-Find top-rated Service Providers

Find Top-Rated Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists

Angie's List helps you hire the best - and avoid the rest!

Water And Smoke Damage Specialists to Avoid

32

Top Rated Water And Smoke Damage Specialists

8

Prevent buyer's remorse with us

  • Over 3 million people trust Angie's List to help make the right choice
  • Be informed to avoid costly mistakes
  • Shop with us to ensure a fair price
  • Our complaint resolution team will help if a project goes bad
+See Verified Local Reviews

Over 557 reviews for
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists from people just like you.

A
"We had a undetected appliance leak that resulted in water and mold damage. This company responded quickly and provided timely services throughout this process. (I" call it a process because of delays due to my insurance company.)
Hall from Advanced Restoration was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout this ordeal. Advanced Restoration was professional and per my insurance company charged a fair rate (which they indicated isn't usually what they see). My insurance agent indicated that I was in good hands when she asked which company that I had chosen for the remediation work. I would use this company again if I were in a similar situation.

-Susan S.

A
"After calling several restoration companies and NOT getting a LIVE person on the phone I found Advanced Restoration. Thank God they answered at 2am in the morning." They said they would have someone out within the hour and they were there in 45 minutes. A supply line had busted in our dishwasher and flooded our kitchen, laundry room, living room and part of the garage. I happened to notice in the middle of the night headed to the fridge for a snack.
and his crew showed up and got to work immediately. They extracted all of the standing water, elevated furniture items that may have gotten wet and removed any affected material. The crew he had worked efficiently and seemed to know exactly what to do while I was Freaking OUT. Fortunate for my wife and kids none of the bedrooms were affected. Advanced had professional equipment and they moved with purpose, to get my house back to original condition. For the next few days we had drying equipment in the affected areas and a technician arranged to meet my wife each day to take humidity readings. It took 4 days to completely dry and there was minimal damage due to it being a clean water loss. They took care of billing the insurance company and even assisted in the repairs that were necessary to put my house back together. Thanks Advanced Restoration for doing the JOB Right. Hope this never happens to us again but if it does we know to call
.

-Joshua G.

+Join 2 Million People on Angie's List

Over 2 million people trust Angie's List.

  • Your Membership Includes:
  • Instant access to top rated businesses covering 700+ services
  • Our Complaint Resolution Team to help when a project goes bad
  • On-the-go access to our iPhone, Android, & iPad apps
Find top-rated Service Providers
See Verified Local Reviews
Join 2 Million People on Angie's List

Local Articles in Derby

7 tips to prevent basement flooding

If your basement has ever flooded or been damaged by water, you know just how stressful a flood can be. Follow these simple tips to help keep your basement dry.

Water and smoke damage

The U.S. Fire Administration reports that more than 350,000 residential structure fires occur in the United States each year. A homeowner's guide to smoke and water damage provides tips for restoring the home after a fire, safeguarding important documents and hiring a remediation service.

Before, during and after your project, don't hesitate to ask your contractor questions, says DeLancy. (Photo by Jennica Abrams)
Water & Smoke Damage

When water damage, wind or hail strikes, being prepared can save time and ensure quality home repairs. Follow 5 steps for dealing with damage in an emergency.

Fire damaged home
Water & Smoke Damage, Insurance Agencies

Will homeowners insurance cover water damage? Can insurance pick the contractor? Do you pay the deductible upfront? What you need to know before a disaster.

It's important to routinely check your water heater for any leaks or condensation, which an result in mold and damage to your home, says Belk. (Photo courtesy of Gold Coast Flood Restorations)
Water & Smoke Damage

The possibility of damaging water heater leaks rarely crosses most homeowner's minds. Learn how to protect your home from a costly water heater disaster.

Any kind of surface that has been touched by flooding stormwater should be santifized. (Photo courtesy of Angie's List member Kristen M.)
Water & Smoke Damage, Carpet Cleaning, Mold Testing & Remediation

Storms can cause flooding and power outages, conditions in which mold and mildew thrive. Follow these steps to prevent mold from developing beneath carpet.

