rated the best for auto service. I took it to them and they did a really great job. I will recommend them.

-Nick V.

+Join 2 Million People on Angie's List

Over 2 million people trust Angie's List.

  • Your Membership Includes:
  • Instant access to top rated businesses covering 700+ services
  • Our Complaint Resolution Team to help when a project goes bad
  • On-the-go access to our iPhone, Android, & iPad apps
Find top-rated Service Providers
See Verified Local Reviews
Join 2 Million People on Angie's List

Local Articles in Topeka

Buying a car

You must take certain steps when buying a car to protect yourself. Whether you buy a new or used car, there are common procedures which will help you avoid a lemon and maximize your investment.

gas cap
Auto Service, Auto Sales

The need for gasoline holds a grip on your wallet.

The laws of supply and demand drive whether you’ll be able to negotiate a better deal on a car. (Photo courtesy of Angie's List member Carlton M. of Jacksonville, Florida)
Auto Sales

Learn why, from month to month, certain times may be better than others for negotiating the best deal on a vehicle.

car inspection
Auto Service, Auto Sales, auto repair

Taking a used car to a mechanic before you buy it can help you avoid a car with damage or problems. But do dealerships allow you to have a used car inspected?

When shopping for a new car or truck, you want to be sure to get prices from at least three or four different dealers. (Photo courtesy of Angie's List member Steven L. of Champaign, Illinois)
Auto Sales

With a little effort you can take control of the new car buying process and come out with the best deal.

Angie's Answers

?
?

For donation options, here is a link to a prior response -

http://answers.angieslist.com/were-place-donate-car-q27711.aspx

For sale, here is another answer I previously gave to same type question -

http://answers.angieslist.com/how-sell-damaged-auto-q57349.aspx

?
?
?

Sounds like your biggest problem will be narrowing your list to a limited number of models, and deciding what brand names you are willing to consider to narrow the field.

You can search for websites blogging complaints for each model you are considering to see how they rate with users, and you can also go to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website at     www.nhtsa.gov     to see how many recalls there have been on a specific model and year.

Most dealers these days have websites with their listed prices for new and used cars that you can browse to get an idea of available listed prices.

I would also recommend that you check out the used car values (free) for models you might be interested in on    www.edmunds.com    and on Kelley Blue Book  -  www.kbb.com

Those 2 sources will give you a lot of negotiating power, because they list what the dealer pays the manufacturer on new cars, shows what people have been paying for each vehicle model and model year, and shows used valuations also. There are undoubtedly other such sources also - these are just the ones I have used and seem to be the best known.

?

Car Sales reviews in Topeka

A

Rating
They are a very good company in sales and service. I have spoken with a sales representative and I have not purchased a car but I have been happy with them for 4 years of service.
- Karen S.
A

Rating
They were fine. I was referred to them by a friend. It was low pressure; it was very laid back. With regard to punctuality, it was a very busy weekend that we were in there. They could have provided a little bit more information on timing, because we ended up spending a lot of time just waiting after we had decided to purchase the vehicle. If I was looking at buying another Ford, I would definitely go to them.
- Scott D.
F

Rating
Thankfully I didn't buy from
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
's Auto Sales. First off I would like to point out the prices they list for vehicles on their website is their "cash" price. Does it say this -anywhere- on the website? Nope. And they -freely- admit that.
I went in looking at a 2005 Mazada Tribute. It had low mileage and from the images online looked to be in decent condition. It was listed at 8,500$. It was in my price range and something I knew I could finance. Now, that being said, I knew I had -bad- credit, so I was not shocked at the 20% APR. I did however have a 3000$ down payment.
What I WAS shocked at was them telling me they have a "two program system", and now the 8500$ dollar car was now 11,500$. Which oddly enough was a direct
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
up amount for the 3000$ I was putting down on the car. Weird that there was that difference which had me paying the -full- website listed price.
Secondly the car on the website, which looks as if the pictures where taken -in house-, is -not- what the car looked like on the lot. It had incredible wear and tear in the interior, a cigarette burn hole in the front passenger seat, as well as a tear in the back seat! In several spots the paint was worn completely off console instruments, revealing the black hard plastic underneath.
Their line is: "We will do what it takes to earn your business! Come see why we are the fastest growing dealership in the Hill Country!"
Except give you the price listed on the website for the vehicle, even though it says our price right above the dollar amount. Nothing about it being our "cash" price.
This is a complete bait and switch situation. They get people into their lot, with false advertising, showing you online the cars that -seem- affordable. So when you get in there, needing a vehicle, they have you in the hot seat and you almost feel obligated to buy because you may have bad credit.
Well I have bad credit, and I am not willing to make it WORSE with a shady company. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Now days most dealerships will work with you, even with terrible credit.
TL;DR: Scammy Place, False Advertising, Bait and Switch
- Charlotte S.
D

