Mokena Window Treatment Services

in Mokena, IL

Sample Reviews

D

Rating
After having to call twice he returned my call from somewhere that he obviously couldn't hear me. After we made the appointment he called me back later to get my address, again. Should have been my first clue as to his lack of professionalism.
When he came to my house I showed him the rooms I wanted to purchase window treatments for, asked his advise/opinion and his response was "I don't know, its your house!". I asked again later for some ideas and he again brushed off my questions...rudely!!
I tried to explained that we were new to
and wondered if maybe some treatments worked and looked better here.
After we were done and he was giving me an estimate I asked a question (as he was writing) and he curtly said "let me finsh, i'm not done". Guess he can't do two things at once.
To be honest, after that I wrote him off. I don't know about his products, but I don't have to take that type of sarcasm, especially in my own home!!

- Lindi C.
A

Rating
This Was An Excellent Transaction. HE Was Exceptionally Professional And Extremely Competitive With His Prices. In Fact, He Beat The Prices From Other Estimates I Received. For A Great Experience I Suggest You Give Him A Call. Like I Said, I Am Having Him Come Back To Install Coverings For My Sliders. ThIs Is high Quality Material. I Absolutely Love The Blinds.
- kelly M.

Mokena Window Treatment Articles

Window Treatment reviews in Mokena

F

Rating
I was referred to Window Blinds Distributors by my contractor. We went to visit their showroom and picked out our preferences and scheduled an appointment for them to measure and estimate the cost of placing solar shades in our unit. Everything went smoothly until the they came to install the shades. They seemed completely out of their comfort zone. They could not measure the fascia accurately. The shades were misaligned and they kept dropping the metal casing onto our new wooden floor causing scratches. Also, the wrong shades were placed in the wrong rooms and some of the shades were torn. In addition, they produced an excessive amount of dust when placing the shades. When we informed them of these deficits, we were told that they would be taken care of in the second visit. We decided to give them the opportunity to correct their mistakes. Needless to say, the first visit was far from professional. Some of the defects that I documented from their second visit include the living room fascia and shades secured on an angle, the guest bedroom shades incorrect pull position, limited upward movement of the second shade, a jammed up pull cord on shade #3, and an off center shade. Also, the shades in the master bedroom were hung at uneven lengths and there was a loud motor sound when they were lowered. The fascia and shades were secured on an angle and the fascia didn't reach the wall so the wires were exposed. They also left multiple holes in the ceiling where the shades were placed originally on first visit. When I contacted them to complain about the finished product, they charged my card before addressing my complaints. On their third visit, I was very blunt about their poor quality of work.
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
got defensive and started arguing with me and admitted that they should have ordered a different size shades for the rooms. He insisted that he would place another order. When we politely asked them to reverse the charges on the credit card until we were satisfied with their work they refused because they did not want to incur the service fee to reverse the charges. Fortunately, we had recourse with our credit card company who refunded our charges, sent WBD a letter, and allowed WBD a 45 day window to provide a rebuttal. WBD did not respond in the 45 day period. During that 45 day period we were in a state of
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
and were unable to proceed with our further renovations. We were forced to live in our new place with unpacked boxes scattering the living room. Finally, when the 45 day window expired, we were then able to proceed with finding a new window treatment contractor (Kolor Shades and Window Treatment). The new contractors not only installed beautiful shades, they were also able to correct some of the damage left by WBD. We were extremely satisfied withe their work. Their work is featured on Houzz.