Angie's Answers

?
Try SCOE 10x (Super Concentrated Odor Eliminator). Cost $25.00 ( includes shipping) for concentrate to make 32 oz. and 32 oz. spray bottle included.  This stuff is great!  I have cats and every now and then one of them pees on the rugs ( cat pee smell is awful as is cigarette smoke). You may need more than 32 oz. to get all the stink out but go to the website and read testimonials ( they will even send a concentrate of skunk smell for you to pour on something and then use the SCOE 10x on it to prove how good it works, for a few dollars more).  Anyway, this stuff worked like magic for me.  They also sell gallon and larger sizes.  Worth every penny!
?
?
?
?
?

You have every right to fire the GC, but it may cost you money in legal fees to fight any leins he has on the property. If you do insurance work you should know that you have to do part of the work out of your own cash reserves and wait for disbursement from the insurance company. His crews errors are not your problem, they are his. If you have problems you should include your insurance company in the problems you are having. If he is running into problems with extras they should only be related to things the adjuster missed and not his or his crews incompetence. If upon rip out he finds hidden water damage that would be an example. An example was a flood job I did not too long ago where we found termite damage that could not be seen untill after demo. Since it was not related to the flood it was not covered. Unless this is his first insurance job he should know the procedures and not be expecting money before it is due, stick to your guns and make sure he is doing the right job. If not include your insurance company and possibly even your mortgage company in any problems. A lein is not that big a deal though in the long run as long as you pay off the agreed amount as per contract. Just make sure if you stay with this guy he has a lien release with him when you give him the finnal check!

 

Don

Water Damage Restoration reviews in Derby

A

Rating
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
was awesome!
He evaluated the area, explained to me and contacted my insurance to make sure they also understood what work needed to be done.
Work started on 3/16/15 and was completed 3/18/15.
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
stopped by to check on progress, as well as, answer any questions I may have. Very personable. Got the job done quickly, too! Highly recommend!
(Note: Services are paid directly by my insurance; therefore, I do not know the cost of service.)
- Rita F.
A

Rating
What a great experience. I had to accomplish this long distance as i am a seasonal owner in Florida .I scheduled a consultation appointment through
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
(who is really efficient and terrific). Amit showed up at the designated time and completed a thorough inspection. We discussed various wooden flooring options and I was advised that he would contact me with a proposal. In just a few days I had a proposal with email links to product choices.
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
mailed samples to me, and when I couldn't find exactly what I wanted, she sent more samples. I found the exact wooden flooring I wanted. I emailed a photo of a type of tile flooring I was interested in and asked that they select a floor for me. Well, they chose an absolutely perfect tile and grout color combination and tile size. All the workmanship was fantastic and everyone was so professional. A lock box was placed on my front door so they could have access whenever they needed. I received emails with photos of the work in progress. I had no worries about not being on site during the work. Everything was cleaned up so beautifully, really above and beyond. I could not have been happier with the service or results.
- Leslie K.
A

Rating
Platinum was great! They responded right away, almost before I could get off the phone with the insurance company, they were on-site.
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
was first on scene. He explained what was going to happen, how it would happen and how long he anticipated it taking.
Even before the crew was there, he started helping me move and dry personal belongings. When
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
and others arrived, they did exactly as
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
had explained. They removed all damaged building material that was impacted and would need replaced. They pulled loose some floor coverings in hopes of saving them, others were clearly beyond saving. Cut back the drywall were needed to get air moving in hopes of not needed to do additional demo. They set up lots air movers and about 6 large dehumidifiers. It took a few days to get all the moisture levels were they wanted them, but someone was out each day to take readings and move equipment around so it was the most effective. My Adjuster was out and also comment on how well the drying was going and how she felt Platinum was doing compared to other jobs she had witnessed by other companies.
I was very impressed with their operations and professionalism. I hope I never need their help again, but if I do, I won’t hesitate to call them!
- steve K.
A

Rating
The process went very well. The crawlspace was very dirty, wet and extremely cramped space prior to the job. They came when they were scheduled and the job took them about 5 hours. It was fairly labor intensive given the space they had to work with and the temperature that day was about 20 ?degrees. I could've done the work myself but it would've taken a couple of weekends and in all likelihood not looked as nice. The space is now encapusulated and I can now go in the crawlspace with work clothes on and not really get dirty. They did a good job and I would have it done again.
I had an estimate from another well known company who specializes in encapsulation of crawl space and they estimated approximately $12K to do the same job. Additionally, they were also going to require that I have a HVAC tech to remove all of the duct work (at my expense of course) prior to their team coming to do the job and then it would have to be re-installed.
Another local contractor looked at the job and decided it would be too much work and he didn't want to even touch the job.
- Joe B.
B