Rating
The experience was awful! Below is a copy of the letter I sent to the manager via email the day after picking up my vehicle. I waited a week for a response, but did not receive one. Receiving one now would imply that they are more concerned about bad publicity than customer satisfaction. Additionally, I was promised I'd be given a survey to complete following service. I haven't received that, either.
Copy of letter to manager:
I did not have a great experience having my car repaired at your facility, was far from satisfied throughout the experience, and would recommend that friends and family go elsewhere for similar service needs. I hope that I do receive a survey. Are negative points an option?
My car was hit on Thursday, 2/26. I filed an insurance claim and chose one of their preferred facilities to expedite the process. I chose your facility because of the options I was given, it was the closest to me. I called from work first thing Friday morning to make sure you had received the insurance information and that everything would go smoothly when I came in after work. I was told that as long as the insurance had submitted the claim I didn't have to worry about a thing.
I arrived at the facility in the 4PM hour; I don't recall the exact time. I walked in and had no idea where to go. There were numerous employees milling about, some conversing with each other, others just standing around. No one acknowledged my presence, so I approached the nearest employee and began explaining why I was there. He snapped at me that I needed to go down to the other end of the counter. I retorted that perhaps there should be a sign, and he snapped that there was as he pointed up. Well pardon me; how foolish of me not to look up for directions as I enter an unfamiliar building.
I walked down to the claims desk. Three employees were having a conversation. I waited several more minutes for attention. Then suddenly two people were talking to me at once about different things. I had no idea what was happening and quickly developed new frustrations. Both of them were asking many questions I did not know the answers to. I had to repeat several times that a claim had been submitted by State Farm. I knew my claim number and deductible, but was relying on that paperwork -which I had called about earlier and had been assured would be on hand when I arrived- to fill in the rest. Eventually they pulled that up and got things moving.
During the claims process I was asked to indicate my communication preferences. I requested regular email updates. Penny informed me that they were having trouble with the system, and told me that I should call if I didn't hear anything by Tuesday. I left certain that I had left my car in the wrong hands, but it was too late to change things.
I had heard nothing by Tuesday afternoon, so I called. The woman with whom I spoke had difficulty comprehending that I had heard NOTHING since dropping off my car on Friday. Eventually I got through to her and she dug up some info. She told me that my bumper was in paint, and that they were waiting on parts for the other repair. She also told me that she would leave me a voice mail on Wednesday morning when she found out more.
By Wednesday afternoon I had received no update, so I called and asked for
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
because I had taken his card when I dropped off the vehicle in Friday. Upon request he explained the damages that had been identified; I had not previously been provided with the complete results of the assessment or estimate. I was happy with this interaction.
Later I called back and spoke with the woman I had spoken with the previous day, questioning why she didn't follow up as she said she would. She said it was because I had spoken with someone else, but I reminded her that I called him AFTER I didn't hear from her during the specified time frame. She told me she had gotten busy. When I write my review on Angie's list I will be sure to mention that if you drop off your car on Friday, they may be too busy to get back to you by Wednesday. Tell me, when you spend hundreds of dollars on a service, do you appreciate the service provider informing you that they are too busy for you? I let her know how dissatisfied I was and that I would like to receive a survey upon service completion. She asked if I wanted to speak to a manager, but I declined. I clearly wasn't a priority, so why should I waste more of my time? I'm sure you would have thrown me a thousand apologies, but actions speak
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
than words, and those cannot be retracted. As a side note, she also told me during this conversation that my car was in line for the bumper to be painted. I told her that she had told me yesterday that it was in paint. She tried giving some explanation, but I simply laughed. I could not believe that a company with such lousy communication could manage to stay in business.
On Thursday I received three text messages:
"
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
Collision will be sending you repair status updates and a survey."
"Thank you for allowing
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
Collision to service your Subaru. You made the right choice."
"We have updated your estimated completion date from 03/05/2015 5:00 PM to 03/06/2015 5:00 PM. Thank you,
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
Collision"
After a week I finally heard something, but there are two problems. First, two of these three messages are pointless and a waste of my data plan. Second, I requested email correspondence, not text.
I also receive a call from
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
, which was actually helpful. He is the only redeeming aspect of your facility as far as I'm concerned. My only complaint is that the background music on his end did make it difficult to hear everything he was telling me. Perhaps employees should turn down their music when calling customers.
I picked up my car yesterday, and the disappointments continued. This time I was greeted warmly as I was directed to the cashier. I explained that the form of payment was being changed; at the request of the person who hit me we were settling without insurance and I would be paying by check. A manager commented that it didn't matter as long as he got the money. It was intended to be a joke, but after my experience I believed nothing to be more truthful. When I was asked to sign off on the car I asked if I could see it and inspect the work. I was told that there was a lifetime warranty and I could bring it back if not satisfied. I was shocked and appalled. First of all, wouldn't it simply be decent customer service to walk the customer through the repairs? Second, why would I want to come back and relive this nightmare? I let it go and continued with the process. She then told me I owed my $250 deductible, and I had to repeat that I was not using my insurance; clearly she wasn't actually interested in listening to me. I finally got through everything, she handed me my keys, and she told me I was all set. Excuse me, where is my car? Not only do you not walk through the repairs, you don't even tell customers where on the giant property to find the vehicle? Just when I thought the service couldn't get any worse, it did!
When I inspected the vehicle I was disappointed to find the new mirror that was installed to be covered with nicks and scratches. It is obvious that no protective equipment was used as it was clamped and beaten with whatever tools were used. I know that I could have gone back in and complained, but this process had been so trying that I simply didn't think it worth it. I have been without a car for a week, and that week was full of hassles because of your lousy customer service. I'm not bringing it back in. Furthermore, now that I have seen the quality of your work, why would I want my car in your hands ever again? If you wish to make amends, send me a check refunding the labor portion of this job. It was poorly done, so I don't think I am out of line requesting a refund on that poorly done work.
- Kimberly P.
N