Realizing that they had no way to recoup their money, WBD went on the offensive. In early December 2012, we received a email from
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
stating that they wanted to pick up the items and would be placing a
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
on my property if we did not comply. We stated that we were in the process of having another contractor remove the items and once their work was completed we would be happy to have the items returned to WBD. Once our new window treatment contractor completed their work (which took them half a day and without the dust and scratches to our floor), we contacted WBD for a second time to pick up their materials. WBD responded and I made it conditional that someone would have to sign off stating that their materials were not damaged upon retrieving the items. We traded emails throughout January 2013 and finally there was no response from WBD. I then stated that we would be disposing of their items. Soon after, WBD responded by having their lawyer draft a letter stating that I was liable for the costs their work. Based on their behavior, it seemed like they wanted their materials but were going to say that we had damaged them. We contacted their lawyer on numerous occasions without any response. In
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
2013 I received a
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
to appear in small claims court to settle the suit brought by WBD. After appearing before the judge, we agreed to resolve the dispute in mediation. However, WBD was insistent that we pay the total cost. We refused and a court date was set. Luckily, being an Angie's List member provided us with some recourse. I contacted my contractor and asked him to resolve this matter since he was the one that had referred me to WBD. I informed him that if he could not help with the resolution of the matter, I would post a poor review on Angie's List. He immediately contacted WBD and worked out a solution where he payed WBD $1500 and soon after the suit was dismissed. We then returned the materials to WBD.
Apparently, WBD has been in the business for 25 years. However, they clearly were not capable of performing quality work in a modern condominium. Not only were they ill equipped to do work in our unit, but they ruined our new bamboo floors and insisted that we pay for their poor craftsmanship. When that was out of the question, they requested the materials back and threatened to place a
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
on my property. When we offered to return their materials allowing them to inspect it and sign off that they received it in good condition, they threatened to
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
us. When we tried to contact their lawyer to come to a settlement, we received no response. Even when we went to court and agreed to mediation, WBD insisted we pay the full amount. Thankfully we had Angie's List as a recourse and leverage to avoid litigation and reach a resolution!! It was not surprising to have contractors provide poor quality craftsmanship, that's why Angie's List exists, it was the audacity of these contractors to expect payment for poor craftsmanship after damaging my property and then elevating it to litigation that was truly surprising and upsetting.
- Anil A.
A

Rating
I am very pleased with the product and service I received from Window Décor. I stopped by their store and explained the work I needed done and left with sample material books. I spoke with
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
at this time. When I decided on some material I liked she came and measured and gave me a price. She was very helpful in helping me narrow down which material to use and what exactly I wanted done . My new valences have just been installed and I am very pleased with them. The fabricator who installed them did a very good job .
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
was professional and pleasant to have in my home. I also had Hunter
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
blinds in my house from the previous owner. about six of them had broken strings and I talked to
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
about how I could get them repaired. Even though Windows Décor was not the original seller,
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
told me they would help---They took care of getting my blinds sent to Hunter
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
and fixed.
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
took them down and reinstalled them for me. I really appreciated their going the extra mile at no expense to me.
- gale L.
A

Rating
Blinds and shades look great. Service was fast, efficient. I would use them again. I guess blinds and shades fall in the DIY category but I'm not good at measuring and hanging anything and I like someone's opinion on the different materials offered. Two weeks later he came back to hang two window shades and wood blinds and was finished in about 15 minutes - great!
- JANENE H.
A

Rating
We are truly loving the new window treatments! There was no pressure or hurry to make choices
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
Barb provided just
the encouragement I needed to be confident our choices would turn out great, and they did. Sometimes it's hard to envision but with her support, it was an easy process and I'd recommend her to anyone. It's so much better than just going to a department store where you have to rely on your own measurements and they'll sell you anything, no matter how outdated. For instance, I wouldn't have known the trends Barb educated us on, particularly encouraging us to select wider pleated shades for throughout the lower level, and I love them the most! It's so nice having a consistent look throughout those rooms. The blackout shades in our master bedroom truly do black out light and we haven't had any issues with quality of the product or installation. She also reminded us to consider what the treatments would look like from the outside, another often-overlooked consideration. Barb and her installer were very friendly, professional and efficient throughout the process. I appreciated how willing they were to come to our home and accommodate our schedules since we work during the day. Overall, I can't say enough good things.
- Michael C.
A