Rating
You cannot clean smoke odors from flat latex walls. We had two different companies trying to do this, until finally Allstate said we had to paint. So, a lot of time was wasted.
My
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
contact indicated that the first company had not cleaned our ceiling lights. When we finally got the scope of work report from the first company (AFTER they had read
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
's comments), they claimed they had cleaned them. I don't know whom to believe.
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
did clean the plant leaves for us, and probably cleaned the semi-gloss surfaces better than the first company. They arrived late in the morning, took a lunch break, and left mid-afternoon.
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
's airscrubbers leave a nice fresh scent, due to a perfume agent. Within 24 hours of them leaving, the smoke odor returned. The problem is not so much
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
, but the time-wasting use of chemical sponges on flat latex walls. Allstate eventually said that this does not work. I just don't understand why it's such an important part of the smoke damage business.
- Henry S.
C

Rating
While the onsite work was performed well the one nagging issue is that my husband and I always felt like they were pushing us to use their sister company to come in and repair the moldings, replace drywall etc.
The backoffice is another story – my insurance company called me to see if I was sent any paperwork (I was told I would receive my contact within a week) as they had not received anything from
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
.
Once the paperwork was received I guess my insurance company considered it excessive and went into mediation with
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
, during mediation,
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
charged my credit card. Which I gave to them when I signed my contact and I can understand they want their full payment. However they NEVER contacted me to say “we
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’t agree with the insurance company and this is what we are going to do.” I did not receive an email notification (they have my email address), no snail mail notifying me of the charge to my CC, nor did I get any calls to my cell phone (they had that number too.)
I had to get a call from the insurance company to see if they charged my credit card and sure enough they did.
e i

- sarah M.
B

Rating
Restoration came right away and removed all the smoke-damaged clothing and linens for ozone treatment. It was a work day, and I had only set aside one hour. ServPro gave
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
the wrong address and zip code, and
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
didn't bother confirming it, so they were 30 minutes late. As a result, we were unable to hold back the things we needed to keep or separate the rush from non-rush intelligently.
I desperately needed some items erroneously in the non-rush group, and had a difficult time getting the right person on the line. As a result, it took 2-3 extra days before I could get them. I was finally in touch with the scheduling person -- whose name I should have been given on Day One. I had left a few voicemails and emails with my contact person, with no reply.
Final delivery was OK, because I knew the scheduling person and she was very responsive.
I read online that ozone-treated clothes are crispy. A few sweaters did feel a bit dry, but once I put them on, everything was normal.
- Henry S.
D

Rating
Bait and Switch tactic!
This is a review of the mishaps which have occurred when dealing with this company, so please forgive the lengthy description. My usual philosophy is that if I cannot say good things then I will not make any comments at all, and if I am impressed with good work then I will give credit where credit is due. However my experience with this company has forced me to write this review, so that folks are forewarned as to what to expect. I only wish I had done some research before I went into this project with
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
.(for example read previous reviews on Angie's List )

To give you a recap on the moral of the story, if you are looking for a good clean up crew after water damage, with minimal
restoration, then this would be a good company to go with. If, however, you are looking to renovate and upgrade, and you want to save yourself stress/anxiety/mental anguish, then look elsewhere!! (a good friend of mine went thru the same thing as I did recently, and she highly recommends ServePro) .
Firstly, in the interest of full disclosure, I will say that
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
is still working with me to resolve some outstanding issues, so am
happy that they have not totally abandoned me. (but then again, I still owe them an outstanding balance, so perhaps this is their incentive to continue working with me?)
It started with a flood in the house, where the downstairs guest bath room had water backing up from the sewer line, due to what
eventually turned out to be tree roots where the residential line meets the city line. The plumbing firm I used to clear the backup recommended
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
, as a good water damage andrestoration firm. In speaking with the initial
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
representative, I was impressed so I hired them to do clean up /drying. The crew and supervisor which came out was extremely professional , efficient and gave me detailed step by step description of what they were doing along the way, which made me comfortable in knowing that I was in good hands. These guys were actually real
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
employees, judging by the uniforms and this is the “bait” part of my description. As a result of the excellent work the initial crew did, I decided to go with
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
for the restoration piece.I also took the opportunity to add upgrades, for which I had been saving up for years, still believing I was in good hands. (boy was I wrong!). I even arranged to move out of the house and stay with a friend, so that my furniture could be moved into my garage if necessary.