Rating
I purchased a 2000 Honda Civic from
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
automotive in late summer 2014. Car looked clean, Carfax was clean, and the salesman looked me in the eye and told me it was a good car.

He lied through his teeth.

The car they sold me is a lemon.

All of the repairs they made? Cheap parts that wear out and stretch very quickly. The items that they advertised about the car, i.e.cruise control, have never worked from day one. I asked them to fix it the day after I purchased the car and they refused.

Since purchasing the car I have had to sink about $2000 into it. So far I've had to have the rear main gasket resealed (something they actually delayed me from purchasing the car because they "fixed" it), a new clutch, new tires, a new
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
boot, a repaired brake line, and the altenator belt had to be retightened because of the cheapness of the belts the used. The engine that looked clean and rust free had been painted over. Now I am looking at having to find another car becuase the Civic is burning oil.

I would not recommend this dealership if my life depended on it. In fact I would warn you away from them. They use cheap parts, false advertisement, and hide behind a "no haggle" motto to get away with shoddy repair work.
- Rebekah R.
A

Rating
I last took my car here for a bumper replacement after someone had hit my car. They did keep the car a little longer than expected just to ensure that the color was matched correctly. I was very pleased with the work. We routinely did business with them for about fifteen years. They have been an employee owned company which gives them the incentive to do good work. They are very good overall and I would use them again.
- SHIRLEY B.
A

Rating
I bought the car from this location about five years ago and have been using their services since. They have a shuttle service that will take me to work and pick me up when my car is ready. All of the people I have dealt with have been very responsive. I have had a very good experience with them.
- SHIRLEY B.
F

Rating
This dealership came recommended by our insurance agent, but unfortunately we had a terrible experience.
We purchased a low cost, used vehicle... our only stipulation was that we wanted a car that was in good working condition with no immediate issues.
On the drive home, the check engine light came on. The car started pulling hard to the right. The pulling was caused by a low tire...
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
Auto didn't even bother to check the tire pressure.