Rating
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
, the owner, was great to work with. He met us at the home, took all the measurements and then showed us what was available. He came when he said he would, installed all the blinds in a very neat and orderly way and continued to check with us after to ensure we were happy. Pricing was super competitive and product is first class.
- Scott R.
A

Rating
We recently purchased a home with old blinds that had seen better days. We were not sure what we wanted but after visiting
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
's showroom and discussing our needs with her we were able to come to a better understanding of what would work for us.
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
then visited our home and made suggestions, including some that were less expensive that what we were initially looking for and gave us info on the energy efficiency of different types. She also measured and said they could move two of the older blinds in the bedroom (that were to be replaced) into the family room to replace two that were stained. We now have 5 new blinds in guest rooms and Master Bedroom, white plantation shutters in the Breakfast nook and they switched out the two damaged blinds free of charge! We had
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
measure out the other windows in the home and got estimates so we can proceed with them at a later date.
Mokena Window Treatment Experts Provider Name Locked
and her staff are very knowledgeable, pleasant and work with you to get quality products you can enjoy. They don't try to pressure you into buying pricier items or more items than you planned on, which we really appreciated.
- Kathleen C.
A

Rating
The service and quality was excellent. We used them to install 4 sets of plantation shutters and 4 sets of blinds. We found them at a local home show and contacted them quite a few weeks later. They were able to come out in an evening to provide an estimate and were very helpful and professional providing great decorating ideas. The shutters were ordered and came in just about the time promised and were installed shortly thereafter. Very pleased and would use them again.
- JENNIFER P.
A

Rating
Work started on day promised and was completed in a timely manner. An excellent job, professionally done. Paid half of money due in advance, and the rest when project was completed to my satisfaction.
- Deborah K.
110% Guaranteed Money Back

We think we're the best, and we can prove it.

Try an annual plan and if you want to cancel in your first year, we'll refund you 110%

Annual Plans Only

All Window Treatment Experts in Mokena, IL

Companies below are listed in alphabetical order. To view top rated service providers along with reviews and ratings, Join Angie's List Now!

A J'S DECORATIVE GLASS & DOOR

310 E 168TH ST
South Holland, IL

A SHADE ABOVE

Mokena, IL

A'la Mode Designs Inc.

Mount Prospect, IL

ABCD Steam

9305 Magnolia Avenue
Mokena, IL

Abe's Pro Painters & Remodeling

903 Wilcox St
Hammond, IN

Adas Drapery Service

29 W. 131 Calumet Ave
Warrenvile, IL

AFFORDABLE LUXURY PAINTING & REMODELING

2907 Bloomfield Dr.
Joliet, IL

AIP handyman & residential repair services

505 wellington drive
Dyer, IN

Alan's Draperies

501 Thorndale Dr
Buffalo Grove, IL

Amanda Miller Design Studio

201 S Scoville Ave
Oak Park, IL

Ambiance North Shore Window Fashions

1100 Central Ave
Wilmette, IL

American Virtual Associates

304 Whitelaw Avenue
East Alton, IL

Andy Yates Design

Chicago, IL

Angelica's Drapery and Blinds

26W217 Geneva Rd
Wheaton, IL

ANION BLINDS DIRECT

11320 W 73RD PL
Willowbrook, IL

Apex Window Works

352 Lively Blvd
Elk Grove Village, IL

Apple Annie Awning

1611 Jennifer Ln
Mchenry, IL

Audra's Draperies, LLC

Naperville, IL

Awesome Design Contracting

1230 Louis Ave
Elk Grove Village, IL
Mokena Zip Codes

Join Angie's List to get the best local reviews in Mokena.

What Does My Membership Include?
  • Instant access to reviews for 700+ services
  • Exclusive service discounts - up to 70 percent off!
  • Top-notch support from our live call center
How does Angie's List work?
1. Say you need a Window Treatment
2. Angie's List has tons of detailed, local reviews.
3. Find a winner, and book them.
4. Angie's List is there to resolve any issues.
CBS
Good Morning America
Fox News
USA Today
The Wall Street Journal
MSN money