I met with my project manager,
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
, and other guys who I later found out were contractors and not actual Dry
force employees. And this is the switch part!
Let me state that at no stage was I given information about, or the opportunity to move my furniture into a “pod”, a fact that was later mentioned / brought to my attention by
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’s supervisor
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
. And in my friends case, Serve Pro actually moved her furniture at a very reasonable cost into a large storage warehouse (sectioned off by tape), where it was boxed and neatly labeled, and then later restored to her house undamaged!

What started out as a 3-4 week project with this company is now into week 9, and still going!. It began with what I call the painting fiasco. I paid for
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
to paint the entire house. And granted, I should have paid more attention when their contractor asked if I had any paint sitting in my garage (this 20 year old paint). I did say that I wanted to stick to a cream color scheme, and was expecting the project team to show me a sample painted area before painting the rest of the house. In the interim there were tile guys demoing the existing tile, and my furniture was placed in the middle of each room, so you could not clearly see what was going on. I went in over the weekend, to find that the color was not what I expected, and that the team had finished painting the whole house. When I spoke to the project manager, he said it is not
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’s normal practice to show samples of painted areas, a fact which was repeated by his supervisor
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
later on. So in order to change the color to my satisfaction, I had to pay
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
again to repaint (over $4000.00 for 1850 sq ft home) which I have been advised by the supervisor is non negotiable

Next came the granite kitchen counter top , which had a very prominent “beauty
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
” facing my family room (seems as if the cheapest piece was used here). I expressed my concern to
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
, and to
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’s credit, they had their contractors change the counter top.
Then came the tiling and back splash issues, where the flooring contractor (S & H Flooring in the Colony) sent their “F” team to
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
the tile and install the backsplace (forget the E,D,C or B let alone the A team!). This team not only layed down chipped and cracked tiles as well as installed the backplash very poorly resulting in raised tiles, but they accidently left my fridge/freezer off resulting in spoilt produce and ineffective insulin/ diabetic medication. (the flooring company has compensated me for the spoilt goods ). Again to
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’s credit, they worked with the flooring company to redo all tiled areas and backsplash, but by this stage I was
rapidly losing my patience!!! The fact is, that I hired a general contractor so that they could keep an eye on progress, not neglect thier duty towards me as a valued customer?
And to top all this off, the flooring crew (both tile and carpet) treated my property with complete disregard! I have 2 dining sets
(formal and kitchen) which have deep scratches and chairs which were pristine with lovely cream colored seats, and suffice it to say they are no longer fully cream (i.e. dusty and stained).

Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
charged me for “remove/rest” in each area of the house, however they evidently forgot to tell their contractors about this. In
essence I have very disgruntled contractors (because they did not want to or were not paid to move property) treating my property with complete and utter disregard, resulting in damaged furniture which
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
is refusing to replace! (I am told by the supervisor that they are going to try and repair the damage). The carpet guys who came to install my carpet sat in their truck for
an hour before coming in to remove items (this after I had to call the project manager, whose exact words were “well I
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’t know what to tell you, the guys are supposed to move everything out and rest after carpeting is done”)

I had brand new
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
toilets installed, one of which is damaged where the porcelain has been ground out at the bottom, yet I
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’t believe
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
will be replacing that either. I also had brand new kitchen sink and faucet installed, which were scratched up
by the contractors using my sink for clean up. When I pointed this out to
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
(
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’s supervisor), his exact comment to me was “so what do you want me to do about it?” (really??? So it’s okay that your contractors messed up my brand new sink/faucet before I even got to use it?).
This company seems to “ nickel and dime” the you for everything, and yet does the absolute minimum to replace/restore the damage which t their contractors caused!!!