It gets worse.
The first time we tried to turn the car on upon returning home, it wouldn't start. The starter was bad. We had to replace that. Then we realized the battery was shot. We had to replace that.
We obviously immediately called
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
himself - he sold us the car. He was no help and said "the car was fine when you left here", and insinuated that it was somehow our fault.
Later that first week of ownership, smoke came from the hood. We had the car towed... radiator needed to be replaced.
Another call to
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
... I'll paraphrase, "Tough sh*t."
We wanted to return the car - we even said we'd buy a different one and spend a few more bucks to make sure it worked. No
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
.
Then we asked for some of our money back to cover the immediate repairs needed on the vehicle (again... all within the first 3 days of buying it - battery, starter, radiator).
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
was unwilling to even offer that.

We were patient and reasonable, but apparently the only satisfaction we'll get is by letting everybody know what kind of experience to expect from
Topeka Auto Sales Provider Name Locked
. And more importantly, what kind of guy he really is once he's got your money.
Steer clear of this place. I would never, ever in a million years consider dealing with this guy again.
- Amy M.

All Auto Sales in Topeka, KS

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order. To view top rated service providers along with reviews and ratings, Join Angie's List Now!

A 1 AUTO SALES

2026 SW CENTRAL PARK AVE
Topeka

A B FLINT MOTOR CO

101 SW 32ND TER
Topeka

A2Z AUTOMOTIVE

2512 S KANSAS AVE
Topeka

ACE MOTORS CAR LOT

1718 SE 6TH AVE
Topeka

ALAMO AUTOMOTIVE

2100 SW BUCHANAN
Topeka

ALLIED ENTERPRISES INC

660 NE US HIGHWAY 24
Topeka

ALWAYS SAVE AUTO SALES

3840 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

ANDERSON ENTERPRISES INC

5050 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

AUTO ACCENTS & COLLISION RPR

2951 FOUR WHEEL DR
Lawrence

Auto Exchange

3301 Iowa St
Lawrence

AUTO FINANCE CTR INC

700 SW 6TH AVE
Topeka

AUTO'S INC

930 SW 6TH AVE
Topeka

AUTOS DIRECT INC

1620 S KANSAS AVE
Topeka

AUTOS PLUS

1821 NE GRANTVILLE RD
Topeka

B & B AUTO SALES INC

4100 SW TOPEKA BLVD AB
Topeka

BERT'S USED CARS

100 NW US HIGHWAY 24
Topeka

BILL KOBACH BUICK GMC INC

2074 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

BLAKE MOTORS

2405 SE SHOREWOOD CT
Topeka

BLUE STEM AUTO RENTALS

2700 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

BOB'S USED CARS

3524 SE 6th Ave
Topeka

Briggs Dodge

3001 S Kansas Ave
Topeka

BRIGGS KIA

3137 S Kansas Ave
Topeka

Buenger Automotive & The Body Shop

636 Market St
Osage City

Capitol City Nissan of Topeka

3115 S Kansas
Topeka

CAR EXCHANGE

3030 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

CARHOP

3225 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

Clark Chevrolet Buick Inc.