Throughout this whole nightmare,
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
(the PM) kept apologizing and stating that he was very embarrassed at how the project was
turning out and at how my property was being handled. He also commented that because I am “such a sweet person” , and he was thankful that he did not have to deal with a more aggressive customer, and due to the inconvenience caused to me he would try to see about getting me some type of discount. Suffice it to say that discount has not materialized. (remember my comment about nickel and dime?) He even told me that
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
would never be dealing with S & H flooring again, which I am not sure I believe
since the deal seems to be too lucrative for both companies.
I knew going into this that the company would be charging an overhead, but I wanted the convince of dealing with a single general
contractor, so I was willing to pay the extra that is usually charged. (to give you an idea of the difference in pricing, Angie’s list recently had an offer to get 4 recessed lights installed, including dimmer switch plus labor for $399.00.
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
charged me $111.00 per recess light, $38.00 for dimmer switch and $370.00 labor). However what I was expecting in return was to be assigned a
PM/ General Contractor who would pay attention to detail, who would listen to all my concerns and who would take
action to ensure that none of my concerns came to fruition. Basically I was lucky if the PM was able to give an hour a day of his time towards my project, and his negligence resulted in issues
Of utmost concern to me is that I overheard the
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
contractors discussing amongst themselves and stating that
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
had not paid up for their previous work, nor had they received money for my project. Therefore they were planning to take action by putting a
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
on my house!!! Although I have asked to see signed
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
waiverst, to date I have not received anything in writing. Again, this shows
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
's complete disregard for their customers piece of mind.

Finally I have also repeatedly asked to speak to the GM of
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
, (both
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
and the office staff have not come back with details of e-mail), so that I could tell him exactly what I thought of how my project was handled.. I was told that the GM (
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
Sands) is aware of the situation, but still no word from him yet. You would think that when a customer drops $35-40K into their laps, and given the many issues / mishaps occurring during the project which caused no end of stress / anxiety and major inconvenience ( as mentioned before the project is now in week 9 and goodness knows when this nightmare will end!!!!), that someone from
Derby Water And Smoke Damage Specialists Provider Name Locked
’s upper management would reach out…but evidently once the money is paid, that is the end of the customer service they provide.

- Jaymini P.

All Water And Smoke Damage Specialists in Derby, KS

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order. To view top rated service providers along with reviews and ratings, Join Angie's List Now!

American Metropolitan Environmental Inc

2713 W Esthner Ave
Wichita

Baron Carpet Cleaning

1710 Cron St
Augusta

Cahaba Scapes

2130 11th avenue north

Cannefax Remodeling and Exteriors INC

1624 N Parkridge ct
Wichita

Catastrophe Restoration Specialists

555 Homestead Ct
Colwich

Chem Dry of Wichita

4057 N Woodlawn Ct
Wichita

Claude Jenkins & Sons

516 N Sumner St
Belle Plaine

Click Construction L.L.C.

5118 E 49th St N
Bel Aire

Don D Rutherford & Sons Inc

807 W 2nd St N
Wichita

Givens Restoration, Inc

250 N Pennsylvania Ave
Wichita

Green Wave, LLC.

217 N. Athenian Ave.
Wichita

Hoggatt Cleaning & Restoration

2449 N Plumthicket Ct
Wichita

HOME IMPROVEMENT PLUS

PO Box 75232
Wichita

Joe's Seat Cover & Car Wash

206 N Seneca St
Wichita

Klein Construction

919 E 53rd St N
Wichita

Lamunyon Cleaning & Restoration

329 W 5th Ave
Hutchinson

MORGAN'S PERSONAL TOUCH

586 S TURKEL
Haysville

NCRI

8447 E 35th St N
Wichita

Overseers

8 Casey Rd

PhelanPaintContracting

12685sw110th st

Rainbow International of Wichita

217 N Athenian ave
Wichita

Reddi Industries Inc

3901 N Broadway
Wichita

Rhoden Roofing, LLC

1719 N. Rock Rd.
Wichita

S & B Ventures

1403 N Vassar St
Wichita

ServiceMaster by Best

729 E Boston
Wichita

ServiceMaster by Clean In A Wink

4821 N Hydraulic St
Wichita

SNOW WHITE CARPET CLEANING CO

406 S. Laura
Wichita

Stanley Steemer International Inc

914 E Gilbert St
Wichita

Stover's Restoration

112 E Albert St
Maize

The Flood Fixers

4957 N. Highland St.
Wichita

Join Angie's List to get the best local reviews in Derby.

What Does My Membership Include?
  • Instant access to reviews for 700+ services
  • Exclusive service discounts - up to 70 percent off!
  • Top-notch support from our live call center
How does Angie's List work?
1. Say you need a Water & Smoke Damage
2. Angie's List has tons of detailed, local reviews.
3. Find a winner, and book them.
4. Angie's List is there to resolve any issues.
CBS
Good Morning America
Fox News
USA Today
The Wall Street Journal
MSN money