306 New York
Holton

CLOVERLEAF AUTO SALES

2800 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

COLE VEHICLE

1617 SW FAIRLAWN RD
Topeka

CROCKER'S CAR SALES

1000 SE 21ST ST
Topeka

Crown Toyota Scion

3430 S Iowa St
Lawrence

CUSTOM COVERS CO

5125 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

D & D AUTO SALES

1111 1/2 N KANSAS AVE
Topeka

DAVE'S AUTO SALES

1434 S KANSAS AVE
Topeka

Davis-Moore Lincoln

5817 E Kellogg Dr
Wichita

DONS CARZ

1307 N KANSAS AVE
Topeka

EASY OWN AUTO LEASING

315 SW 32ND TER
Topeka

Enterprise Rent-A-Car

6876 Center St

From Car to Finish LLC

451 Hungerford Drive

GURSS MOTORS

540 SE 29TH ST
Topeka

GURSS MOTORS III

141 SW 37TH ST
Topeka

HEWITT MOTOR CO

1901 SW GAGE BLVD
Topeka

HIGHLAND AUTO

1437 NW TYLER ST
Topeka

Hite Collision and Repair

3401 West 6th Street
Lawrence

HONEYMAN AUTO PLAZA

819 SW CROIX ST
Topeka

INSURANCE SALVAGE CO

2240 NW VAIL AVE
Topeka

IRONHORSE AUTO INC

4609 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

JOHN HOFFER SUZUKI

1040 SW WANAMAKER RD
Topeka

JOSH SUPERIOR MOTORS

1200 SW 6TH AVE
Topeka

Laird Noller Quick Service

2829 S Iowa Street
Lawrence

Laird Noller Topeka

2245 S Topeka Blvd
Topeka

LAIRD NOLLER WEST

5801 SW 21ST ST
Topeka

Lawrence Kia

1225 E 23rd
Lawrence

LEGACY MOTORS

1106 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

LEWIS AUTO ENTERPRISES & SALES

1701 NW TYLER ST
Topeka

LEWIS AUTO PLAZA

2951 SW Fairlawn Rd
Topeka

LINDY'S AUTO SALES

230 SW GAGE BLVD
Topeka

LYNCH AUTO PLAZA

1850 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

McCarthy Motors

6351 K4 HWY
Meriden

MIDWEST SPEC RACER

7215 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

MIKE'S USED CARS

1217 NW Central Ave
Topeka

Motorsport

646 N 2nd St
Lawrence

NOLLER FORD BODY SHOP

2245 SW TOPEKA
Topeka

NOLLER HYUNDAI

2920 S KANSAS AVE
Topeka

OAKLAND AUTO SALES

800 NE CHESTER AVE
Topeka

Onsite Brakes

235 fillmore
Topeka

P & S MOTORS

1235 N KANSAS AVE
Topeka

PARKS AUTO SALES

1850 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

PONTIAC-CADILLAC USED CARS

1900 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

PREFERRED AUTO

2071 S KANSAS AVE
Topeka

Premier Auto Co

2332 Haskell Ave
Lawrence

QUALITY CARS OF TOPEKA

2025 SW FAIRLAWN RD
Topeka

RODGERS USED CARS

1401 N KANSAS AVE
Topeka

RTS AUTO SALES

1221 SW 6TH AVE
Topeka

SATURN OF TOPEKA

3731 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

SEITZ MOTOR'S & RENTAL

1123 N KANSAS AVE
Topeka

SHARP HONDA

1818 SW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

SHAWNEE WHOLESALE MOTORS

320 SW 32ND TER
Topeka

Shore Auto Lease Inc

1913 Atlantic Ave

STAN'S AUTO SALES INC

908 SW Naismith Pl
Topeka

TOPEKA SALVAGE POOL INC

1437 NW Tyler St
Topeka

TOPEKASCHOOLCARS.COM

2071 S KANSAS AVE
Topeka

TRENT'S 29TH STREET AUTO WORLD

109 SE 29TH ST
Topeka

TRINITY AUTO GROUP

100 SW 29TH ST
Topeka

WILLIAMS AUTO INC

509 SW Van Buren St
Topeka

WIZZ BY AUTO SALES INC

1336 NW TOPEKA BLVD
Topeka

Zeck Ford

4501 S 4th St
Leavenworth

Join Angie's List to get the best local reviews in Topeka.

What Does My Membership Include?
  • Instant access to reviews for 700+ services
  • Exclusive service discounts - up to 70 percent off!
  • Top-notch support from our live call center
How does Angie's List work?
1. Say you need a Auto Dealers
2. Angie's List has tons of detailed, local reviews.
3. Find a winner, and book them.
4. Angie's List is there to resolve any issues.
CBS
Good Morning America
Fox News
USA Today
The Wall Street Journal
MSN money